KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Gazillion Entertainment

Is this your company?

Gazillion Entertainment

Add a Review

Gazillion Entertainment Reviews

Updated May 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 of over 44 reviews

3.0
54%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Gazillion Entertainment Chief Executive Officer Dave Dohrmann (no image)
Dave Dohrmann
9 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    May 27, 2021 - 3D Artist in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool directors and supervisors that I've every worked with.

    Cons

    none that I know of or experienced

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Coulda been a winner!

    Jun 1, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great original vision! Exciting products.

    Cons

    Weak on execution. Spent too much money.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Bad taste in the mouth

    Apr 29, 2019 - Senior Producer in Foster City, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some great people. Marvel IP was fun and deep. Many players loved the game.

    Cons

    CEO wasn't straight with us. Company lost the Marvel license, then spent all of the money. We all got laid off the day before Thanksgiving after a few weeks on furlough. No severance and no back or vacation pay! Happy holidays.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Rest In Peace and All That

    Sep 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the best coworkers I've had the privilege to create with.

    Cons

    Job insecurity was always a fear.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Great while it lasted

    Feb 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, lots of focus on doing good work

    Cons

    It didn't last long. I was only around less than a year before the company ended

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Badly Mismanaged

    Jan 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The game was fun and had potential.

    Cons

    Too many to concisely list, sunk by those at the top.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Out of Business

    Dec 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone was great excepting very senior management.

    Cons

    Doesn't exist anymore, company closed in Nov 2017.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Prod Manager

    Aug 19, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Foster City, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, lots of fun, Good product is updated regularily.

    Cons

    Crazy atmosphere, meetings never start on time, lots of change always.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    The worst of the worst.

    Aug 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have snacks and bring in lunch a few times a week. Some of the employees are incredibly professional and pleasant to be around, let's say 80%. I'd even say a few of them are genuinely talented. These are truly the only two good things I could consider "Pros".

    Cons

    There's one review that likens the negative experiences working at this company to ordering food and not getting ketchup on the side or something nonsensical like that. This person, like many others at this company, are the sole reason it's terrible. It's become a cult of "well, sure they ask us to work 60+ hours a week, but we get to go to movies and put toys on our desks!" That doesn't at all make up for the toxic upper management, the lack of professional demeanor in colleagues, and eschewing of formal methodologies. This is your job and the place you have to spend most of your week at. It should be as welcoming and pleasant as possible so you can be productive and effective at your choice of profession. Before I arrived at Gazillion I led a massive, multi-team project at a multi-billion dollar company without a single issue or hiccup; nothing except humility, praise, and success. I also worked as a lead on a game for a top 20 Fortune 500 company that had a budget that was at least 25 times the amount this company has spent in its lifetime. When I got to Gazillion I was treated like a junior, yelled and cursed at in meetings, told exactly how to perform my job, and generally distrusted with every decision I made. In some cases, upper management would wait until I left the building and would have engineers implement something without me knowing until the next day. I politely brought this up to the person in charge who responded extremely aggressively, never looked me in the eye once, started rambling nonsense, and walked out of the room and down the hall still talking to avoid directly addressing me. I just sat there in disbelief. What else was there to do? I once sat in a discovery meeting where a manager yelled for two straight hours to the point it turned into a temper tantrum the likes of which I've never seen from a grown man. I was essentially mortified for this person. There was an engineer who would test the game and then make user stories for things that this person thought should be changed and insert it into our Kanban. They didn't bother to ask our PM or ask if the changes fit into the roadmap. They just did it because they simply didn't have any formal training with real software methodologies. These are just a few examples of the good times in store for you at Gazillion! I generally was trying to help instill a more professional and modern method of working and was basically made to feel as bad as humanly possible for it. In short, upper management are turgid, bullying, know-it-alls who refuse to listen to anything they find to be a differing opinion. It was a nightmare and easily the worst place I've ever worked without a close second. You've been warned.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Sr. DBA

    Jun 21, 2017 - Senior Database Administrator in Foster City, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    dynamic environment, great for young people with interest in gaming industry, free ordered lunched (Tue and Thu)

    Cons

    Need to be available all the time when the dev team working

    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews

Gazillion Entertainment Reviews FAQs

54% of Gazillion Entertainment employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Gazillion Entertainment 3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.1 for culture and values and 2.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Gazillion Entertainment to be workplace, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be career development, senior leadership, management.

Work at Gazillion Entertainment? Share Your Experiences

or