Gateshead Council Reviews | Glassdoor

Gateshead Council Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Gateshead Council CEO Alex Geddes
Alex Geddes
2 Ratings
  1. "Kitchen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Manager 

    I worked at Gateshead Council part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity for courses learning

    Cons

    Thrown in at deep end

    Advice to Management

    More mentoring

    Gateshead Council2019-09-28
  2. "Amazing work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lifeguard 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gateshead Council full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great friendships made that’ll last a lifetime

    Cons

    None at all, great bunch

    Gateshead Council2019-07-09
  3. "Unfair Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Gateshead Council full-time

    Pros

    Good Pension Scheme Decent salary to star with

    Cons

    It's not what you know, it's who you know Management expects lower grades to carry out higher grades' duties without any incentives

    Advice to Management

    During any service restructure, take into consideration everyone in the service instead of increasing salaries of those at the top only.

    Gateshead Council2019-02-05
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gateshead Council part-time

    Pros

    Good team environment, flexibility, good pay

    Cons

    Poorly managed, not enough funding

    Gateshead Council2018-11-28
  5. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Gateshead, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gateshead Council full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a great place to be on flex time and showered for cycle to work were hot and warm changing rooms

    Cons

    It did not become a full-time contract

    Gateshead Council2018-01-03
  6. "Good money but not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Gateshead Council part-time

    Pros

    Very good wages and benefits

    Cons

    Theres always cost cuttting going on and you're at risk of redundancy a lot, until you're made redundant.

    Gateshead Council2017-10-30
  7. "Jobs for the boys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gateshead Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent colleagues Flexi policy Good Pension scheme Decent Union There's a wetherspoons down the road You're doing a public service here

    Cons

    My career stagnated here for 5 years. Granted a lot of this was down to government cuts, but looking back the way this organisation is managed is atrocious. Sycophants go far, mates get promoted and dodge redundancy. The little man is made redundant while the senior management structure is left untouched. A redundancy policy that meant the youngest and most innovative were put at risk while the dinosaurs had... nothing to worry about. I can honestly say that I came across some of the dumbest people in my career here, but there are a few gems who should take the leap and get out. Since leaving I have never looked back

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get in the sea

    Gateshead Council2017-07-07
  8. "No longer a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Gateshead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gateshead Council full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Staff camaraderie Annual Leave Can't even think of any more pros now to get a glass door 20 word minimum it has got that bad

    Cons

    Constant restructuring Reduction in front line staff leading to running either unstaffed or at breaking point due restructuring Staff moral low Lose of good staff Too many managers and not particularly good at there job Supposedly the same sections pitting themselves against each other to keep a job Constantly going over the same problems never offering a solution

    Advice to Management

    Get the simple things right Listen to your staff - funnily enough they know whats needed Stop thinking more management makes a better service. Need to come out of the Ivory tower and see what the staff are putting up with. Spend the money were it's needed not on hiring more higher managers Ask the question why is staff moral so low and why are we losing good staff

    Gateshead Council2017-02-24
  9. "No longer a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gateshead Council full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexi time, holidays and pretty good work life balance. Nice if you want an easy life, some teams well managed and ran.

    Cons

    Endless reorganisation, thinking renaming things somehow will lead to efficiencies and doing the equivalent of rearranging the deckchairs on the titanic.

    Advice to Management

    Stop pitting groups against each other foor savings, take a wider view as to what as an organisation is needed, and decide on a direction and stick with it, changing every few years will always cost way more than it will save.

    Gateshead Council2017-02-17
  10. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Gateshead Council full-time

    Pros

    Satisfaction of making a difference for children

    Cons

    There is no end of the day. There are always things to plan, mark and assess. It is a vocation not a job.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff and students.

    Gateshead Council2017-02-14
Found 19 reviews