Gawker Media Reviews | Glassdoor

Gawker Media Reviews

Updated Jan 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Brice Dunwoodie
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Gawker Media full-time

      Pros

      Great people, good benefits, solid perks for all editorial staff as a result of our union. Sites are run autonomously, which is fantastic if you want to build a career as a reporter.

      Cons

      Still some fallout and uncertainty from the buyout. Lawsuits are scary. The media industry is always unstable, so who knows what the company will look like in a year or two?

      Advice to Management

      Keep communicating, keep staying positive, try to settle as many lawsuits as possible. Spend more time looking towards the future and less time chasing trends that our competitors are better at.

      Gawker Media2016-12-18
    • "Not bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Gawker Media full-time

      Pros

      Strong management and aggressive news values

      Cons

      Confused direction at times and an unwillingness to spend

      Gawker Media2018-01-24
    • Helpful (3)

      "An exhilarating directionless experience."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gawker Media full-time

      Pros

      The writers here are incredibly talented and it's a pleasure working with them. It's Gawker/Gizmodo so everyone in the city has heard of you. You can potentially write for the sites if you wish.

      Cons

      The work environment is incredibly toxic toward video and moderately toxic toward everything else. There is no interest in changing the status quo. Every site except for Jalopnik has no video strategy or interest in even pursuing it. The corporate overlords from Fusion Media Group are as uncreative and statistically focused as can be. They are tone deaf to the audience Gawker Media serves and unfortunately they are taking...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hiring has always been GMGs worst skill. Managers and underlings who just don't know what to expect or are hired under context of one thing and told to do another. The biggest problem with GMG is that they hired BOSS's and not leaders and have very short room for growth for anyone who wants to do more.

      Gawker Media2017-01-27
    • Helpful (3)

      "Toxic, demoralizing experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gawker Media full-time

      Pros

      Writers and general staff are talented, smart, fun, and a blast to work with. Casual culture, brand recognition, and general respect for the work that is produced under the GMG name. But wait, there's more!

      Cons

      No true leaders, no compassion, and no work/life balance to speak of. At best, day-to-day dealings were passive aggressive and depressing. At worst, incredibly toxic. Management does not handle conflict well, does not lead by example, or unblock as challenges arise that require guidance. Bullying and indifference are commonplace. Teams are understaffed and therefore, burnout is inevitable. I was hired for one position,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Compassion is key. Lead by example. Treat your staff with respect and take good care of them, as they are the only reason your company still has brand loyalty.

      Gawker Media2017-01-27
    • Helpful (2)

      "Most toxic work environment i've ever been in"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gawker Media full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - lucky for me, my team was super amazing & filled with amazingly talented and smart people - compensation was good - trips to Budapest

      Cons

      wow, where to start? this was hands down one of the most toxic work environments I've ever worked in. Management was a bunch of bullies who had little to no experience in what they were managing. Teams often felt victimized for things they weren't even responsible for. You were bullied if you dared to make a mistake in your work -- this, by managers who themselves were utterly incompetent. The overall feeling...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I don't' even know where to start....

      Gawker Media2016-12-27
    • Helpful (3)

      "Used the Best Place to Work, Ever"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Gawker Media

      Pros

      Amazing people, product, super efficient team, lots of resources, cool executions, very flat communication, opportunities for growth or career changes. Wonderful culture, will make lifelong friends.

      Cons

      Certain content was volatile, leading to litigation and eventual bankruptcy. Does not make the job easier by any means, but I don't regret joining the company. Now Gawker is no more, the company is in new hands, and it's basically a new company - sucks to suddenly be a part of a new corporation that you did not choose to be a part of (and it's not your fault, or anyone you work with's fault, that you got there).

      Advice to Management

      Review and reward your remaining employees ASAP. They stuck with you through the *absolute worst* and deserve much more than your thanks. You owe them everything - especially the business side.

      Gawker Media2016-09-16
    • Helpful (2)

      "Sick culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Editor in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gawker Media full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Talented editorial staff, great benefits. Intelligent, fast-moving and genuinely passionate about the work -- an inspiring focus and dedication.

      Cons

      Nastiness, backstabbing, gossip, cliqueishness -- all the earmarks of Manhattan New Media in one place. Owner's ADD and obsession with youth means yearly turnover, which only contributes to the paranoia and mixed-messaging top-down. Echo chamber culture means anything is justified and anyone who disagrees is stigmatized by the group, which leads to a controlled, cultlike atmosphere.

      Advice to Management

      Protect your people. Be better about clarifying the difference between financially inspired decisions and decisions made because your authors are being childish. Stop pretending there is a difference between editorial decisions made for money and editorial decisions made for traffic. There is no difference, and pretending there is only indulges the staff's sense of exceptionalism and erases any chance for them to grow.

      Gawker Media2016-05-25
    • Helpful (2)

      "immature company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Gawker Media full-time

      Pros

      - well known brand - competitive compensation - great working environment - huge business potential

      Cons

      - highly political - CEO micromanages everything - CEO does not set direction - lack of business/product vision - a ton of wasted business and product opportunities (every week is a pivot based on what the CEO heard at dinner the day before) - very unprofessional attitude towards employees (see first point) - often chaotic thanks to the inapt management

      Advice to Management

      - start trusting people - let micromanagement go - rebuild culture - set real expectations

      Gawker Media2016-05-16
    • Helpful (7)

      "Great work, not-so-great environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Gawker Media

        Pros

        The editorial work itself at Gawker is great -- there's a lot of openness to dissent, and (at least when I was there) the editorial directive ran somewhere along the lines of "cover that's interesting".

        Cons

        The environment can be dysfunctional, as evidenced by the company's recent public problems. Being part of an "in-group" seems important for advancement, and you may need to fight with your editor to get assigned pieces actually edited.

        Gawker Media2015-11-24
      • "Great if you're self-motivated"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY

          I have been working at Gawker Media for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Lots of freedom, casual work environment, fast-paced

          Cons

          Easy to get lost in the shuffle, you need to be aggressive to succeed

          Advice to Management

          Stop spending money on things we don't need

          Gawker Media2015-11-24
        Found 23 reviews