Gap Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Inc. Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 909 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
356 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start your career. Learn many technologies across the stack

    Cons

    No such cons at Gap.

    Gap Inc.2019-05-01

    Gap Inc. Response

    May 7, 2019Company Representative

    At Gap Inc., we are devoted to the career growth and development of our employees. In fact, we're proud to say that many of our longest tenured team members got their start in fashion at one of our stores! We're happy to see this reflected in your experience.

  2. "Overall a great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of great opportunities to do great work. The industry moves quickly and it's interesting, so there's always something new happening, but at the same time management does give you time to do good work. Vibrant culture, great people, solid benefits, and an exciting industry = high job satisfaction.

    Cons

    As in any large company, the capacity for structure change to occur from somewhere so far up the food chain exists, and it creates a level of uncertainty that if you really like your department the way it is, maybe don't get too attached to that idea.

    Gap Inc.2019-04-26

    Gap Inc. Response

    May 7, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a thoughtful review. We are happy to hear about your positive remarks about working on our team. We love hearing feedback from our current and former employees.

  3. "Experience depends on who your boss is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Merchant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great and fun teammates, smart coworkers

    Cons

    I happened to have a bad manager that was loved by leadership but hated by everyone she managed. This happens a lot at Gap, but it doesn't happen on every team.

    Advice to Management

    Less politics and bureaucracy

    Gap Inc.2019-04-20

    Gap Inc. Response

    April 23, 2019Company Representative

    We are disappointed to hear of your experience with management at Gap Inc. We understand our leaders have a significant impact on the experience of our employees. We appreciate your feedback and will keep your comments in mind as we continue to drive positive change across the company.

  4. "Good company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good technology stack in all areas of application development

    Cons

    like a small fish in a big pond. Headwinds in overall retail segment impacting company growth.

    Gap Inc.2019-04-19

    Gap Inc. Response

    April 23, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience on our team. We're thrilled to see you would recommend Gap Inc. as an employer!

  5. "It’s gone downhill....RUN!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - In Tech in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and culture were great. I learned so much in my 4 years at Gap Inc.

    Cons

    Lots of office politics and bureaucratic BS. Upper management gets away with so much and HR does nothing but documents and files it away. I didn’t feel protected nor did I feel I had a voice. I felt HR was there only to protect the company and not the employees. I had nine managers during my tenure at Gap. It is difficult having to constantly adjust to a new manager’s style every few months. It’s demoralizing to employees...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to do a better job at vetting managers and hiring them into leadership roles. A bad managerial hire can make or break a team costing the company loads of $$$. Really listen to your employees and take necessary action. Stop dragging your feet until the very last minute to do something. The best way to keep good employees is to keep them happy and allow them to grow.

    Gap Inc.2019-05-24

    Gap Inc. Response

    July 2, 2019Company Representative

    We appreciate hearing your thoughtful feedback and are disappointed to hear about your experience. We understand the vital role our leaders play in the experience of our employees and we are sorry to hear of your experience with management at Gap Inc. We strongly believe that each ...

    Show More
  6. "great if you can find a good mentor and friendly team, tough if not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Merchant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    comprehensive benefits, diverse teams, can move brands and departments without leaving the great Inc umbrella

    Cons

    employee bonuses and rewards are the first things to be cut when they are looking to improve quarterly numbers; no greater office/brand culture- it is a very corporate environment; employees are nickle and dimed in the work cafeteria instead of provided subsidized options

    Advice to Management

    ask for feedback more often and listen to it; less indecisiveness; fewer approvals and check-ins and circle-backs and permissions

    Gap Inc.2019-05-01

    Gap Inc. Response

    May 7, 2019Company Representative

    We appreciate your thorough feedback and are sorry to hear of your experience. We read all of these reviews and share relevant feedback with teams who are working to drive positive change across the company. Thank you for leaving a review.

  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Gap Inc. part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fun environment, fast-paced, great discoun

    Cons

    A lot of expectations while working the floor

    Gap Inc.2019-04-19
  8. "OK place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can be a positive experience depending on department you work under.

    Cons

    Constant corporate restructuring makes for an unstable environment; very limited career development for most hq employees who aren't involved with the field.

    Gap Inc.2019-04-19

    Gap Inc. Response

    April 23, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for leaving a review. We are fully committed to the professional development of our employees. We will keep your feedback in mind as we continue to promote positive change across the company.

  9. "Great company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business and Training Specialist 

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, team building, and accountability

    Cons

    Turnover in management, no follow through in management

    Gap Inc.2019-04-04

    Gap Inc. Response

    April 11, 2019Company Representative

    We're sorry to hear about your experience with management. We have always believed that Gap Inc. should be a place where all of our employees should feel welcome and supported. We work hard to activate this mission across our organization, every day.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "A great company for work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great office location, empathetic leadership, excellent work/life balance, no emails on the weekend, and ability to transition between teams and roles across a large, diverse company.

    Cons

    Below average pay range for the location, political culture, leadership does not always have a clear vision to execute on, lots of organizational restructuring.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time understanding your employees and listening to their ideas.

    Gap Inc.2019-04-08

    Gap Inc. Response

    April 11, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will keep these points in mind as we continue our work to improve the experience for all employees across the company.

Found 909 reviews