Garage / Team Mazda Reviews | Glassdoor

Garage / Team Mazda Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Michael Buttlar
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great for Learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Garage / Team Mazda full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great on the job training. Fantastic support from leaders. Motivated Individuals. Fun Environment.

    Cons

    Low pay comparative to other agencies.

    Advice to Management

    Keep grooming individuals to succeed.

    Garage / Team Mazda2017-10-23
  2. Helpful (3)

    "A Disaster in Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Garage / Team Mazda full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    My team mates are my family! I love the people I work with and I'd do anything for them!

    Cons

    I guess the main problem I have is that I am a representative to the client and work with them everyday. I have a pretty good sense of what they need and want and I feel strongly that after 10 years of being in the biz, I am a reliable expert. So why have I never been consulted by leadership on the issues I face in my team or with my client? I haven't been asked how I would improve the team or department. I haven't even...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The two top leaders in the agency need to engage the people who are leading the work. They need to ask questions with curiosity not criticism. HR should put more pressure on leadership to engage and grow trust with the team leads. Also the margins at this agency seem unusually high, so I wonder why they are so cheap!

    Garage / Team Mazda2019-05-11
  3. "Finance Dept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Garage / Team Mazda full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and upper management is very capable

    Cons

    Slightly boring at times but only during slow season

    Garage / Team Mazda2018-10-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Intern in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Garage / Team Mazda for more than a year

    Pros

    LOVE the people. It's a really positive and motivating work environment. Cute dogs everywhere. Lots of free food.

    Cons

    Lack of productivity... I spent more time doing nothing that I would have liked. But also staying late. Seems inefficient.

    Advice to Management

    Manage employees time better?

    Garage / Team Mazda2018-09-07
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great for experience, depends on team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Garage / Team Mazda full-time

    Pros

    Good location, some good people, work life balance

    Cons

    Some late nights, culture is lacking, not everyone is nice/friendly

    Garage / Team Mazda2018-08-28
  6. Helpful (7)

    "A total poop-show"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Garage / Team Mazda full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    You get to meet people who equally hate the company as you do. Basically people become friends from talking about how much they hate working here.

    Cons

    Terrible management, terrible communication between client and agency, constantly on fire-drills and last-minute client requests... Just not really a place of employment to start or end at. Account management gets the best reputation, but media, analytics, and creative are all departments to steer clear of. Salary is also a joke.

    Advice to Management

    Stay consistent instead of changing direction every other week!

    Garage / Team Mazda2018-08-13
  7. Helpful (6)

    "D-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Garage / Team Mazda full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big brand recognition. Generous vacation, sick and personal time.

    Cons

    Everything is micromanaged. Processes don't make any sense and are inefficient. Creative is always confused because there is no communication across departments. Culture is horrible, but they try hard to make it fun with random office events. New people starting every week, probably because they can't hold on to anyone. Pay is on the lower end of similar jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging and use fewer programs to get the job done.

    Garage / Team Mazda2018-06-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Average at best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Garage / Team Mazda full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office. Free snacks and coffee. Good office location.

    Cons

    Upper management doesn't know how to properly communicate with team. Pay is below industry average.

    Garage / Team Mazda2018-03-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "good place to learn a lot of different skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Garage / Team Mazda full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is very hands on experience. You get to wear a lot of different hats and learn a lot of different skills. The people here are also great to work with, and coworkers often become really great friends in every department. There is also lots of opportunity for growth, and depending on your manager, they are usually there to help fight for you and to help you achieve your goals.

    Cons

    Upper management is passive aggressive and fails to communicate properly with the greater team. It is also frowned upon in some departments if you leave at 6pm (as in they want to see you stay later), but other departments leave anywhere from 3-5pm. Just depends which team you end up on.

    Advice to Management

    Show appreciation to the loyal and hard workers. Provide adequate constructive criticism to the workers that need it.

    Garage / Team Mazda2017-10-04
  10. "Media"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Garage / Team Mazda full-time

    Pros

    Great group of people New creative changes

    Cons

    Unorganized upper management with too many expectations and poor delivery

    Garage / Team Mazda2017-09-17
Found 40 reviews