Gaylord Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor

Gaylord Entertainment Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Gaylord Entertainment CEO Colin V. Reed
Colin V. Reed
25 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gaylord Entertainment

    Pros

    company benefits are great. Very employee focused

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Gaylord Entertainment2016-10-09
  2. "Lots of options, some better than others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gaylord Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    It's a good place to work if you can get full-time, non-seasonal work. Good benefits and lots of good people.

    Cons

    Some jobs within the company are way better than others. It all depends on what you really want to do. Advancement can be difficult.

    Gaylord Entertainment2017-11-01
  3. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gaylord Entertainment full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Leadership cared about employees.

    Cons

    Would have liked more work at home opportunities.

    Gaylord Entertainment2017-08-18
  4. "Marriott took over thank goodness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gaylord Entertainment

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. The are friendly people there, you just have to find them.

    Cons

    Long hours, no work life balance, can be clickish.

    Advice to Management

    Promote within, it seems like management doesn't promote within and when they do it is not a minority.

    Gaylord Entertainment2016-02-17
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IRD Supervisor in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gaylord Entertainment full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Enjoyed working for them, while I had an ornery supervisor at the time, Management and staff as a whole were wonderful.

    Cons

    None to really speak of, they treated employees well, and the vast majority of the staff was very happy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, this is one of the few places in my career I genuinely enjoyed.

    Gaylord Entertainment2016-02-02
  6. "sou chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sous Chef in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Gaylord Entertainment full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    lots of networking to have done

    Cons

    to much upper management managing each department

    Gaylord Entertainment2016-02-10
  7. "Great place to work, fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grapevine, TX
      Recommends

      I worked at Gaylord Entertainment full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Beautiful facility, excellent training program, fun perks

      Cons

      Long walk from employee parking

      Gaylord Entertainment2015-09-11
    • "Bartender"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Law Student in Lubbock, TX

        I worked at Gaylord Entertainment full-time

        Pros

        Great interaction with guests and lots of networking opportunities. It was a fun environment and I enjoyed working with my coworkers.

        Cons

        As with all convention jobs, there are serious ebbs and flows. It will go from completely dead to absolutely packed, which was difficult. It is hard to gauge when we would get a pop so they kept extra people on a lot. It was hard to make money at times during the slow season. The attempts to make it more family friendly also made my job much more difficult, time consuming, and the tips were considerably less.

        Advice to Management

        promote from within, and trust your managers. I felt micro-managed at times. It took a long time (1 year, plus) to earn respect, but once I did, it was a much easier environment.

        Gaylord Entertainment2015-09-05
      • "Cocoa Bean Supervisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Gaylord Entertainment full-time

        Pros

        Great place to work, with lots of area for advancement in the company. Everyone there is very friendly. The employee cafeteria is a nice plus for this company.

        Cons

        The pay per hour is not very good for the amount of work expected.

        Gaylord Entertainment2015-07-26
      • "Great Fun"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Intern in Nashville, TN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Gaylord Entertainment

        Pros

        Fun, energetic people and work

        Cons

        A little unpredictable, not great benefits

        Gaylord Entertainment2015-07-07
      Found 49 reviews