Gap "credit cards" Reviews | Glassdoor

Gap Reviews

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
1,062 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Pays well in comparison to other retail companies. The company is not nearly as healthy as it once was."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good PTO and benefits. Also good work life balance. Employee Discounts are relatively nice. Team atmosphere. Good HR department and additional resources for employees.

    Cons

    Relatively low opportunities for growth as the company is not as strong as it was in the late 90's. Stores are closing. Unrealistic sales goals and credit card goals set for stores to achieve bonus. Fashion is out of touch with today's styles.

    Continue reading
    Gap2017-07-19
  2. "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 50% off clothing

    Cons

    - bad/ lack of communication from mangers - cut your days off - if you do get the desire credit card number they again cut off your days - they do not help you succeed and further on your career in the company

    Continue reading
    Gap2017-07-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good first retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Clearwater, FL

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment for retail, clean stores, easy cash register systems, great employee discount (50% off everything), overall a positive first retail experience

    Cons

    Management pushed all of the sales associates to open Gap credit cards, which was difficult because there was very little benefit to opening a card, except on the rare occasions when they had 40% off for customers who did. But mostly customers hardly saved anything doing it, so they were very difficult to open.

    Gap2017-05-31
  4. "It was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome Discount, flexible schedule, plenty of hours

    Cons

    So many no shows, at the time there was on call, pushing credit cards

    Gap2017-06-16
  5. "Good place to work if you have the right touch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales Associate in Roseville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing discount, training is well done, great managers, excellent co-workers, opportunities for internal growth, company culture is supportive

    Cons

    Hours can be cut depending on performance. Rewards for branded credit card are limited, but if you are performing well, you should be able to get. Better as a side hustle than a "job" if you aren't full time, retail hours,

    Gap2017-05-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It was so-so for a seasonal employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Tallahassee, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed being out on the floor and learning the ins-and-outs of the POS system and how to use the register. The employee discount is really great too!

    Cons

    I was hired in a seasonal position (Christmas time) and would still only be scheduled one 4-hour shift per week. Eventually, I wasn't scheduled at all for weeks at a time until spring break came around when they expected me to give up my entire spring break to work 1 shift (after not putting me on the schedule at all for weeks). You get more shifts depending on how many credit cards you sell, but if you're only there for 4 hours with hardly any interaction with customers, that is pretty hard to do! When I resigned, I explained to the GM that I thought I would have more hours (at least 10-15 per week).

    Continue reading
    Gap2017-05-24
  7. "don't throw away great potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Customer Experience Manager in Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The employee discount is wonderful! Best denim in the business (I'll always be biased). Gap really does give you the operational experience that you'll use your entire career in retail. I can't sing the phrases of their operational standards enough! I am detail oriented so the mandatory equalizing audits and fair scheduling practices were something I totally jived with.

    Cons

    The store manager in my particular location was very lazy within her role - and the store suffered for it. Although knowledgeable and tenured, the store productivity and sales dwindled due to her office based leadership. My experience in retail before this had been an "all hands on deck" team mentality - GAP changed that and made me realize that leaders can sometimes be impactful in super negative way. I was in an under-performing store sales wise that had been a remodel / condensation during their time of rapid closures. This location had been taken from being a stand alone kids / baby store to integrating the adult store into it. They did not change the fixtures or refresh the interior before making this change. Children's fixtures do not support adult merchandise. It felt like we were a throw away for the company. At the time of the integration, they did not allow payroll to support a real all store meeting to aid in blending and training of the two staffs that merged into the one. So essentially I had two confused staffs, product that was unplaceable, and frustrated customers who didn't understand our lack of merchandise and training. I was able to maintain our payroll and credit card standards during my year with gap and increase training and productivity - but there's only so much that you can do with the limited resources thrown forward by the company and your General Manager. I thought that during my time there I would be training the staff on advanced outfitting and styling, but instead I was...teaching them it's mandatory to say "hello" to people walking through the door...? Yikes.

    Continue reading
    Gap2017-05-23
  8. "Gap Outlet is a very nice starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Southaven, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, great discounts, meet new people There's nothing too hard to do in my opinion. I work with a few 16 year olds so it's nothing to it.

    Cons

    They rely on the employees to get a certain amount of Gap cards (credit cards) and based on how many you get (or don't get, for that matter) your hours are on the line.

    Continue reading
    Gap2017-04-25
  9. "Decent Retail Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Gap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My coworkers were great and the job itself was pretty relaxed for the most part. The company discount was steep and also applied to Banana Republic and Old Navy.

    Cons

    Too much emphasis on pushing the brand credit card. It almost felt like we had to harass customers into talking about it.

    Continue reading
    Gap2017-04-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed helping customers. I especially enjoyed helping customer's who wanted help picking out styles and fashion advice or opinions, and getting to see that the customer was sincerely appreciative or happy with my assistance was fantastic.

    Cons

    The fact that your hours, pay, and really employment rely almost entirely on your success with getting customers to apply for and sign up for Gap credit cards is extremely stressful, very difficult often times, and also feels bad morally. My manager's seemed to forget I existed or forget mostly anything about my working there and what training they needed to provide or what training they thought they had already provided. I was once asked to come work register, and I had to inform them that they have never once had my trained on register and I had been working there for about two months, and they seemed confused and then surprised and one of them said they totally thought I had been trained on register and had worked on register, and I was like you definitely have not. The ability to push the Gap credit card on customers and actually be successful relies almost entirely on working register. They claim that it is possible to sell one on the floor and then almost follow and stalk the customer throughout their shopping and to just tell whoever is on register when the customer comes up that they want a Gap card. This was a unrealistic and fantastical aggressive belief they had. They had other bizarre aggressive sales strategies that wanted us to do like if we helped a customer get a dressing room or helped them pick out certain items, then to go around the store pick out items we think they would like and while they were in their dressing room and without and request for this, we should sling over the items we picked out and say we thought they would like these items and wanted to help bring some options. I thought this was basically crazy. If I was a customer and an employee did this to me I would likely leave or avoid ever coming back. I also was assigned to work almost exclusively in Gap Body, and I found out my first day within minutes how the 5 minute walkthough "training" was not training and was irresponsible for them not to have actually trained me or even provided me with basic information about the department. I had to find out with almost my first customer that we didn't have stock on the floor of their size, so I said to please wait and I would see if we had any stock elsewhere in store not knowing gap body does not keep ANY back stock, and they informed me of this as I panic asked an employee at the computer station around the corner in the dressing room. I basically then asked them what I was supposed to do then, and had to continuously keep customer's waiting and frustrated the whole day as I had to keep asking the questions of my employee that I should have been trained on before working in the first place. I was a seasonal employee, which meant I worked the summer and holidays, the summer was when I was hired and so I worked the summer, and after summer ended I had my last day for the summer period, and would come back for seasonal holidays going forward and summers and winter breaks, etc. I found out they had "fired" me or no longer employed me a month or two later when I went to return a pair of jeans to another location, and they employee was unable to find me in their employee database. The employee at that location felt bad and was extremely nice and helpful, but it was really upsetting to find out that at all let alone that they basically didn't tell me at all. It was so unprofessional, I will never forget it. I really wanted to do good at the job and learn register as well as on the floor and be a successful employee but they didn't seem organized or interested in that, and it was really disappointing.

    Continue reading
    Gap2017-04-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 245 reviews
</>Embed