Gattaca "commission structure" Reviews | Glassdoor

Gattaca Employee Reviews about "commission structure"

Updated Sep 25, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Gattaca Chief Executive Officer Kevin Freeguard  (no image)
Kevin Freeguard
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "The commission structure is really strong compared to other businesses I have been in(in 10 reviews)

  • "Flexible, positive environment, good benefits(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "All the international markets with Networkers brand are going down(in 10 reviews)

  • "Group Support wasn’t treated well compared to sales(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "commission structure"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gattaca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great opportunity to kick start your professional career and get off the ground running. -There is a lot of money to be made in the recruitment industry and Gattaca did have a great commission structure until it was changed (which was changed twice during my time there and apparently is changing again soon). -My direct managers were very invested in my growth and learning. - Not terribly difficult work if you have been trained well and learn how to work smart.

    Cons

    - Unfortunately, I do not rate the upper management at all and they are a very big let down. They seem to care more about their own paycheck and saving the company money than rewarding employees for a job well done. - RUMORS RUMORS RUMORS - Not sure if things have changed, but when I was there it was like a group of gossiping girls in high school. - They tend to listen to employees based on tenure. If you have been there longer than someone else, your opinion is more valid apparently. Huge mistake.

    Continue reading
    Gattaca2018-09-25

    Gattaca Response

    October 24, 2018Group Director

    I couldn’t agree more about not needing rumours or gossip. As an established company, there’ll always be people who have an opinion on what we are doing. So I personally would welcome less gossiping……including those suggesting as you do in your article about commission structures “apparently” changing again soon. As someone who’s progressed from trainee consultant to the management board, I fully support the promotion of within and making sure the ideas of everyone are heard. I have meetings with new starters 6-12 month in and I am getting involved with the Team Leader and Management development….plus I genuinely and generally want to hear from as many people as possible……even those that have left us. I don’t think we could hear too much feedback and the weekly staff survey emails we’ve put in place are helping to make sure we capture this as frequently as possible. Saying all that, feedback can sometimes be a little painful, but it’s only painful because we care…..and we want and need that feedback to keep improving. Our intent is to grow a really amazing business and for that we need to know what we are doing well…..and what we are not doing well, so thank you for your comments. I am not sure I’d fully agree with your comments about not caring, yes for sure we have a responsibility to make sure the finances are balanced well, that’s part of our role, but so is making sure we have great opportunities for people to develop great careers. Having launched a new incentive scheme for people in Group Support which saw new and long established staff members having fully expensed weekends away and having just seen the return of c.50 people from weekends in; Marbella, Madrid and Los Angeles, I’d say we’re doing a fair amount to say thank you to those doing a great job…..of course there is always more we can do and the little touches count just as much, if not more than the big gesture. So we’re trying to make sure everyone who is doing their best is recognised. Finally it’s great to hear that your direct line manager was really interested in your development…..I hope they capitalise on the investment we are putting in to our management team this year. I hope this results in plenty of promotions from within, over the coming months and years in line with the growth of the Group.

    Continue reading
  2. "Gattaca+Networkers - incredible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cyber Security Consultant in Dubai
    Recommends

    I have been working at Gattaca full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company! You actually receive the support and assistance you need during challenging situations. You have the freedom to actually go out and be successful in your industry. Excellent commission structure available. The office environment is amazing, highly recommended to anyone in the recruitment industry looking to make a name for themselves and be as successful as they wish. The on boarding process was made extremely easy and stress free with the help from Abi, Iskra, Oliver & Nauman.

    Cons

    Haven't seen any as of yet :D

    Gattaca2018-02-11

    Gattaca Response

    June 11, 2018Group HR Director

    Thanks so much for your review. It's great to see someone from our Dubai office giving us feedback. Really pleased that you have had a great on-boarding process. We have worked hard on this process in the last year and it's clearly paying off. We will definitely make sure that everyone mentioned in your review is aware of your positive comments. One of our EVP (Evolve) pillars is Recognition and this is a great example of recognising people who have helped you. So, thank you for this. We wish you every success with your career at Gattaca.

    Continue reading
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Gattaca Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Whiteley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gattaca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The team culture and environment is great, the people you directly work with and have around you is one of the most important parts of the job, as the job can be a little repetitive at times. L&D - training is a big part of our induction programme and the new L&D set up appears to be working well and is something we're known for. Social events - this is something the business spends a lot of time planning and organising and everything from the EOQ nights, to the Christmas party and Goodwood is always so much fun. Pay structure - the basic salaries are a little low (especially when it comes to some of the benefits) however the commission structure is in place to reward those that work hard. Nowhere is it more prevalent that if you work hard, you will see the financial rewards; your earnings are a direct result of your output.

    Cons

    There aren't many cons as I genuinely do enjoy my job however the main thing which bothers me (which has been raised before) is the pension plan. Whilst it's great that we get a matched contribution plan, it is based on our basic salaries which for a lot of us, is significantly lower than our overall earnings. Flexible working is something that you can see the company are working towards however it's still quite frowned upon and there have been so many occasions whereby colleagues haven't wanted to ask for flexi time when they are more than entitled to. Some members of management need to try and open their minds to the concept a bit more.

    Continue reading
    Gattaca2017-11-13

    Gattaca Response

    November 24, 2017CEO

    Thanks for your review! As I've said elsewhere, a better approach to flexible working is something we're working on and I hope you'll see improvement and more consistency going forward. That said, I don't believe true flexi-time (where the individual chooses when he/she starts and finishes work with a minimum number of hours 'clocked in') is right for a business like ours. We should however be flexible in enabling our staff to better balance work and family/social needs. As employer pension contributions have become mandatory our offering looks less generous than it did and I agree that it would be good to enhance this benefit. However, we have to balance this with other demands for resources and I'm afraid this isn't something I expect to change in the near future. That said, and as you've observed, you can control your earnings at Gattaca and at 3-4X base salary I hope you're utilising our Match share scheme (where we give you a free share in Gattaca for every one you buy) and topping up your employee pension contributions as well - these are the best investments you'll ever make!

    Continue reading
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Whiteley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gattaca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My time at Matchtech has been very positive. I joined as a Resourcer and have worked my way up over the last 5 years into a Team Leader position. - There is great support from my managers - Continuous training from training and development team, external courses, and also at desk. - Matchtech also reward and recognise achievements of its staff regularly through informal individual / team and company rewards and incentives. Such as trip away to Dublin, London, Ibiza etc - Competitive benefits and commission structure - Good values

    Cons

    No big Cons for me.

    Gattaca2017-06-08

    Gattaca Response

    June 11, 2017CEO

    Thanks very much for such a positive review - it means a lot! It's great to see that you've progressed with us. We've recognised that the opportunity for career progression is vital to our experienced staff and we've recently launched a more formal approach to development planning and career structures. With more supervisory and management levels than ever before to aspire to as well as the opportunity to get better rewards as a top biller I believe we now offer unrivalled career progression opportunities. Our staff are telling us that they love knowing what they have to achieve to get their next promotion and the transparency around where they are on their journey with us. I hope we can help you progress even further in your next five years with us!

    Continue reading
  6. "Extremely positive introduction to a professional environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Whiteley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gattaca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I joined the business after I finished university and joined a challenging and cold desk to build business on. - On joining I had a lot of support and training to introduce myself to the role and learned the fundamentals of recruitment. - There was continuous training where the company invested into making you a better employee. - The culture around the business really changes depending on your team, although I was fit in a great team where I built some amazing relationships. - The commission structure is really strong compared to other businesses I have been in. - Senior management do listen to feedback and try to take action on popular requests. - Work life balance is very good. - I left the business after 1-2 years in the business to see if the grass was greener in another recruitment firm. I was certainly wrong with my decision as Matchtech (under Gattaca) provided an amazing platform to learn and earn money. - There is a character in the company who goes by the name 'Cookie' who will try to steal all your food.

    Cons

    - Sometimes management can be a bit one dimensional in terms of how they look at your performance, although ultimately recruitment is down to the inputs and outputs. However, it would be nice to have a strategic view to planning your desk. - IT systems make you want to tear your hair out sometimes, but again - this seems to be similar in a lot of companies. - Base salary could be a little higher

    Continue reading
    Gattaca2017-05-18

    Gattaca Response

    May 20, 2017CEO

    It was great to read your review and I learned something new about Cookie! I agree that our performances management can always be improved and in fact we're planning a workshop later this year with the aim of encouraging all of us to look beyond 'traditional' KPI's and to embrace 'inputs' which lead to business success. But I'm glad you recognise that recruitment is and always will be a business in which what you put in determines what you get out. We are investing in new IT systems across the business but Nirvana is never reached. That said, our technology platforms will look very different over the next couple of years. Thanks for your advice. I always seek to do just this through regular desk and office visits - but we can always do better.

    Continue reading
  7. "Good Corporate Recruitment Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gattaca

    Pros

    Brand power and awareness Good sales/recruitment training Good commission structure

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets Lack of management support Office environment

    Gattaca2016-11-29

    Gattaca Response

    December 19, 2016CEO

    Thanks very much for your review and your positive comments on our brand strength, training and commission. I'm sorry to see that you feel your targets are unrealistic and that your management is unsupportive. You should know that you can voice your concerns to HR who should be able to help you. I don't know which office you work from but if its 1450 in Whiteley we will be refurbishing the whole building in 2017 to bring it in line with our super new London office - you can see a video clip of this space in the latest edition of Pulse, our staff magazine, or on my LinkedIn page. I hope we can sort out the issues you have - best of luck and success in your career with us.

    Continue reading
  8. "A decade within recruitment at Gattaca"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Whiteley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gattaca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I’ve now worked at Gattaca for over 10 years and seen a lot of change in that time! It’s been an incredible journey from entering as a Resourcer to where I am now. The career path and options have always been visible to me and the company rewards hard work and performance. They also provide a huge amount of support (which can often be taken for granted) but you do need to have the drive and ambition to succeed – as a sales business it’s certainly a case of what you put in, you get out. The commission structure is both class leading and uncapped and the benefits offered are very competitive. However, the biggest draw of working here is the people – I’ve worked across a number of teams and the camaraderie and banter has been excellent, it’s that team environment which has made coming into work such fun. Alongside this, the company has a fantastic social and sports scene.

    Cons

    It can be a pressurised environment to work in – although I must say that the business culture has changed from a purely KPI driven sales force to one that looks at the bigger picture of reaching and exceeding targets.

    Continue reading
    Gattaca2016-10-28

    Gattaca Response

    October 31, 2016CEO

    It's brilliant to read that you see our people and team environment as the biggest draw to working at Gattaca - this is bang in line with our primary purpose of staff engagement. If we can attract and retain the best staff in the market we can't fail to delight our clients and promote our candidates. I think you're right about us having moved on from a KPI centric approach - every individual will have different conversion ratios and it's for them to manage their own activity by reverse-engineering from the result they want to achieve. I'm intrigued by your advice but not sure what you mean - I'd love to know so please post again or better still come and see me - feedback is a gift, positively critical feedback especially so!

    Continue reading
  9. "18 years and counting......."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Whiteley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gattaca full-time

    Pros

    Gattaca is an outstanding employer! I have been working for the group for over 18 years now and never regretted it for a second. When I joined the business it employed less than 50 staff in one office. Now we have 14 offices in 11 countries and with plans to extend our international reach even further. I am currently finalising a move to our new office in Dallas, Texas, to help the company expand overseas. This is something I never dreamed I'd be doing when I walked through the door back in 1998. The great thing about Gattaca as an employer is that, even as the company has expanded, it has never lost that 'family' feel. The staff are the most valued commodity and are well looked after with a flexible benefit program, competitive salaries and an uncapped commission structure. It's a great place to work and will continue to be so. The possibilities to progress and build a career here have never been greater!

    Cons

    Recruitment isn't for everyone. With the salary & benefits comes expectation. The company sets high standards when it comes to sales activity and targets and this won't suit every potential employee.

    Gattaca2016-07-20

    Gattaca Response

    July 25, 2016CEO

    Thank you so much for this - it's actually quite humbling to read. I'm delighted that we are 'hitting the spot' for you and I hope your career continues to progress with us. A big part of my job is to make sure that more of your colleagues feel the same and your support is much appreciated.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Work Hard Play Hard culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Recruitment Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gattaca

    Pros

    Commission structure is realistic and achievable. Reward and recognition Work parties, work events and good team spirit across the division. Database is good and supportive TL.

    Cons

    In my opinion – they company only seem to invest in certain consultants in external training and on-going development. Only particular consultants are given the best Linkedin accounts available even though everyone has the same targets to hit. All consultants should have made available the same training (internal and external) and same tools to make sure everyone has the fairest way of hitting and exceeding target and being promoted. Basics in recruitment are low anyway but Gattaca pay the lowest of them all.

    Gattaca2016-07-20

    Gattaca Response

    July 25, 2016CEO

    I'm glad to see your positive comments on the Company - we try hard to make sure that our reward schemes are attractive and to encourage a strong sense of team and family through our social activities. Thanks also for your positive feedback on our candidate database and Team Leaders. I hear what you're saying in regard to LinkedIn Recruiter licences, though - as far as I know - this is the only area where some consultants have access to something that others don't. We are working with LinkedIn to establish the return on our investment from LinkedIn and - assuming this comes through positively! - we will increase the number of licences we offer to our consultants. In fact even ahead of this result we have committed to 50% more licences in 2016/17 than we had this year. I'm surprised by your assertion that Gattaca basics are so low. I don't believe this to be the case but I will look into it.

    Continue reading
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Working as a recruiter @ Networkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Gattaca

    Pros

    Good commission structure and opportunity for earning.

    Cons

    Long working hours with too much focus on contract revenue.

    Gattaca2015-05-21

    Gattaca Response

    March 1, 2017CEO

    Thanks for your brief review. Success in recruitment - in the early years of your career - will require long hours. As your networks build this changes. Our standard working hours are not onerous but I accept that in order to establish yourself you would be well advised to start and finish a little earlier and later - you get out what you put in. On contract revenue,this is the foundation of our business - it's recurring revenue which is more predictable than perm NFI - this is why we favour it. Thanks again for your review.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews