GateHouse Media Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.1
18%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
GateHouse Media CEO Kirk Davis
Kirk Davis
227 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are many great people who want the best for the employees and the company(in 25 reviews)

  • "Serving the communities with good journalism(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management does not know how to effectively lead an organization(in 47 reviews)

  • "They no longer care that the community newspaper is the lifeblood of some small towns(in 46 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sr. Digital Sales Specialist"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Spartanburg, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GateHouse Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible training, awesome tools for targeting audience, huge number of digital solutions.

    Cons

    I have been very happy thus far.

    Continue reading
    GateHouse Media2019-10-29
  2. "cuts"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Newsroom 

    I worked at GateHouse Media full-time

    Pros

    pays its executives very well

    Cons

    cuts until nothing is left

    GateHouse Media2020-05-22
  3. "Not Awful, Not Great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Lead 

    I worked at GateHouse Media full-time

    Pros

    Relatively easy job role, lax work environment.

    Cons

    No opportunity to actually make sales. The job only includes posting line ads essentially. Print is a dying industry, and it's near impossible to sell the packages they offer.

    GateHouse Media2020-02-19
  4. "Workin' on it"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Corporate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GateHouse Media full-time

    Pros

    Despite the recent layoffs the company is working hard to build a strong culture that everyone can thrive in. Although layoffs are tough for everyone they are necessary at times to help the company survive and protect the larger employee base. There are many great people who want the best for the employees and the company. There is a lot of opportunity ahead for those who want it!

    Cons

    There are still some bumps ahead but believe management is doing all they can to keep these bumps to a minimum.

    Continue reading
    GateHouse Media2020-01-28
  5. "Oppurtunities To Lead"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Multi-Media Account Executive in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GateHouse Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was always happy to come to work and the training was hands on.

    Cons

    Many hands in the pot so sometimes information shared was sometimes not on same page until much latet

    Continue reading
    GateHouse Media2019-12-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copy Editor/Page Designer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GateHouse Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I met some friends. I learned that job satisfaction, work/life balance, time off and making more than minimum wage is absolutely crucial to mental health.

    Cons

    Overworked and under staffed. Forget vacation days - you have to take it in 5 day blocks. They only give Christmas and Thanksgiving off if you enter a lottery. Salary is the equivalent of minimum wage in Austin - you can literally make as much at some fast food restaurants - so the appeal of living in Austin is diminished significantly. People quit constantly. I applied for jobs for a long time and I waited until I found a good one before leaving Gatehouse. This was not because I liked it there, but because (1) they will never fire you, and (2) Gatehouse made me promise myself I would never, ever work a hellhole job again.

    Continue reading
    GateHouse Media2020-01-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible Place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multimedia Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GateHouse Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people are great to work with but most are not.

    Cons

    Upper management does not know how to effectively lead an organization. The company is extremely disorganized. Wrong Ads get published, production is overworked and under paid. 90% of the employees are barely able to feed their families. This company does not care about their employees. No one is held accountable. Low morale and low productivity. Everyone in upper management need to take a class on leadership skills.

    Continue reading
    GateHouse Media2020-01-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not a nice place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Pittsford, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GateHouse Media full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    5PM When I go home.

    Cons

    low pay, NO RAISES! if you aren't buddy buddy with your boss and kiss their you know what, you are left out of everything and will be one of the first to go. Rude people work there. Some think they are better than others and beneath them to do some tasks.

    Continue reading
    GateHouse Media2019-12-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Circling the drain"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GateHouse Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You'll learn new skills and have ample days off

    Cons

    They'll suck your enthusiasm and leave you fearful and depressed. Each earnings quarter comes with a new wave of layoffs to appease shareholders.

    Continue reading
    GateHouse Media2019-12-01
  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Writer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GateHouse Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very accessible communications team, professional work environment that always fosters improvement.

    Cons

    The compensation is low for a large company.

    Continue reading
    GateHouse Media2019-10-23
Found 501 reviews