Gateway Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor

Gateway Foundation Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 115 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Thomas P. Britton
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Helping others recognize self-destructive patterns and develop new, better ways to treat themselves and end suffering(in 6 reviews)

  • "Enjoyed working with clients there(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Management DO NOT respect their staff Especially their Counselors(in 9 reviews)

  • "There were times I had to do two jobs (milieu management & counsel my caseload) at the same time(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Job Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Ar Representative in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Gateway Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Great Pay (20hr) Great environment Great location Great benefits

    Cons

    Cubicles are kinda small but bearable

    Advice to Management

    None, truly a great company.

    Gateway Foundation2019-07-10
  2. "Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Gateway Foundation

      Pros

      Benefits and interacting with the clients was the best part of this place.

      Cons

      All the underlying bs that happens and the fact that they let it happen because it’s the buddy system their and not a team effort as they claim.

      Gateway Foundation2019-06-19
    • "Flexible work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carbondale, IL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gateway Foundation full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Wonderful co-workers who all care about the work they do and the people they serve. Gateway is wonderful at ensuring staff are trained in the most up to date clinical methods.

      Cons

      Very busy work and can't always get people into treatment when they need it.

      Advice to Management

      value the employees - they are the most important resource.

      Gateway Foundation2019-05-01
    • "A place to help you change."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - NJ State Director in Yardville, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gateway Foundation full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      We are willing to help anyone that wants and/or needs help.

      Cons

      Unable to help those that will not allow us to.

      Advice to Management

      Keeping putting the needs of the clients first.

      Gateway Foundation2019-04-16
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gateway Foundation full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Here at Gateway Foundation, employees are treated with respect and integrity. It's a holistic team effort and we set the bar high for success. Leadership leads by example and is there every step of the way to assist when and where needed.

      Cons

      None I can think of!

      Gateway Foundation2019-04-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Honored to be employed at Gateway Foundation!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Admissions Coordinator in Aurora, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gateway Foundation full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Shows a sincere interest in employees and quality customer care Supports the research, and continuously updates treatment curriculum for ultimate success Team cohesiveness and support all around from peers and superiors Continuing education training Opportunities for upward movement and professional growth Competitive salary and benefits Incredible leadership and management

      Cons

      I do not have any negative feedback

      Gateway Foundation2019-03-22
    • "Could be better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Gateway Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The team I work with is great

      Cons

      Pay and development opportunities are lacking

      Gateway Foundation2019-04-05
    • "Not enough room for growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Gateway Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        People are great to work with.

        Cons

        Not enough room to growth. Lacks structure and management from managers.

        Gateway Foundation2019-04-02
      • Helpful (2)

        "Management is the major issue"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Counselor in Chicago, IL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Gateway Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Three day weekend, nothing else.

        Cons

        High stress low paying job with no support from upper management. Major emphasis on getting PPI clients in the door. Obvious treatment disparities between PPI clients and MCO per executive director of location. Management takes staff for granted; places them in unsafe working conditions and refuses to address staff concerns. Management continues to place unreasonable responsibility on staff despite pushback- clear lack...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Listen to your clinical staff when they bring up concerns. Hire educated staff, the recent shift to unskilled and uneducated counselors places everyone in danger including the clients and profoundly lowers the quality of care to an already stigmatized and vulnerable population. The only redeeming factor to the job is the three day weekend.

        Gateway Foundation2019-03-23
      • Helpful (1)

        "Gateway is a wonderful, collaborative workplace!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Executive Director in Aurora, IL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Gateway Foundation full-time

        Pros

        Gateway if a wonderful place to work. They are committed to helping others find Recovery and the employees create a collaborative family environment where all are welcome and appreciated. It is truly a rewarding experience to work here.

        Cons

        Wish we could help more than we already do.

        Advice to Management

        Keep doing an excellent Job!

        Gateway Foundation2019-02-01
      Found 115 reviews