Gap Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Inc. Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 907 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
353 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a Fun place to work

    Cons

    Location is Downtown with little parking

    Advice to Management

    Don't be cliqe-ish

    Gap Inc.2019-03-13
  2. "Its Okay here and there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cash Lead in Sunrise, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible good pay other employees are cool

    Cons

    No hours management disrespectful 2 days a week

    Gap Inc.2019-03-12

    Gap Inc. Response

    March 18, 2019Company Representative

    We appreciate your honest feedback. We are sorry to hear of your experience and take this feedback to heart. We will keep your comments in mind as we continue to improve the employee experience for all.

  3. "Staff analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Financial Analyst in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, co workers on my team were great to work with.

    Cons

    The payables leadership at the CSSC (non operational) is the worst leadership in the state.

    Advice to Management

    Learn what is important. Stop micro managing. Recognize talent and accomplishments

    Gap Inc.2019-03-10

    Gap Inc. Response

    April 4, 2019Company Representative

    We are disappointed to hear about your experience. We understand our leaders have a significant impact on the experience of our employees. We work hard to provide resources for our managers to ensure they are equipped to provide the best support to their teams. We will keep these ...

    Show More
  4. "PRODUCT MANAGER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Recommend

    Cons

    slow growth and only leaders get to talk during cft meetings.

    Gap Inc.2019-02-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "As a IT professional, you'll probably be happier elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer III in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The bar is very low for IT head counts. 99% are outsourced to a large staffing company with HQs in India. Most permanent IT positions for permanent employees are in embedded non-IT business units.

    Cons

    For permanent IT at 2 Folsom (HQs), salaries are NOT competitive with the rest of the SF Bay Area. HR and legal work with middle management on how to avoid litigation with employees older than 55 who have issues with management. Your annual paper reviews are no longer on paper (or even electronic), so they can claim that you're sub par in your performance and have been like that for months or years even though everyone...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's hopeless. Their "Open Door" policy of being able to complain about issues with your boss to their higher-ups is just PR BS. Upper management doesn't want to be bother by such trivial things that are beneath their pay grade. HR is wholly useless and there only to prevent potential litigation.

    Gap Inc.2019-03-28

    Gap Inc. Response

    April 12, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for leaving a thorough and thoughtful review. We share feedback like this with relevant teams as we continue to drive positive change across the company.

  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Gap Inc. part-time

      Pros

      Great company to work for

      Cons

      Hours aren't great and the pay could be higher

      Gap Inc.2019-02-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Gap inc review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Event Planner in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Friendly company with great benefits and clothing discounts.

      Cons

      Hard to move up in company and pay is low for the industry.

      Advice to Management

      To hold on to talent you must invest in your employees financially.

      Gap Inc.2019-03-02

      Gap Inc. Response

      March 18, 2019Company Representative

      Thank you for leaving a review. We are fully committed to the professional development of our employees. We will keep your feedback in mind as we continue to promote positive change across the company.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Married to career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - General Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      benefits, employee discount, opportunity for growth if truly committed to companu

      Cons

      work/life balance, expected to exceed expectations with very little resources

      Gap Inc.2019-02-14

      Gap Inc. Response

      February 21, 2019Company Representative

      We're fully committed to the career growth and development of our employees. We're happy to see your experience has reflected this! We appreciate your feedback and will keep these points in mind as we continue to drive positive change across the organization.

    • "Good experiences"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Flagship Receptionist in New York, NY

      I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Meeting new and diverse people everyday

      Cons

      Long hours and little to no pay

      Gap Inc.2019-02-13
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time

        Pros

        Good place to start career and learn.

        Cons

        Talent retention is not great.

        Advice to Management

        Focus on talent retention!

        Gap Inc.2019-02-24

        Gap Inc. Response

        March 18, 2019Company Representative

        We are happy to see you note Gap Inc. as a great place to start your career. We will keep these points in mind as we continue our work to improve the experience for all employees across the company.

      Found 907 reviews