Gattaca "networkers" Reviews | Glassdoor

Gattaca Employee Reviews about "networkers"

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Gattaca Chief Executive Officer Kevin Freeguard  (no image)
Kevin Freeguard
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "The commission structure is really strong compared to other businesses I have been in(in 10 reviews)

  • "Flexible, positive environment, good benefits(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "All the international markets with Networkers brand are going down(in 10 reviews)

  • "Group Support wasn’t treated well compared to sales(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "networkers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "It's all about you.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gattaca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I joined this company in late '15 and was given a lot of autonomy from the start. Management recognized the potential I had and immediately let me go out there and work a new market, giving me the freedom to build up my own business, supporting me along the way but ultimately trusting me to choose my target clients and break new accounts in the way that suited my personality and skillset which was very empowering. I joined as Networkers was acquired by Matchtech ultimately creating the Gattaca group which has led to a number of positive changes; - We now have a spacious and slick new office which is branded throughout and makes for an inspiring work environment. - We now have a very strong international presence with the reputations of two well established companies to now leverage when developing new accounts. Commission here is a real pro, you are well compensated for the placements you make. Incentive - hit your number and you will also enjoy a an all-expenses paid long weekend abroad. Money Putt Friday - make a placement and get a chance to make a putt for a bonus $50! Attitude - the company is all about Attitude. I think a lot of recruitment agencies have people living in fear that unless they hit their number their head's on the chopping board. I've seen recruiters here get let go who exceeded their number but had a bad attitude and others kept on who had not necessarily brought in the revenue but who were working hard and wanting to better themselves.

    Cons

    All of the above rests on putting in the work. It's a work hard / play hard environment: you have to be prepared to put in the former to enjoy the latter. I guess for most people this is a given but reading a couple of reviews of employees who clearly wanted all the benefits without the graft I guess I should mark this down as a con for those who are that way inclined.

    Continue reading
    Gattaca2017-03-31

    Gattaca Response

    September 21, 2017CEO

    Thanks indeed for a very thorough review. We will take your advice!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "No transparent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gattaca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relocation opportunity Quickly career growth Good benefits in some offices Good time off

    Cons

    Poor management- They are an international company when approaching business, but when problem happens, fight between offices forever and everyone starts to back up. Not fair environment- They used to offer different commission structures for different offices(not sure now) so it discourages people. Also, they pay better for Brits expats than others or prompt them quicker than locals. No HR in China - a finance lady in charge of HR work there, very unprofessional and unfriendly. The ladies work under her left very quickly always. After the company acquisition, there are many good networkers managers left and I'm sure there must a reason for that.

    Continue reading
    Gattaca2017-03-01

    Gattaca Response

    March 8, 2017

    Thank you for your positive comments on career growth opportunities at Gattaca, including the chance to relocate internationally as well as our benefits package. I’m sorry that you had a negative experience with us. As an international business we are constantly adjusting our operating model to ensure that we deal with global clients more effectively. You are right that competition between offices should not result in any detriment to the service such clients receive. This is something we are aware of as an issue in some sectors and we are working towards fixing it. Out international offices were historically set up by British expats and until quite recently were run from the UK. However, over the last year or so we have appointed Regional Managing Directors who have the autonomy and responsibility to make decisions locally and we have been ramping up our recruitment of local nationals in order to improve the expat to local ratio – this will continue to be the case as we make our business more scalable globally. As part of our scaling up we will look to build our Group Support (GS) infrastructure globally, including HR. You’ll appreciate that when an office is small it is difficult to cost-justify too many support staff. However, as we grow we have a strategy to build GS headcount as sales headcount increases. Thanks again for taking the time to give us your feedback – its appreciated.

    Continue reading
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Irresponsibly Unreliable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - IT Management in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Gattaca

    Pros

    I wish I could find one! OK, their weekly reporting system is user-friendly, and if a contractor still has questions, there are always people available to assist quickly.

    Cons

    I had a full-time well-paid position when I got a call from Networkers recruiter offering me a contract-to-hire opportunity for prestige large company, projected better pay and more interesting responsibilities. This guy told me that he knows his client inside out, it is risk free to join its team at the end of Q3 and, if anything goes wrong, he will place me to other of their numerous clients. After three weeks of working on this contract, it appeared that my client started experiencing major budgeting shortage, which Networkers (including my recruiter) had no idea about. As a contractor, I was let go with sincere regrets of my hiring manager, who assured me that as soon as they become stable he will take me back (which eliminates my performance issue). Moreover, Networkers did not have any clients in my area or near it to place me in. As result, I missed four months of productive work out of my career history – “thanks” to Networkers.

    Continue reading
    Gattaca2015-01-29
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Far from the company it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Support in Fareham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gattaca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I left earlier in the year and worked for Gattaca for a number of years in Group Support. The people are brilliant, there are some fantastic individuals in the business who are great at what they do and passionate about the business. Everyone is nice and friendly. Also great socials throughout the year, which are always a highlight! Good benefits. You will have a great experience, if you work in Sales.

    Cons

    - Group Support staff are not valued by senior management. The business says Group Support are, by including them on certain Sales incentives and the annual staff awards, but management actions and comments throughout the course of a year say otherwise. - Career progression can be possible for Group Support, but the pay does not justify the amount of work and effort required for a promotion. The business has also had flat performance for a number of years now, which has meant no salary reviews or increases (not even inflation). However Sales still get their commissions, so that side of the business remains unaffected. Never has there been a stronger "us & them" divide. HR apparently undertake annual "salary benchmarking" though I think that just justifies what "good value" their Group Support staff are vs what the market is actually paying for those roles. - As mentioned above, the people in the business are great, but we are losing a lot of the best ones. This is not the people orientated business it once was. Gattaca lost it's way after the Networkers acquisition - something that should have been a very exciting time for everyone - but it has been scrambling to get back on form ever since.

    Continue reading
    Gattaca2019-08-07

    Gattaca Response

    September 4, 2019Group HR Director

    There is a lot in here that we can agree on; the people at Gattaca are great, and everyone here is nice, friendly and passionate about what they do. It’s because of this that people work hard, both sales and Group Support. We do have some great benefits, and our socials are fun and welcomed by many. We disagree that Group Support are not valued by senior management. So much has been done in recent years to demonstrate this; introduction of Group Support specific Awards (which now happen three times per year), ad hoc team incentives and events to recognise achievement, dedicated budget for managers to award team members on a ‘spot award’ basis. Business performance has been flat in the past few years, but we do have an Improvement Plan in place and as you’ve alluded to there are many passionate employees keen to work towards this plan and get us back to growth. All individuals are encouraged to put forward suggestions and get involved in decisions. And, if they are a little shy at coming forward with these, we have the anonymous ‘Have your say’ engagement survey. We will be pushing this tool more over the coming months.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Going down hill, struggling to see it going up."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Support in Whiteley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gattaca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The staff in Group Support are incredible. and very hard working. Some GS management are great listeners, and will accommodate to needs. Some great peers to help further skills in your field of expertise Benefits are good Some EOY/EOQ events are fantastic.

    Cons

    Group Support are looked down upon, some department more than others. If you're working in Sales, you won't have an issue. Payrises or bonus' seem to be non-existent over the last 3-4 years, mainly since the acquisition of Networkers PLC, though it appears that Sales get this as they're the moneymakers though they may not be meeting targets. Opportunities are lacking unless senior members leave the business. SME's opinions are not listened too by Management, and said SMEs are usually 'told off' months later for something they warned management about. PBS has been going on for too long, and bullhorn sounds more like a dream. Compensation for overtime doesn't exist, if it does, it's not in our Department.

    Continue reading
    Gattaca2019-07-05

    Gattaca Response

    September 4, 2019Group HR Director

    Thank you for your review. I agree with you that we have some incredible individuals working in our Group Support teams, and we are doing more than before to acknowledge this. In the past year we have separated out the Group Support awards to have a dedicated set of categories to recognise their contribution towards the business. These are in addition to the Annual Awards that we hold at Christmas. This has included cash awards, theatre trip to London and more recently Ibiza incentive. I’m personally keen to hear from anyone on suggestions on what we can do here to make these as attractive as possible. Since I joined in 2013 we have continued to provide pay rises yearly, and paid bonuses to Group Support staff both of these very much geared towards our high performers. I encourage all employees to talk to their managers how what they can do to not only increase their impact but also discuss how they can grow their careers. Growth based career conversations don’t necessarily need to be around moving into (more senior) management roles. We are looking to include this concept into our Management development programme this year so our managers are more readily able to discuss this with our employees. We do encourage anyone who wants a one to one with any of the leadership team. If you’re not sure about how to do this, then please come and have a confidential conversation with me or a member of my team and we will support you.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Bromley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gattaca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked for the Networkers brand before it was taken over by Matchtech, and subsequently rebranded to Gattaca. I joined a great company with some fantastic people at management and director level leading the business. It was well established, offered a wealth of data to utilise at the time and an enviable client list, and delivering a number of different recruitment solutions and despite coming from a recruitment background I felt I could learn a lot from the people around me. This was all backed up by an equally established, very knowledgeable back office function across legal, contracts and finance.

    Cons

    The overall business lacked cohesion at a senior level, someone who could visualise and implement the benefits of a good existing client list and good delivery in different areas. The takeover by Matchtech slowly broke down everything that was good about the business, not investing time or money in the Networkers business they took over. This resulted in good people leaving, sales figures dwindling and an ever-diminishing identity and the culture changed significantly.

    Continue reading
    Gattaca2018-10-19

    Gattaca Response

    November 1, 2018Group HR Director

    When a company is acquired then we accept that it isn’t always the case that everyone welcomes the change that comes with this. And, this is fine and agree it’s actually best to part ways. What we have aimed to do is to enhance the employment offering, which we did through reducing the contractual hours, increasing salaries to those who were performing well, enhancing the benefit package, vastly improving career paths and access to training opportunities both internal and external (although we accept that some people just weren’t interested in moving up the career ladder). If I look to the 2016 Staff Engagement survey results a year after the acquisition, all of these were well received and in fact comments were made from Bromley staff about making sure that Networkers kept to their side of the bargain and perform. We actually left the commission schemes and incentive schemes alone, at the request of the staff, and let these continue without our input. But, we did accept some ideas that came from Networkers and for our other brands we introduced trips to Ibiza, and more recently LA on the back of this. These have gone down extremely well. With regards to the sales figures dwindling, then you need to analyse this further to really understand what the impact is. When we acquired the company Networkers was a predominately Telco business and with that most of the business came from Telco Infrastructure. If you then look at this area as a market, you will see that it wasn’t as a result of good people leaving the business, but that as a market this isn’t a market that will provide sustainable growth. It is the market itself that is dwindling, and perhaps in hindsight more could have been done to explain the sales figures and what we were doing about it. What we have done is provide market intel to the leadership team to be able to make decision on where we should be focusing our efforts. This has been something that has been a change programme over the last 18 months to two years and you will have seen our recent announcement of pulling out of the Telco Infrastructure market. There are many large organisations that have folded when they have refused to change and look to the future. We do recognise that when a market area is doing well, then everything is good. But when a market reaches its peak, it’s those organisations that adapt and change its focus that will do well. This does mean change. I can see that it is easy to point at ‘good people leaving’ but it isn’t as simple as this. As a company we want to focus on business that provides sustainable growth and fits into our strategic offering. We want our employees to be engaged, feel part of the company and most importantly to lead on our employment value proposition. So, feed into their development, their recognition and their wellbeing. Our recent engagement survey results showed 86% of our staff are proud to work for Gattaca and 90% of our staff understand how their work contributes to our goals and objectives. We’re happy with that.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The ship is sinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Gattaca full-time

    Pros

    None. The only good manager left

    Cons

    Poor Management. Poor Salary. Poor training. No one listens. All the international markets with Networkers brand are going down...

    Continue reading
    Gattaca2018-10-04

    Gattaca Response

    October 31, 2018Group HR Director

    We value constructive comments and suggestions on Glassdoor and will always look to make improvements on helpful recommendations. The only advice that I can give you is that you need to consider whether you want to remain at Gattaca. We disagree with your review and there are many people at Gattaca who feel the complete opposite and could indeed interpret your comments as “toxic”. There would be no hard feelings if you decide to leave, but if you do want to stay with the company then it’s important to us that you are onboard and engaged with the direction of the Group.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Post CEO exit more management board members should have fallen on their swords"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gattaca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some good people in both the commercial and shared services. Benefits package was good, salaries are mid level to the market.

    Cons

    A company that has gone through an immense amount of negative change due to some poorly thought out business decisions. Acquired Networkers International, without the necessary skillset in house to integrate them properly. Cultural, and systems wise a disaster. Expanded the Germany office January 2018 with new hires, only to shut it down a few weeks later. There is arrogance and naivety running through much of the senior management in the group. The shared service function is in disarray trying to keep up with systems implementations across the group due to underinvestment and no real historical IT strategy, most of the systems are patched with Excel spreadsheets. The ship is currently rudderless without a CEO, but as I said the current management board requires a shake up before this organisation can move forward. You only have to look at the companies RNS announcements and share price to verify this, most recently announcing the closure of many of the international offices acquired with Networkers International. Advice: UK Engineering recruitment still worth working for, steer well clear of group support (HR, IT, Finance) and remaining international locations.

    Continue reading
    Gattaca2018-09-21

    Gattaca Response

    September 27, 2018Group Director

    Many thanks for your feedback, your comments and advice are appreciated. The last few years have seen a large amount of change within the group, naturally some positive and some negative. Your comments are fair and it's true to say that the acquisition and subsequent integration has been a challenging one and has over stretched the business. That said, it has had some excellent results, such as the growth in the Americas, China and also within IT in the UK. It is also true that over the past 18 months we’ve had to make structural changes that have impacted people as we bring these two companies together. Despite the Group investing a lot of cash and resource in to virtually every area of the business, not all of those investments have had positive results. As such we’ve needed to make some tough, but necessary decisions. As per the recent RNS’s, we’ve reviewed the entire group footprint and service offering, meaning we are not stretched as far and enabling us to give greater focus on fewer areas, which in turn will provide greater opportunities. We’ve also put in place a new CFO in the past 18 months and have a new CEO joining us next week, both highly capable and proven leaders, so the shape of the Management Board continues to evolve. It’s great that you recognise the UK Engineering area is in a good place and we are all focused to make sure that is the case and recognised across all our areas within the Group. Thank you again for sharing your views

    Continue reading
  10. "On the right track!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Whiteley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gattaca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall a really inclusive culture within a business that offers great financial and benefit rewards for good performance. The international growth with Networkers adds a great opportunity for the business and potentially positions us well for the future. Senior Management really listen to input (perhaps too much!) but overall it really is a good place to work.

    Cons

    The opportunity is huge for this company, but the execution needs to improve sometimes. A lot of us have been here a long time and we do things in a certain way. But the market is changing at pace and we need to keep our core values and culture but bring in new ways of doing things that get us ahead of the curve.

    Continue reading
    Gattaca2016-12-20

    Gattaca Response

    December 21, 2016CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to review Gattaca! I'm pleased to read your 'Pros' and intrigued by your inference that we listen more than we should to our colleagues - I'd love to know more! I totally agree that execution can improve. We are rapidly improving our Digital capability and our new websites are now starting to deliver competitive advantage, with more to come as the 'personalisation' functionality kicks in. The new Intranet released in January will be a big step forward in connecting the whole Group globally and of course the new CRM rollout - albeit this is a lengthy process - will give us a leading edge front office system. Elsewhere, I'm delighted with the progress we're making in our Business Development and Solutions business areas - these are great examples of the approach you advocate, with experienced Gattaca people being joined by some hires who bring a wealth of knowledge and experience which is new to the Group. Of course you're right that Matchtech and Networkers have not settled on a common culture as yet. But we're closer than we have ever been and when I see both sets of management together now I get a greater sense of 'Team' than at any point since the acquisition last year. I often reference Robert Walters as a business I aspire to match and beat in terms of brand awareness and value so I guess I have to put my hand up to that. But of course I agree that ours is a very different business and I'm glad of it! Rest assured that I am firmly focused on beating Engineering and Technology competitors in the market place! Thanks again for your constructive comments.

    Continue reading
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Stacks of potential, one of the best atmosphere's i've worked in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gattaca full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly environment, not your typical cut-throat sales culture. Gattaca's style is much more nurturing. Works hard to engage its employees, doesn't always get it right the first time, but you can see the effort is there.

    Cons

    The Networkers acquisition has been challenging and you can see how the Group have had to dilute resource to manage across both businesses. This is getting better as the management team have worked out how to structure the business. There is still a long way to go in getting a good CRM system in place. Not ideal at the moment.

    Continue reading
    Gattaca2016-07-20

    Gattaca Response

    July 25, 2016CEO

    Thanks so much for your positive comments and indeed your understanding relating to the integration of the Networkers acquisition. This process is now almost complete and I'm very pleased with the result. Thanks also for your advice - you are absolutely right. We realized we'd made some unnecessary changes in the name of integration and we are learning from this - expect to hear more at our End of Quarter all staff meetings later this week!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 13 reviews