Garage Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Garage Assistant Manager Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
4%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Andrew Lufty
13 Ratings
  1. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Garage full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great discount Genuinely nice people Everyone from head office knows you by name Fun atmosphere A lot of room to move up

    Cons

    Daily goals Sales associates who are entitled and feel like they don't have to work

    Garage2017-01-18
  2. "not worth the pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

      I have been working at Garage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      competitive pay 50% employee discount tuition reimbursement program

      Cons

      work is much more than what you are paid strict upper management expected to do too much

      Garage2019-05-16
    • "All depends on your management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager 

      I worked at Garage full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      -Opportunities to move up -You’re very involved with things going on at corporate level -Good atmosphere to work in (music, friends)

      Cons

      -They do expect a lot out of you -Depending on the district sales supervisor you can feel unwanted

      Garage2019-04-03
    • "Management sucks"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Garage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      50% off on clothing Assistant manager position you can negotiate pay if you have management experience

      Cons

      Management was the worst. They blame the assistant and their key holder for everything and also threatened my paycheck. The expect you to make budget/plan but the goals were always unrealistic. They don’t pay their part time or key holders enough even tho they do the most work at the store.

      Advice to Management

      Stop treating your employees like trash.

      Garage2019-04-10
    • Helpful (2)

      "Assistant Store Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Garage full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Bonus pay to managers and sales associates when goal is reached for the month. 50% off Clothing Promotes within company Offers to pay $300 for education Health insurance for full time employees

      Cons

      Company expects you to run around and do everything with only 2 people working. They care about profit and wage cost more than exhausting their employees. Very little pay for managers who run around and do everything. Minimum wage went up $2 in my county sales associates got a raise and management didn’t. Resulting in management only making $2 more than them vs $5-7 more for all our hard work. The district manager,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Corporate needs to talk to their employees and get rid of the cruel district managers that are in charge. If a survey was taken every employee would agree on how they are being treated.

      Garage2018-08-30
    • "Worst Upper Management EVER."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Garage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The employee discount is awesome especially if you actually like the clothing! Now that the dress code has changed and you are able to wear any Garage product. I also felt that the training videos were informative. The pay is decent and the benefits are good.

      Cons

      Company doesn't really want you to grow in your role or use any of your management skills. You're very constrained in what you can do. The brand is less known in the states, so the stores make very little money and you're often bored. My DM was also the most abrasive, harsh, un-enjoyable human that I think I have ever met. My coworkers were mostly unmotivated and weren't given the proper tools to care about their jobs...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Try hard to recognize good behavior and good talent, stop being so extremely negative in feedback, and

      Garage2018-02-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Disorganized Chaotic and Disrespectful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Bloomington, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Garage for more than a year

      Pros

      Fun products and fun sales associates.

      Cons

      Management is disrespectful and the managers that I worked alongside were resentful of my presence. Their manager hired me without offering them my position. As a result there was a lot of animosity and people not showing up or on time for work. Also, many tasks were neglected and blame was spread around instead of taking ownership.

      Advice to Management

      Team build, coach and retrain from a corporate level. Monitor and follow-up/follow through. If no definitive results, clean house.

      Garage2017-08-19
    • "Dropped the ball"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Nyack, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Garage full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      They help pay for college classes. If your SM and DM like you, you'll be able to move up in ranks easily, if not, you will not have any growth within the company for years.

      Cons

      Upper Management is not very supportive on a store level.Takes weeks if not months to get back to you about issues in store. Company changes promos/visuals last minute causing frenzy. Expectations v.s. Reality are impossible. Will use you for other roles but don't want to pay you for the position you are actually doing.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to the team- they have great feedback on how to improve

      Garage2017-03-27
    • "Assistant Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

      I have been working at Garage

      Pros

      Discount Possible fun environment Awesome clothes

      Cons

      Higher up so not put in time for development. Have worked there for over a year and I have gotten know where. Current manager is terrible at her job and is running everyone out of the store which use to be a great environment.

      Advice to Management

      Development and recognition

      Garage2016-12-13
    • "Careless management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Kennesaw, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Garage

      Pros

      The pay was good for retail.

      Cons

      They don't care about you, only you selling and being so pushy that people literally wave you away.

      Advice to Management

      Learn to care about your hard working employees.

      Garage2016-12-19
    Found 36 reviews