Garden of Life Reviews | Glassdoor

Garden of Life Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Brian Ray
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Empowering Extraordinary Health!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Garden of Life full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I have never worked for such an amazing company. Each day we get to talk to customers about our products, which are the best in the health food industry. There are a lot of perks. We share ideas on calls and we are always coming out with many new products. It’s exciting each quarter when we launch products. Our supervisors are so supportive and value feedback.

    Cons

    I can’t think of any. I truly mean it.

    Garden of Life2019-04-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Garden of strife"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Garden of Life full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I was going to say Clean and Quite work environment but then I remembered that people bring their dogs to work.... I love dogs but not when I am working. It’s distracting.

    Cons

    Low pay, poor leadership, poor management, lack of financial oversight. The fat on this pig is enough to give you a heart attack.

    Advice to Management

    Get outside of your cheerleading outfits for a minute to discover what is really important to your employees. Free lunches don’t pay the bills.

    Garden of Life2019-01-24
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Smoke & Mirrors..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Garden of Life full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities are endless if you're related to the Director just pretend like you're not related as the others do.

    Cons

    Numerous amount of perks pale in comparison to the drawbacks. Company is like the husband that beats you & then takes you shopping afterwards. Mid level managers who micromanage & are not use to authority, accompanied with limited intelligence, complete absence of common sense & huge egos.

    Advice to Management

    Company strayed away from it’s old roots of taking care of their employees. The company is bigger than ever and making more money than ever and they pull back on the interest of their employees, but love to talk about your "square". Leadership team in customer service is horrible. They have no interest in doing whats best for the company or department & primary goal is to hire as many friends &family members as...

    Show More
    Garden of Life2018-12-19
  4. Helpful (5)

    "NSTAASE - Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Garden of Life full-time

    Pros

    "NSTAASE" was coined by our president in our most recent town hall meeting, meaning; "No such thing as a supplement emergency." I can honestly say that I've never seen work life balance prioritized as much as it is at GoL. Our leaders believe that we should be challenged personally and professionally, but save room for the fun stuff too. 2 hour lunches once a week for a mid-day OTF sweat session, catered healthy lunches...

    Show More

    Cons

    It's really cold in my office. That's about it.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the transparency- it really makes us feel a sense of comfort and stability to hear that we are still rockin' it despite some recent major changes.

    Garden of Life2018-05-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Work life balance prioritised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Palm Beach Gardens, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Garden of Life full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Grateful to work for the best supplement company out there! Employees are encouraged to stay balanced in life and provided with so much; catered delicious lunches, gym memberships, on site gym/showers, no increases in health insurance (for the 3+ years working here). Very positive and comfortable work environment which allows dogs and flip flops at the corporate offices. LEED certified, living walls, and open floor plan.

    Cons

    Cubicles can be challenging in any work environment, sometimes it can get distracting. Nothing else comes to mind as a bother.

    Advice to Management

    My supervisor is the best! Keep up the great work

    Garden of Life2018-02-08
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Customer service rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Garden of Life full-time

    Pros

    fun, extra money, bonuses, free food, free gym membership

    Cons

    the company has been bought by nestle

    Garden of Life2018-02-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "I wake up feeling lucky to go to work everyday. What does that say?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee in Palm Beach Gardens, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Garden of Life full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Company has a great mission as it’s foundation to run off of. The corporate office has a unique and positive energy that makes you feel welcome and happy to get up for work in the morning. Corners are never cut when it comes to fueling the employees experience. Free lunches, an on site gym, fitness challenges to win money, overall state of the art office, free product, AMAZING costs for healthcare, gym memberships, celebrations...

    Show More

    Cons

    None. I’m just filling up space at this point, to meet the 20 word minimum for this section. It’s an amazing place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. We appreciate you!

    Garden of Life2017-11-14
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Used to be great, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Garden of Life full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Free products and great insurance benefits

    Cons

    Used to be a fun place to work...then everything changed. New management. Micromanagement like crazy! You are told what to do, when to do it, and how to do it as if you are a child. The field staff (reps and product specialists) are burned out, stressed out, and leaving in droves. Management doesn't care, but they should. Product specialists have little to no room for advancement, and doing 2 demos every day is brutal.

    Advice to Management

    Take some leadership training and start caring about your employees. Don't pat yourself on the back when you make them cry...don't describe a group of employees as having the "worst job in the company" in front of the whole company. Get rid of the good ole boy network.

    Garden of Life2017-07-25
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Product specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Specialist in Palm Beach Gardens, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Garden of Life full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    1. Friendships forged through shared suffering 2. Monthly product allowance 3. Mileage allowance 4. I am really racking my brain here, is this 20 words yet? 5. Benefits

    Cons

    1. No work-life balance. So much stress. 2. Long drive times (unpaid time). 3. Needless micromanagement! Every little moment must be accounted for. 4. Upper management is good old boys club. 5. Many employees cannot see or are afraid to say that the emperor has no clothes. There is a strong implicit pressure to worship GOL. 6. Lack of diversity. Seems like women are clustered in lower paying positions. Some in...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a diversity training course. You are excluding people because you don't know better. GOL is not the center of the universe. It's a sales company that sells processed food.

    Garden of Life2017-08-10
  10. Helpful (5)

    "terrible company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Garden of Life full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    none none none none none

    Cons

    to many to write- Brian Ray is the CEO even Jordan Rubin left years ago

    Garden of Life2017-08-11
Found 23 reviews