Gap Inc. Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Inc. Senior Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
7 Ratings
  1. "Managing with Gap Inv"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Operations Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    With so many brands there are many opportunities for advancement and movement. Flexible hours, great mentors that value people

    Cons

    Having to work holidays and weekends.

    Gap Inc.2017-10-20
  2. "You can do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance and culture

    Cons

    Salary and leadership need lots of improvement

    Gap Inc.2019-06-10
  3. "Good company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good technology stack in all areas of application development

    Cons

    like a small fish in a big pond. Headwinds in overall retail segment impacting company growth.

    Gap Inc.2019-04-19

    Gap Inc. Response

    April 23, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience on our team. We're thrilled to see you would recommend Gap Inc. as an employer!

  4. "Great company but be prepared to work long extended hours at management level."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Development Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible 'results oriented work environment', constant change keeps employees on their toes, great place to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Too many (unnecessary) meetings, constant changes to org & processes, longs hours, not enough transparency at top management level.

    Gap Inc.2019-02-10

    Gap Inc. Response

    February 21, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We're happy to see you list Gap Inc. as a great place to learn and grow. We are fully committed to the career growth and development of our employees and are happy to see you note this in your feedback. We appreciate your comments and will keep ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "GAP the new Sears"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sourcing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s a job if you need one

    Cons

    Chaos reigns. Super siloed company full of seat warmers. There is nothing innovative about this company. Within hours you will be asking yourself how they remain in business. The sourcing team is littered with emailed spread sheets and systems that inhibit getting anything done. Astounding lack of understanding technology. No awareness of modern sourcing tools or methodology. The c students rule this hapless organization....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sell

    Gap Inc.2018-07-22
  6. "A good company with some issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    An inclusive corporate culture, with smart, dedicated people. Many opportunities to advance and learn new skills.

    Cons

    Both too much and not enough leadership change (depending on the brand and the timing) make it hard to turn around a giant struggling company. I've seen some headcount reductions that were incredibly under-researched and created a lot of chaos.

    Gap Inc.2018-04-02
  7. "Steer Clear of Corporate IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    clothes discount and a few good people haven't quit or been laid off yet

    Cons

    Constant Re-Org - the current one has been going on for 2+ years Lots of big company bad politics Incompetence is rewarded with promotion Terrible Leadership from the CTO level with that trickling down all over everyone no work life balance, quitting and layoffs have increased the work load on those remaining constant changes of direction for projects are demoralizing to staff Out sourcing to Gap Tech India for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You should be looking for new opportunities

    Gap Inc.2017-11-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "An Organization in Flux"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Headquarters located right off major public transit lines, salaries competitive with other apparel and retail companies, work is challenging

    Cons

    No work-life balance, bonus structure is not competitive

    Gap Inc.2017-06-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Do the right thing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Manager in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time

    Pros

    An amazing culture of innovation. Some brilliant technical talent. They won me over early with their slogan "Do the right thing".

    Cons

    Although agile vocabulary is used throughout the organization, for some at the upper management level it's just plain old waterfall in agile clothing.

    Advice to Management

    If you're not committed to the spirit of agile - don't say you are.

    Gap Inc.2017-05-18
  10. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work life balance is the best. Also discount policy is still better than other retailers. benefits are average. especially great as a first job right after collage..

    Cons

    management styles are so different between managers. what you are doing may work and get rewarded by one manager and may be completely unacceptable for the other one.

    Gap Inc.2017-01-15
Found 17 reviews