Gateway Church Reviews | Glassdoor

Gateway Church Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Incredible work environment and awesome people(in 6 reviews)

  • "Pray at work, great people to work with, being a part of something amazing to serve the kingdom of God(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons to this job from my time being there(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Positive and friendly culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Children's Service Worker in Southlake, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gateway Church part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great people, Fair pay, the culture

    Cons

    In the childcare, it was hard to get enough hours some weeks

    Gateway Church2019-02-11
  2. "Initially Amazing, Became Frustrating and Mentally Draining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cafe Barista in Southlake, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Gateway Church part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    As my first job, I was able to work on my work ethic and learn a ton about coffee and customer service. I did get paid above minimum wage and was able to increase that pay as I continued to advance from Attendant to Certified Barista. Most of the people you work with on the same level as you are absolutely incredible and friendly. In my time working there prior to summer 2018, I hardly noticed any major disputes between...

    Show More

    Cons

    Hands down, the worst aspect about the job was the upper management (not including direct café-to-café managers) making the job 10x more difficult than it needed to be. They constantly forgot to order things we needed on a weekly basis, overrode any direct management's or shift lead's authority if they didn't like it, and had absolutely atrocious communication between themselves and our team. There's also very little...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually listen to the team members that allow you to have the job you have in the first place. Don't always say yes on our behalf to provide event services on such short notices (this happened more than once), especially if you don't know if we have enough resources or available team members to execute such services effectively. Also, if there are team members who prove to be problems for the rest of the team, don't...

    Show More
    Gateway Church2019-03-11
  3. "AMAZING (kids)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher/Emcee in Frisco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gateway Church part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Everyone is truly there to love on kids and build them up in their relationship with Jesus it is incredible to watch!!

    Cons

    There are no cons to this job from my time being there. The staff is great, being with the kids is amazing, and they say you $10 just to be there and play with kids while hanging out with your friends.

    Advice to Management

    Doing a great job!

    Gateway Church2019-01-31
  4. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gateway Church full-time

    Pros

    Tons of personal development courses, programs, and materials throughout the organization. Everyone meets for all-staff meetings regularly which develops a strong culture of growth.

    Cons

    Not a very merit-based workplace. Hard to climb the ladder with just good performance if you don't have connections.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more internal promotion opportunities to motivate employees better.

    Gateway Church2018-07-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Praying It Gets Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gateway Church full-time

    Pros

    The heart of the ministry is to take care of the people who work there. Depending on who you work for you can find support if you need it and they're willing to help you grow in whatever capacity you're willing to. I really do believe that they want you to feel valued.

    Cons

    Despite striving for the best and working for good culture... There's way too much transition, gossip, slander, backbiting, and religious pride for it to truly be a healthy work environment. Sometimes coming from the top down.

    Advice to Management

    Stop it. These problems can be fixed. Go back to the basics and just be like Jesus.

    Gateway Church2018-06-04
  6. "Great place to learn, grow, and pour out!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Child Care Worker 
    Recommends

    I worked at Gateway Church part-time

    Pros

    Minimal necessary hours with opportunity for more. Adequate pay for the job done. Compassion and understanding for necessary time off. Is willing to train. Cares about your personal well-being. High energy. Impacting children’s lives.

    Cons

    Must work weekends (obviously) Inconsistenty in the rules enforced between locations. 25 maximum hours. Lots of out pouring (which is expected) Too few people trained for platform.

    Gateway Church2018-04-30
  7. "I love working for gateway. This is by far my favorite job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Grand Prairie, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gateway Church full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    They are very hands on and loving. They love to pour into you and help you grow in your job and in life. Management is very graceful and forgiving. The people are just amazing. Truely a family.

    Cons

    You don't have much privacy about your life. They want to know everything and be involved with everything in your life. I'm more of a personal, keep to myself person. So to me its extremely frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Try to see things more from our angle. The job is very repetitive but it also is a lot to do and takes time. We are truely trying to do our Best.

    Gateway Church2018-04-16
  8. "Children's Ministry Service Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gateway Church part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment & great people to work with.

    Cons

    You work every weekend. You can't normally attend events because you are working them,. Sometimes you are required to work all services if there is no staff.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the children's workers get to go to service every weekend. It started to affect my spiritual walk, and ended up in me resigning.

    Gateway Church2018-01-29
  9. "Great Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Southlake, TX
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gateway Church full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Gateway is very people focused.

    Cons

    Not really a con, but don't assume because this is a church that they're not just people too. By far the best working environment I've ever been a part of.

    Gateway Church2018-01-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Literally the Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gateway Church full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Full benefits Laid back atmosphere Great people

    Cons

    You lose your weekends if you are a pastor

    Gateway Church2018-01-05
Found 52 reviews