Gartner Account Manager SMB Reviews | Glassdoor

Gartner Account Manager SMB Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
59%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Gartner CEO and Director Gene Hall
Gene Hall
44 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Company with lots of growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager SMB in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    IT industry is BOOMING and Gartner provides legitimate research that every business needs. As an industry leader, employees get to interact with influential players in the industry in Sales, Marketing, Operations, IT, and at the Executive Level. Training provided to help you succeed at your role. Lots of growth opportunity, and earning potential if you work hard enough.

    Cons

    Sales environment often felt like a frat house vs. a professional industry leading company.

    Continue reading
    Gartner2017-10-20
  2. Helpful (2)

    "World Class Sales Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager, SMB in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was a year out of college when I first started at Gartner in 2016 in their Fort Myers office, which at the time, was where all their SMB/Inside Sales reps were housed. While financially I was disappointed with my tenure, I wouldn't trade it for anything given how robust and in-depth the sales training is/was. The methodologies you'll learn you will be able to implement at just about any sales job and people are impressed with my sales acumen at my new job based on my training. If you are a recent college graduated looking to go into sales, I can't recommend Gartner enough. Other Pros: -Nice office (added another building since I left) -Growing quickly, so relatively lax management (depends on manager) -Learn a great deal about IT from research, analyst engagement etc. -Growing quickly so a ton of room for upward mobility People complaining about the "bro" or "frat" culture are complainers in my opinion. There were 1,000 people between the 2 offices. Yes there were preppy and shallow individuals, but you'll find that at any large inside sales office in my experience.

    Cons

    If you are an account manager your success will be heavily dependent on your book of business. You will be given 3-6 clients and if they are not looking to purchase more Gartner, it can be an extremely difficult sales environment as the Account Managers get shoddy territories (Business Developers get major markets). Additionally there is no real CRM in place, so you're going in blind to any territory essentially. Also selling a product that is designed for large enterprises has it's challenges but my understanding is they're looking to build out their mid-market products.

    Continue reading
    Gartner2019-01-24
  3. "A great sales role for young people out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager SMB in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, fantastic facilities, leadership opportunity is not gated by age, sales leads are provided, the company is great at celebrating wins, amazing events.

    Cons

    Many account managers are promoted because they are good in their role not because of leadership competencies. Managers get burned out and seem to have a high turn over rate. A lot of people are right out of college and move on to different companies, making turn over apparent.

    Continue reading
    Gartner2017-10-11
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Luck of the draw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager SMB in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is invested in your success. The people are what is amazing about this organization. There is also a wealth of opportunity if you are able to achieve your set goals.

    Cons

    The sheer growth and mentality that the SMB office has is creating a bubble (which will inevitably pop). Smaller prospecting territories, unchanged quotes to take into account shrinking opportunity and a complete crap shoot when it comes to the accounts you are given.

    Continue reading
    Gartner2017-08-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "SMB Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager SMB in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started working here right out of college. I had no intention on accepting a position with Gartner once they offered to fly me out to FL. I decided to interview with them anyways and fell in love with the company. I've never seen a company care about their talent as much as Gartner. They truly want you to be a part of their team and aren't afraid to show it. Once in the role, the training team and leadership are nothing but supportive. They encourage collaboration and there are plenty of great minds to pick from. On top of that, you ware recognized for your success. From Winner's Circle to quarterly region meetings, Gartner goes out of its way to recognize and reward your success. Amazing opportunity to work here and develop yourself as a professional.

    Cons

    The only cons I have are with the training. Gartner does a phenomenal job training its employees. However, with 60-75 new hires during the summer academies, it's hard to get one on one time with your trainers.

    Continue reading
    Gartner2017-07-29
  6. Helpful (25)

    "Smb Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager SMB in Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gartner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to get out on the right foot and have something on your resume for your next job.

    Cons

    A few things: 1. Downward trend of becoming hyper focused on metrics, which creates a micromanaged culture. You'll read a number of reviews about poor middle management, and I find that this is mostly true with a few good outliers. 2. Unfortunately, middle management is programmed to be completely metrics driven and almost don't blame them for their tactics, because it's being passed down from above. 3. To provide a bit of context.. my wedding day fell on a quarters close and my direct management was visibly upset for not thinking about such an important work date while planning out the single most important day of my entire life. It didn't stop there though, they prevented a member of the bridal party from attending, saying indirectly that it wouldn't be a good career move for them, so I'm left with an uneven bridal party. Hope this puts in perspective that you are nothing but a laborer, and not due basic human courtesies like major life events. A quarter close comes before a wedding.

    Continue reading
    Gartner2017-06-18
  7. Helpful (22)

    "Run away. Far away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager SMB in Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked as an SMB Account Manager, and the pay is compelling at first, especially in regards to benefits. The Fort Myers facility is world-class with a cafeteria and gym inside.

    Cons

    It's a Greek-life, university-style atmosphere where politics, nepotism, and good looks dominate the apparatus of the organization. It's rainbows and unicorns on the outside, but a complete train wreck on the inside. They "invest" in their talent by putting them through a grueling training process called "The Academy" that takes well over two months to complete. What they don't tell you when you're hired is that you're not guaranteed the job -- you MUST make it out of Academy to keep your job. So what that means is that even after going through a 5-step interview process and two months of Academy, you're still not necessarily a fit for their ideals. There were several people in my Academy that moved their entire families for this job, only to lose it two months in. Work-life balance is an issue once you hit the floor, and the territory arrangement only sets up a select few for success, which is critical because if you aren't hitting your numbers you can consider yourself a goner. It is cutthroat. Run. Away. Far. Away.

    Continue reading
    Gartner2017-07-06
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Great Training/Shrinking Territories"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager SMB in Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time

    Pros

    Great training Good resume builder Decent pay for being fresh out of college

    Cons

    Shrinking territories Shifting culture from startup feel to more corporate call center Turnover is relatively high

    Continue reading
    Gartner2017-05-31
  9. Helpful (21)

    "Account Manager SMB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager SMB in Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gartner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training/academy to bring you up to speed on the role. Pretty easy job for the most part, as you will rarely need to spend time late at work. Benefits are good in regards to 401k match, health insurance and PTO. Ongoing training in a variety of different areas within IT.

    Cons

    Far more cons to working at Gartner than Pros. 2.5 years ago, Gartner used to have a great culture (professional) and you could turn to almost anyone for advice. Within the past year or so, there is nothing but frat boys and very young people right out of college. I wouldn't turn to 95% of people here now for advice as they have no clue what they are doing. All territories are looked at as "one in the same", which is the furthest thing from the truth. 90% of your success here is dependent upon your territory. Pay is below average. Making $65K per year for hitting your quote is insane. Account Managers are getting promoted to management roles within a year or less sometimes, some of which are fresh out of college with no sales experience. If you want to go into a field sales role, you better be brown nosing hard and have a good territory. They require (2) years as an account manager and at least (1) Winners Circle. Plenty of people have accomplished this and were kept in the Account Manager role due to upper level management. I personally had a verbal offer for a field position role and upper level management did everything in her power to make sure I couldn't take the opportunity. She found great pride in bashing me to the field managers and VPs when she never even heard me on the phone with a client. Not sure what her incentive was by doing that. SMB is like a prison. They try to keep you here as long as possible, because once they lose you they have to replace you. They cannot keep up with the turnover rate, as it's >50% right now. They want you to be a puppet to put it simply. Do not come to work here for SMB. Do not drink the Gartner Koolaid when they tell you how prestigious it is to work here. If you enjoy being micromanaged, gambling on your territory and who you report to and making very little money then this place is for you.

    Continue reading
    Gartner2017-05-10
  10. Helpful (13)

    "SMB - A Rollercoaster Ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SMB Account Manager in Fort Myers, FL
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gartner full-time

    Pros

    Gartner is a great company with a bright future & good reputation. Training is intense & will teach you more than you would have possibly expected. Take the time to invest in yourself here and you will reap large benefits after a few months. C-Level conversations will jumpstart your business acumen & provide very useful experience in short amounts of time. Reading Gartner research will shape your view of technology & how it affects various businesses, which is also quite valuable.

    Cons

    When it boils down to it... the SMB channel at Gartner is an output-driven, entry-level inside sales job. Cold calling is common, territories are shrinking among channel growth, and you have to maintain a quota among this happening. Micromanagement is very common as a result of such. The main "con" in this role is that success is HIGHLY dependent upon 'uncontrollables' - the territory you are given, the manager you are assigned to, the vertical (or non-vertical, which is worse) you are given, the prospecting area you are given, etc. It's important to understand the above because the culture recognizes sales that happen from these 'uncontrollables' as incredible personal feats for manufactured motivation.

    Continue reading
    Gartner2017-04-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 58 reviews