Gap Sales Associate/Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
987 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "No better place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -flexible hours -super organized and driven managers -fantastic working environment -extremely good employee benefits

    Cons

    not enough hours all the time due to tight pay roll

    Gap2019-03-20

    Gap Response

    April 3, 2019Company Representative

    We're happy to hear about your positive experience on our team! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We understand scheduling can be a pain point for some of our store employees. We're constantly working to improve the way in which we staff our stores.

  2. "Great people! Super fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Boise, ID

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All the managers are so supportive and want to see you succeed, also flexible hours!

    Cons

    Sometimes have to deal with angry customers

    Advice to Management

    Keep being supportive!

    Gap2019-08-24
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Gap part-time

    Pros

    Amazing employee discount, wonderful managers.

    Cons

    Many stores across the country have recently closed.

    Gap2019-10-17
  4. "Good place to get merchandising experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Diverse leadership -Opportunity for growth -Separate teams and goals for brand/merchandising and sales

    Cons

    -Tons of pressure to get gap cards with no actual incentive -High turnover

    Gap2019-10-16
  5. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Honolulu, HI

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good management, benefits, and pay was ok

    Cons

    No cons just not a long term job

    Gap2019-10-14
  6. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts and peers Newest styles and staple items

    Cons

    Micromanaged Holidays and weekends Sometimes super busy

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees

    Gap2019-10-11
  7. "Great for developing social skills and job experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company offers a great employee discount of 50% off everything. It also helped me build communication skills, sales skills, and patience. I meet all kinds of people from all divisions, whether it was race, gender, class while working here, so I have learned to work with anybody. The employees create a friendly environment as well with some exceptions.

    Cons

    The amount of hours you are scheduled to work for depends on the amount of money the store is making, so your schedule is always subject to change. However, you are noticed weeks in advance. Also, be aware that you will be prompted to meet a goal of selling a certain amount of Gap credit cards or reward memberships, which will be difficult if you’re not a cashier.

    Gap2019-10-10
  8. "Great retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Gap part-time

    Pros

    Great hours and fun place to work

    Cons

    High Turnover rate with employees and management

    Gap2019-10-08
  9. "Fantastic Place, Except for the Gap Card"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great managers and coworkers, allowed to make decisions based on what's best for the customer, ability to shift around based on what you're good at, company is decently moral.

    Cons

    low pay, sometimes far too busy for the small amount of employees working at any given time, low pay. did I say low pay? Pushing Gap card and the rewards program.

    Advice to Management

    Management was great at the location I worked at, but for the higher ups- if you want to keep the amazing people that you hire, you need to pay a competitive amount. Expecting the educated, intelligent, versatile people who offer great customer service, to stay for ~10 dollars an hour is shameful. Overall not a bad place to work.

    Gap2019-10-07
  10. "Sales Associate/Shipment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Southlake, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees were great to work with. Management understood when you needed to take time off.

    Cons

    None, I loved it there.

    Advice to Management

    I had the best managers, they were fun and hard working.

    Gap2019-10-06
Found 5191 reviews
</>Embed