Gap Inc. Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Inc. Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong community service company ethics. Good work hours left to workers' discernment - sometimes 24/7, sometimes 7h-15h then i was encouraged to go to evening classes for advancement, or volunteering.

    Cons

    Corporate job can be monotomous. Frequent reorganisation, on the otherhand, also encouraged constant uncertainty and the lack of job security.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for managing with humanity

    Gap Inc.2017-06-25
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start your career. Learn many technologies across the stack

    Cons

    No such cons at Gap.

    Gap Inc.2019-05-01

    Gap Inc. Response

    May 7, 2019Company Representative

    At Gap Inc., we are devoted to the career growth and development of our employees. In fact, we're proud to say that many of our longest tenured team members got their start in fashion at one of our stores! We're happy to see this reflected in your experience.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "As a IT professional, you'll probably be happier elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer III in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The bar is very low for IT head counts. 99% are outsourced to a large staffing company with HQs in India. Most permanent IT positions for permanent employees are in embedded non-IT business units.

    Cons

    For permanent IT at 2 Folsom (HQs), salaries are NOT competitive with the rest of the SF Bay Area. HR and legal work with middle management on how to avoid litigation with employees older than 55 who have issues with management. Your annual paper reviews are no longer on paper (or even electronic), so they can claim that you're sub par in your performance and have been like that for months or years even though everyone...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's hopeless. Their "Open Door" policy of being able to complain about issues with your boss to their higher-ups is just PR BS. Upper management doesn't want to be bother by such trivial things that are beneath their pay grade. HR is wholly useless and there only to prevent potential litigation.

    Gap Inc.2019-03-28

    Gap Inc. Response

    April 12, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for leaving a thorough and thoughtful review. We share feedback like this with relevant teams as we continue to drive positive change across the company.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great company unless you work in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, good pay, exciting company culture, and transparent leadership.

    Cons

    Tech leaders are doing away with Work/Life balance (via DevOps) and offshoring 2000 jobs to India. Until this new crop of leaders this was my favorite job.

    Advice to Management

    Remove the GapTech leadership team and replace with folks who can lead with Gap values.

    Gap Inc.2018-08-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Lead Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to explore current edge technologies

    Cons

    Work life balance is not great with Devop Model

    Gap Inc.2017-12-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "No motivation to improve technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As an engineer, I've very much enjoyed my team. GAP does a great job of finding people from all kinds of background , all of whom have been easy going and a pleasure to work with. The work/life balance is great. Pair programming makes GAP a great place to work for entry level engineers and those looking to mentor.

    Cons

    GAP needs to do a better job of grooming its engineers in-house and encouraging developers to innovate. GAP isn't a tech company, so it's not surprising that there's a often a disconnect between business and engineering.

    Gap Inc.2017-09-11
  7. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work. Friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    Lack of senior level engineers. Upper management seem to be indifferent on most of the developers

    Gap Inc.2017-08-29
  8. "Work here if you are desperate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gap Inc. for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a job. Beats unemployment

    Cons

    Terrible physical environment. Only three linear feet of desk space. Programmers sit side by side, face to face.

    Advice to Management

    Don't treat employees like office supplies!

    Gap Inc.2017-03-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Engineering team members, Technical Senior staff very approachable/friendly and take in advice and constructive criticism well, some interesting projects

    Cons

    Salary slightly below industry standard, non-tech management has a hard time understanding problems, use too many slogans to run tech department

    Advice to Management

    Don't pursue a new management style just because its the latest "cool" thing.

    Gap Inc.2017-01-27
  10. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team! People were very willing to help out and work together. I really liked how it follwed agile development even though it was a clothing company with a fairly small engineering team in comparison

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic in making decisions. This is probably attributed in the sheer size of the company and the different countries it covers. Lunch has to paid for even for software engineers which doesn't seem to be case elsewhere

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend investing more into the tech space since more clothing companies are eating away that market. I feel like their engineers are only using it as a stop or seemingly get hired on accident

    Gap Inc.2016-12-08
Found 15 reviews