Gap Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Sales Associate Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
307 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "No better place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -flexible hours -super organized and driven managers -fantastic working environment -extremely good employee benefits

    Cons

    not enough hours all the time due to tight pay roll

    Gap2019-03-20

    Gap Response

    April 3, 2019Company Representative

    We're happy to hear about your positive experience on our team! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We understand scheduling can be a pain point for some of our store employees. We're constantly working to improve the way in which we staff our stores.

  2. "Great Experience at The Gap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My experience with Gap was great! The management team at my location was focused on the people. What can you do for your customers or coworkers? How can we all have a happy, successful day? etc. There was very open communication and an all around easy enviroment to grow as a saleswoman.

    Cons

    The hours were hard to keep up with at times, but management was very understanding when I could not make it work. I just felt bad letting them down.

    Gap2019-07-22

    Gap Response

    August 8, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for sharing thorough and thoughtful feedback about your employee experience. We a key part of our management framework is talent development, and making sure our employees receive the guidance needed to succeed. We're happy to see this reflected in your experience!

  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Gap part-time

    Pros

    Amazing employee discount, wonderful managers.

    Cons

    Many stores across the country have recently closed.

    Gap2019-10-17
  4. "Great retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Gap part-time

    Pros

    Great hours and fun place to work

    Cons

    High Turnover rate with employees and management

    Gap2019-10-08
  5. "Fantastic Place, Except for the Gap Card"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great managers and coworkers, allowed to make decisions based on what's best for the customer, ability to shift around based on what you're good at, company is decently moral.

    Cons

    low pay, sometimes far too busy for the small amount of employees working at any given time, low pay. did I say low pay? Pushing Gap card and the rewards program.

    Advice to Management

    Management was great at the location I worked at, but for the higher ups- if you want to keep the amazing people that you hire, you need to pay a competitive amount. Expecting the educated, intelligent, versatile people who offer great customer service, to stay for ~10 dollars an hour is shameful. Overall not a bad place to work.

    Gap2019-10-07
  6. "Sales Associate/Shipment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Southlake, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees were great to work with. Management understood when you needed to take time off.

    Cons

    None, I loved it there.

    Advice to Management

    I had the best managers, they were fun and hard working.

    Gap2019-10-06
  7. "Great company but not always the most cohesive management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    growth opportunity great work environment great discount

    Cons

    people onboarded can be easily hired on at a higher rate

    Gap2019-10-04
  8. "Like any retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Allen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    rewards, good community, reasonable pay, time & a half for holidays

    Cons

    long shifts, got sent home a lot at the end which is why I left from our store not getting customers

    Gap2019-10-05
  9. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in New York, NY

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Enjoyed the employee discount

    Cons

    Working on the holidays was always a nightmare

    Gap2019-10-17
  10. "Working at Gap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team I worked with was great. Flexible hours. Decent pay for retail. Great for little to no experience people who are willing to learn new things.

    Cons

    Little to no room for professional growth.

    Gap2019-10-02
Found 1684 reviews