Gap Inc. "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Inc. Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 908 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
353 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance: many are expected to do overtime especially ahead of big store visits(in 45 reviews)

  • "constant restructuring of upper management(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    employee discount, flexible hours.

    Cons

    high turnover, low pay, favoritism.

    Gap Inc.2019-06-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Married to career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    benefits, employee discount, opportunity for growth if truly committed to companu

    Cons

    work/life balance, expected to exceed expectations with very little resources

    Gap Inc.2019-02-14

    Gap Inc. Response

    February 21, 2019Company Representative

    We're fully committed to the career growth and development of our employees. We're happy to see your experience has reflected this! We appreciate your feedback and will keep these points in mind as we continue to drive positive change across the organization.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

      I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The employee discount is at 50%.

      Cons

      Not getting paid enough to deal with general public

      Gap Inc.2018-11-15
    • "A zero sum game"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good Employee discounts. Senior Leadership has the right ideas.

      Cons

      Toxic political culture where one is set up to fail, for others to look good 'managing up' and folks who play favorites. One need's to know how to play the game to succeed here, not work hard. Initiatives from ground up hardly make it past thick middle management, who'll re-use your ideas and never give credit demoralizing collaborative spirits. In a world where software is eating into every aspect of business,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Trim the useless middle management who are very happy coasting along blaming tools, complicating things unnecessarily and making life miserable for the people who actually accomplish things.

      Gap Inc.2018-10-26
    • "Great company that I have worked at for 11 months part time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Little Rock, AR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      consistently gives breaks to employees, decent pay for the amount of work, good company policies, gapweb, the helpful site where employees can go to check benefits and recognize each other, employee discount, great no tolerance of discrimination policies, and outstanding managers (at least at the store where I work).

      Cons

      Training of new employees could use some attention. The managers are really busy with other tasks, and should direct other employees to train the new associates.

      Advice to Management

      A training checklist of tasks to learn would ensure that all areas are covered, and that the new employees aren't making mistakes that cost many labor hours to undo.

      Gap Inc.2018-09-13

      Gap Inc. Response

      October 2, 2018Company Representative

      Thanks for sharing your experience! We've read your comments regarding training. We believe in setting all of our employees up for success and we're committed to working on this. We recently relaunched our development planning program (GPS), and we're working hard to make sure managers ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (2)

      "Manager - Supply chain strategy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Employee discount, supply chain competency, analytics visibility

      Cons

      Buereaucratic organization. Non-transparent decision making

      Gap Inc.2018-09-04
    • "Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA

        I worked at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        employee discount 50% off clothes

        Cons

        hours and no room for growth

        Gap Inc.2018-08-22

        Gap Inc. Response

        October 2, 2018Company Representative

        Thank you for your review. Gap Inc. is fully committed to the growth and development of all of our employees. We recently re-launched our development planning program (GPS), and we're working hard to make sure managers are accountable for their direct reports’ growth and development.

      • "Better than Average for A Retail Associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Gap Inc.

        Pros

        - Great employee discount - Approachable managers who genuinely care about how you're doing - Reasonable hours

        Cons

        - You are required to try to sell everyone on opening credit cards, but that's pretty standard for retail - This location could use some updated floor displays, fitting room fixtures, etc.

        Advice to Management

        - No complaints for local management, but corporate needs to care enough about this location to send them some much-needed upgrades

        Gap Inc.2018-05-25
      • "Sales"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Gap Inc. part-time

        Pros

        Great co-workers and a good employee discount at stores.

        Cons

        Low paying and bad benefits.

        Gap Inc.2018-06-07

        Gap Inc. Response

        June 14, 2018Company Representative

        At Gap Inc., we understand that there are things beyond the office that are important to our employees, like financial wellness. We offer part-time and full-time employees an opportunity to save for retirement through our GapShare 401(k) Plan. Once an employee is eligible to participate, ...

        Show More
      • "Talent Acquisition"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Gap Inc. full-time

        Pros

        Great work life balance. Benefits were great, especially employee discount. A lot of opportunities for career advancement, given the large portfolio of brands.

        Cons

        Can be risk averse and, by extension, move slowly to exact change.

        Gap Inc.2018-05-08
      Found 908 reviews