Garage Keyholder Reviews | Glassdoor

Garage Keyholder Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Andrew Lufty
5 Ratings
  1. "Love this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Keyholder 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Garage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, good pay, even better discount

    Cons

    Since the company is still growing in the US, it can be a little disorganized. Districts are constantly changing and so your supervisors are changing with them.

    Garage2015-08-06
  2. "No support from manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Garage full-time

    Pros

    Clothing discount Uniform program Paid holidays

    Cons

    Not much of an incentive for retaining customer loyalty Standards set to the extreme Sales being stolen/taken Lack of supportive management Unrealistic store goals

    Garage2018-03-01
  3. "Keyholder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Keyholder in Manchester, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Garage

    Pros

    50% off discount, fun coworkers, easy shifts, decent pay, good benefits

    Cons

    Head office assigns too many extra tasks on store manager which then falls down onto everyone else, cheap clothes that tear easily, too much pressure on sales associates

    Advice to Management

    Too much extra assignments

    Garage2016-10-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Don't get into management here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Keyholder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Garage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount and the compensation if you ask for it and actually get it

    Cons

    everything. upper managers are full of themselves and super stuck up. I have had 7 visits from them since I started in august and have NEVER had them actually care about anything anyone has had to say other than the store manager. they don't even take the time to acknowledge us, instead they blow into our store, run into the back room, complain about how a pt didn't know who they were, or that we happened to be behind...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be encouraging to everyone on your team. It doesn't matter if they are part timers or managers. You never know what they do on a day to day bases for the store, and discouraging every thing we do is why you have internal theft and employee turnover.

    Garage2016-03-16
  5. "STAY FAR AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Garage part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The good discount on clothing

    Cons

    Drama infested Horrible micromanagement Most stressful minimum wage job you'll ever have Favoritism which allows certain employees to get away with a lot Managers assume black and Mexican customers will attempt to steal Having to watch customers to ensure nobody steals No efficient LP measures taken place

    Advice to Management

    Train employees Be more professional Try to solve issues instead of blaming them on employee that brings up issue Just learn how to manage

    Garage2015-09-30
  6. "KeyHolder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Garage full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Promote within, lots of opportunities to grow if retail is your goal, will learn basics of running a business

    Cons

    Way too many hours, hours not paid at time, management

    Garage2014-10-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Compnay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Keyholder in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Garage full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, opportunity to move up in the company. Great bonuses for different quarterly requirements. Fun working environment. Retail is retail but there is always something to do when you work at garage. I really enjoyed my time there that i spent working.

    Cons

    District managers lack integrity. They will do almost anything to make sure they get the employees they want.. I loved working for garage and there were a lot of great benefits but the management team is undesirable. When i just had to do my job and not everyone elses I loved what I did. The managers are very cut throat you must have thick skin to deal with the.

    Advice to Management

    If you decide to work at garage make sure you make upper management love you. If you want to keep your job you have to kiss ass. I saw multiple managers get fired because they werent favored over other managers.

    Garage2013-09-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Poor advancement opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Keyholder 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Garage full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Depending on management, this place can have great training and recognition for sales associates. Great discount at 50%.

    Cons

    A lot is expected of management staff with only yearly raises based on performance, and they seem to want to do anything to avoid giving you a raise.

    Advice to Management

    It's been a trend for this company to not prioritize inside opportunities for advancement. Several managers in my district have left because there's little investment in their growth, and I personally have had to wait over a year for my promotion to keyholdrr, when I was told I was ready for it, and now I've been waiting over a year for another promotion in the same situation.

    Garage2018-03-06
  9. "Part-Time Key Holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Garage part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    great work environment, fast-paced, close-knit team, development opportunities

    Cons

    management was not understanding, too many tasks to do at hand, impossible to get tasks done before timelines

    Garage2017-12-20
  10. "Best Job I've Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Keyholder in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Garage part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -More than minimum wage -Staff -The regular customers are amazing -50% discount -chances to move up in the company -lots of in-store contests -recognition for your achievements (red carpet/50$) -150$ gift card for referring someone -Management (in my district at least) are very friendly -really good coaching, you learn cool new ways to do the things you normally do but with little tweaks you do better -always...

    Show More

    Cons

    -morning shifts are unfair goals because its typically dead in the morning -some girls don't like when others get promoted especially when its someone who has worked there for a shorter time (but that shouldn't matter because its based on your ability to be a leader and retain information)

    Advice to Management

    you're doing good, maybe just take a day to chill with the employees and actually get to know them cause some ladies might have anxiety that you don't know about and it could help you coach them better.

    Garage2017-07-05
Found 13 reviews