Gap Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Inc. Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 986 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
386 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Data Management in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great balance between work and personal life

    Cons

    No visible issues but business has to step up

    Gap Inc.2019-03-08

    Gap Inc. Response

    March 18, 2019Company Representative

    At Gap Inc., we believe in the overall well-being of our employees, both in and out of the workplace. We're thrilled to see you note this in your feedback. Thanks for sharing.

  2. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc.

    Pros

    Kitchen, clean office, chill dress code

    Cons

    Even though my hiring director did not allow me to round up my pay by ONE QUARTER in negotiations, i was excited to start the job. Instantly I was disappointed. In orientation, the woman directing was extremely rude, chastising us for any missing work in the future even though we had not started. They are extremely anti-union, and had a half hour speech detailing how unions are bad. Big red flag. You will be paid below...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I know this will just get a canned response, but please treat your employees better. We are humans, we cant be replaced by robots. “Customer first” is great until you have to hire new people over and over again

    Gap Inc.2019-08-21
  3. "Designer in SF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Designer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, good business ethics, good product.

    Cons

    Very political, unclear direction, misalignment from leadership. Don't grow/promote from within.

    Advice to Management

    Grow and promote the talent that you have.

    Gap Inc.2019-08-21
  4. "No, Nope, just wait, I don't like that, we don't do that, BS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Security Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. for less than a year

    Pros

    The Building was nice, cafe was well priced for the quality of food, and the gym was a plus.

    Cons

    The entire time I was there, I was told NO for pretty much everything. Every time I tried to write a script to automate a task, I was told no. I had to perform malware analysis on a laptop with 4gb of ram running multiple VM's. No project management solutions were provided. Being in the Forensic department, you would think we would act like IT Security, but we were scared of the IR team, and the manager refused to collaborate...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It doesn't make sense to hire smart people and tell them what to do just sit there after driving 2 hours to work. Stop denying innovations and improvements and say its because we are "risk-averse" when you run cylance for endpoint protection, only have DLP installed on clients after data has already been exfiltrated, and have email rules that don't catch known phishing campaigns.

    Gap Inc.2019-08-20
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Was once a great place to work but things have changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Large organization with ability to transition to different groups

    Cons

    terrible benefits, below market compensation, dated technology infrastructure makes day to day tasks very time consuming and frustrating, deteriorating corporate culture that is not collaborative.

    Advice to Management

    Change the culture, invest in technology infrastructure

    Gap Inc.2019-08-17
  6. "Transformation Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Challenging and interesting, multi-vendor, distributed teams

    Cons

    management politics, too much demanding , less pay

    Gap Inc.2019-08-16
  7. "Great place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operation and Customer Experience Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of training, established business,

    Cons

    Lots of politics, favouritism, little opportunities to grow

    Gap Inc.2019-08-15
  8. "Horrible leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchant -Gap Brand 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great group of diverse, creative people. You’re always learning.

    Cons

    Leadship and company culture. Leadership doesn't seem to understand that a company can’t turn around until it fixes its culture. It doesn’t matter how amazing of an assortment you have. How employees feel about the company culture directly correlates with how the customer feels towards the brand -you don’t need to have an MBA to realize that.

    Advice to Management

    Trust the people you hire to do their jobs. Think more about what’s right for the customer. Focus on fixing the company culture -take note from companies like Zappos!

    Gap Inc.2019-08-14
  9. "Awesome and chill working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Gap Inc.

    Pros

    Decent pay as per industry standards Great working environment Great co workers

    Cons

    None as per my knowledge.

    Gap Inc.2019-08-14
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Adopting to new technology and great work culture.

    Cons

    No cons for this great organization.

    Gap Inc.2019-08-14
Found 986 reviews