Gateway Church Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
88%
Recommend to a Friend
Gateway Church Founding Lead Senior Pastor Robert Morris
Robert Morris
0 Rating
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no cons to this job from my time being there(in 3 reviews)

  • "To get ahead or make progress you must become best friends with upper management(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very pleasant people that care about your well being."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gateway Church

    Pros

    The people, the kids, and the friendships that you make.

    Cons

    Very difficult to move up.

    Gateway Church2020-02-26
  2. "Live Production(formerly Tech Arts)"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Live Production in Southlake, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gateway Church part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The volunteers or full-time staff that I serve with are happy to be at Gateway Church. They go out of their way to let you know just how much they appreciate you and the work you do. They treat you like family. A true sense that you are serving GOD and helping to build his kingdom.

    Cons

    None known at this time

    Continue reading
    Gateway Church2020-02-04
  3. "Gateway Church Review"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Child Care Worker 

    I have been working at Gateway Church part-time

    Pros

    There are wonderful people in management and an awesome workplace atmosphere.

    Cons

    Truly one of the best places I have worked. No complaints.

    Gateway Church2020-01-06
  4. "Fast Paced"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gateway Church full-time

    Pros

    Work is rewarding and fast paced with a direct impact on the guests

    Cons

    The tendancy to be overlooked or taken for granted by Ministers.

    Continue reading
    Gateway Church2019-11-14
  5. "Great place to work and serve!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Gateway Church full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive, collaborative, creative environment full of great people

    Cons

    None at this particular time

    Gateway Church2019-07-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Initially Amazing, Became Frustrating and Mentally Draining"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cafe Barista in Southlake, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Gateway Church part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As my first job, I was able to work on my work ethic and learn a ton about coffee and customer service. I did get paid above minimum wage and was able to increase that pay as I continued to advance from Attendant to Certified Barista. Most of the people you work with on the same level as you are absolutely incredible and friendly. In my time working there prior to summer 2018, I hardly noticed any major disputes between team members, and my direct manager at the time was just amazing. Finally, asking for time off is relatively easy for the most part, as direct management is usually understanding.

    Cons

    Hands down, the worst aspect about the job was the upper management (not including direct café-to-café managers) making the job 10x more difficult than it needed to be. They constantly forgot to order things we needed on a weekly basis, overrode any direct management's or shift lead's authority if they didn't like it, and had absolutely atrocious communication between themselves and our team. There's also very little in the way of consistent hours as of late, and people who prove to be bad teammates are not fired because they need all the help they can get. Also, training took way too long, but they have recently revamped the training process while simultaneously forcing everyone who's already at the highest level of training (certified barista) and under to retake it, even if they've been there for years like I had been. There are also no tips for even part-timers, so if you're interested in a coffee shop job, I highly suggest you look elsewhere that gives out tips and maybe actually has benefits. Only apply here if there's absolutely no where else to go.

    Continue reading
    Gateway Church2019-03-11
  7. "Positive and friendly culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Children's Service Worker in Southlake, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gateway Church part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, Fair pay, the culture

    Cons

    In the childcare, it was hard to get enough hours some weeks

    Gateway Church2019-02-11
  8. "AMAZING (kids)"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher/Emcee in Frisco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gateway Church part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everyone is truly there to love on kids and build them up in their relationship with Jesus it is incredible to watch!!

    Cons

    There are no cons to this job from my time being there. The staff is great, being with the kids is amazing, and they say you $10 just to be there and play with kids while hanging out with your friends.

    Continue reading
    Gateway Church2019-01-31
  9. "Great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gateway Church full-time

    Pros

    Tons of personal development courses, programs, and materials throughout the organization. Everyone meets for all-staff meetings regularly which develops a strong culture of growth.

    Cons

    Not a very merit-based workplace. Hard to climb the ladder with just good performance if you don't have connections.

    Continue reading
    Gateway Church2018-07-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Praying It Gets Better"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gateway Church full-time

    Pros

    The heart of the ministry is to take care of the people who work there. Depending on who you work for you can find support if you need it and they're willing to help you grow in whatever capacity you're willing to. I really do believe that they want you to feel valued.

    Cons

    Despite striving for the best and working for good culture... There's way too much transition, gossip, slander, backbiting, and religious pride for it to truly be a healthy work environment. Sometimes coming from the top down.

    Continue reading
    Gateway Church2018-06-04
Found 57 reviews