Gap Inc. "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Inc. Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 908 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
353 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance: many are expected to do overtime especially ahead of big store visits(in 45 reviews)

  • "constant restructuring of upper management(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Department Manager 

      I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time

      Pros

      Great health care benefits, matched 401k, stock opportunites

      Cons

      must work holidays, not a good work life balance

      Gap Inc.2019-06-20
    • "Good work life balance but very difficult to move up in Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Reporting Analyst in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      great work / life balance...low pressure

      Cons

      promotions are very rare over all ....

      Gap Inc.2019-06-30
    • "You can do better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Work life balance and culture

      Cons

      Salary and leadership need lots of improvement

      Gap Inc.2019-06-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "A great company for work/life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great office location, empathetic leadership, excellent work/life balance, no emails on the weekend, and ability to transition between teams and roles across a large, diverse company.

      Cons

      Below average pay range for the location, political culture, leadership does not always have a clear vision to execute on, lots of organizational restructuring.

      Advice to Management

      Spend more time understanding your employees and listening to their ideas.

      Gap Inc.2019-04-08

      Gap Inc. Response

      April 11, 2019Company Representative

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will keep these points in mind as we continue our work to improve the experience for all employees across the company.

    • "Overall, too much burden on managers for not enough benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time

        Pros

        -benefits better than most if you're part-time (401k, some health care) -pay equity

        Cons

        -work life balance: many are expected to do overtime especially ahead of big store visits -no PTO for part-time workers even though half of management is technically part time and are expected to work nearly full time -constant restructuring of upper management -too much pressure and work expected out of only a few people leading a store

        Gap Inc.2019-04-10

        Gap Inc. Response

        April 23, 2019Company Representative

        We appreciate hearing your feedback about working on our team. We read all of these reviews and share feedback like this with relevant teams as we continue to improve the employee experience for all.

      • "Inconsistent processes, poor training and support"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Remote opportunities, scheduling, PTO, work-life balance.

        Cons

        Management, culture of negative feedback, daily technical issues, support is penalized for poor systems and processes. Poor processes and communication regarding customer accounts lead to angry customers. Remote team is expected to work 2 chats and 1 email concurrently to address customer issues at the same time with one system. Appeasements typically provided when the issues to customers could've been avoided such as...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Improve fulfillment system technology. Review policies to ensure uniform approach to providing support and remove contradictory verbiage. Enhance training to demonstrate work processes and policies in action. Change culture to include positive support, feedback, and recognition. Implement survey results verification process to ensure feedback recorded is accurate.

        Gap Inc.2019-04-19

        Gap Inc. Response

        April 23, 2019Company Representative

        Thank you for leaving a thorough and thoughtful review. We are disappointed to hear of your experience and take your comments to heart. We share feedback like this with relevant teams as we continue to drive positive change across the company.

      • Helpful (1)

        "Married to career"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - General Manager 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        benefits, employee discount, opportunity for growth if truly committed to companu

        Cons

        work/life balance, expected to exceed expectations with very little resources

        Gap Inc.2019-02-14

        Gap Inc. Response

        February 21, 2019Company Representative

        We're fully committed to the career growth and development of our employees. We're happy to see your experience has reflected this! We appreciate your feedback and will keep these points in mind as we continue to drive positive change across the organization.

      • "Good retail job, with great pay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Brand Representative in Milwaukee, WI
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        good pay flexible fun atomosphere work life balance

        Cons

        sometimes bad hours customers can be a pain

        Gap Inc.2019-02-06

        Gap Inc. Response

        February 7, 2019Company Representative

        We're so happy to see you'd recommend us as an employer! We appreciate hearing your feedback. Thank you for taking time to leave a review.

      • "Doing what I love for people who make the clothes I love"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Chef 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Work life balance, freedom, social

        Cons

        Commute, limited room for growth in my field

        Gap Inc.2019-01-17

        Gap Inc. Response

        January 28, 2019Company Representative

        Thanks for leaving a review. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to see you'd recommend us as an employer!

      • Helpful (3)

        "Lots of turnover at corporate, no direction, lots of backstabbing"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Work life balance Avocado toast in the Cafetaria Summer Friday’s Flexibility in most groups to work remote

        Cons

        Very high turnover with corporate. You will see a revolving door of C level individuals. Teams lack direction. Decisions are made very slowly. Resistant to change. Lots of layoffs - when the company decides to do another organizational change, if you are impacted, you’re done. I have seen young staff be let go as well as individuals that spent 20+ years with the company. Very sad to see people so dispensable. Have seen...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Look at instilling longevity with your c level team, and stick to any plans - when each new executive comes in with a new plan, before the old plan has been fully executed, all you are doing is creating spin.

        Gap Inc.2019-01-21

        Gap Inc. Response

        January 30, 2019Company Representative

        Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We read all reviews and are sorry to hear about your experience. We take this feedback to heart and will share it with relevant teams that are working to drive positive change across the company.

      Found 908 reviews