Gap Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Manager Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
134 Ratings
  1. "Nowhere better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time

    Pros

    Respect, pay, rewards, reputation, growth

    Cons

    Limited growth to next level, micro managing, over complicated focus and processes

    Gap2019-11-07
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Happy work environment for all.

    Cons

    Retail requires Long hours and holidays d

    Advice to Management

    Follow the company vision

    Gap2019-12-03
  3. "Smart company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great discount on clothes. Pays pretty well.

    Cons

    Work life balance can be hard.

    Advice to Management

    Be closed on Thanksgiving.

    Gap2019-11-14
  4. "Ok to work for gap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Depending on your gm good benefits and pay

    Cons

    Company closing stores now pick wisely

    Gap2019-11-15
  5. "Mostly positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits for full time employees. Loved working with associates and forming relationships with customers. I learned most aspects of the business over the two years that I worked there. I would have loved to transfer but there was no store close to wear my husband transferred.

    Cons

    My GM just called it in most of the time and didn't really share information from corporate. I was very confident in my abilities because I have had my own business for years but he actually made me a nervous wreck. It was learn it on your own but get all of your responsibilities taken care of and do it without getting overtime. He left and things got so much better.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that GM's are really supporting their staff.

    Gap2019-11-13
  6. "I miss it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive leaders, great teams dedicated to improving the business, collaborative environment and great work life balance!

    Cons

    The addition of a new senior leader changed the entire culture from a supportive to a toxic one. Many of the lower level leaders ended up leaving and left the marketing teams un supported. I will also say work life balance and the flexibility to wfh is very dependent on which team you are on.

    Gap2019-11-07
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Prestige of a big company, forward thinking culture for a big company and smart, engaged people

    Cons

    Constant change. Sometimes big changes every day.

    Gap2019-10-19
  8. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts and peers Newest styles and staple items

    Cons

    Micromanaged Holidays and weekends Sometimes super busy

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees

    Gap2019-10-11
  9. "Horrible place. Don’t do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Allen Park, MI
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was decent. That’s about it.

    Cons

    Barely trains. Staff was horrible. Non stop gossiping. Manager that was supposed to be training me was too annoyed to actually train. Her and others there would talk bad about everyone else. Turn over has been horrible. This is why they can’t keep an assistant. Store was messy, tried sweeping up since they haven’t trained me to do much else and she said to save that for that cashiers yet the cashiers didn’t sweep... either. I’d just run far from this place. Or at least this location.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring young kids, stop hiring friends, add some guys to break up the drama.

    Gap2019-11-07
  10. "Just ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Brand Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time

    Pros

    I love the clothes and brand.

    Cons

    Hard to hit unreachable goals.

    Advice to Management

    Stay positive!

    Gap2019-10-12
Found 513 reviews