Gazillion Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor

Gazillion Entertainment Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Dave Dohrmann
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Work doesn't feel like work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Development in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gazillion Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Super passionate employees, strong executive leadership, fun work environment, catered lunches and employee activities/outings. The people at Gazillion really care about each other- this is truly the first company I have worked for that feels like one big family. There is a lot of opportunity to grow and learn here. Everyone works as a team, and new ideas are not only welcomed, but encouraged.

    Cons

    Foster City is a bit of a commute from the city. Aside from that, I really don't have any complaints.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! It's really exciting being part of this new direction that the company is taking. The town halls have been really helpful with keeping everyone on the same page.

    Gazillion Entertainment2016-11-07
  2. "Bad taste in the mouth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Producer in Foster City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gazillion Entertainment full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Some great people. Marvel IP was fun and deep. Many players loved the game.

    Cons

    CEO wasn't straight with us. Company lost the Marvel license, then spent all of the money. We all got laid off the day before Thanksgiving after a few weeks on furlough. No severance and no back or vacation pay! Happy holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Stay out of management!!

    Gazillion Entertainment2019-04-29
  3. "Rest In Peace and All That"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Gazillion Entertainment full-time

      Pros

      Some of the best coworkers I've had the privilege to create with.

      Cons

      Job insecurity was always a fear.

      Gazillion Entertainment2018-09-21
    • "Great while it lasted"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Gazillion Entertainment full-time

        Pros

        Great people, lots of focus on doing good work

        Cons

        It didn't last long. I was only around less than a year before the company ended

        Gazillion Entertainment2018-02-13
      • Helpful (1)

        "Badly Mismanaged"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Gazillion Entertainment full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        The game was fun and had potential.

        Cons

        Too many to concisely list, sunk by those at the top.

        Advice to Management

        Its been said before, there was just too much wrong with our CEO, who brought the wrong kind of attention to our company and led to its demise.

        Gazillion Entertainment2018-01-16
      • "Out of Business"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Gazillion Entertainment full-time

        Pros

        Everyone was great excepting very senior management.

        Cons

        Doesn't exist anymore, company closed in Nov 2017.

        Gazillion Entertainment2017-12-04
      • Helpful (4)

        "Prod Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Foster City, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Gazillion Entertainment full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great people, lots of fun, Good product is updated regularily.

        Cons

        Crazy atmosphere, meetings never start on time, lots of change always.

        Advice to Management

        Set more regular hours , people arrive and leave different times, difficult to get work done , have regular schedule for meetings.

        Gazillion Entertainment2017-08-19
      • Helpful (13)

        "The worst of the worst."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Gazillion Entertainment full-time

        Pros

        They have snacks and bring in lunch a few times a week. Some of the employees are incredibly professional and pleasant to be around, let's say 80%. I'd even say a few of them are genuinely talented. These are truly the only two good things I could consider "Pros".

        Cons

        There's one review that likens the negative experiences working at this company to ordering food and not getting ketchup on the side or something nonsensical like that. This person, like many others at this company, are the sole reason it's terrible. It's become a cult of "well, sure they ask us to work 60+ hours a week, but we get to go to movies and put toys on our desks!" That doesn't at all make up for the toxic...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Sweeping terminations should be completed at the upper management level; no one at that level should be left. Worst case; make managers with anger issues go to counselling or give them walking papers. No one should feel nervous or hesitant to enter an office they have to work in as much as you expect them to with that on their shoulders. Advice to the current CEO; learn who your employees are, not just the ones you...

        Show More
        Gazillion Entertainment2017-08-12
      • Helpful (3)

        "Sr. DBA"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Database Administrator in Foster City, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Gazillion Entertainment full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        dynamic environment, great for young people with interest in gaming industry, free ordered lunched (Tue and Thu)

        Cons

        Need to be available all the time when the dev team working

        Gazillion Entertainment2017-06-21
      • Helpful (9)

        "terrible work hours"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Environment Artist in Foster City, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Gazillion Entertainment full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        a good place for non-honors degree holder to start out at. Being a small company, gazillion would hire most people with a pass degree

        Cons

        Extremely unfair and long work hours for artist. Artist work for about 10-15 hours/day while engineers work for about 5-10 hours/day, very different from other companies in the same industry. Poor management consist of people who are fired from bigger companies like activision,riot,EA,ubisoft

        Advice to Management

        Please review your decisions and not make the same mistake that caused you to be fired in the first place

        Gazillion Entertainment2017-04-30
      Found 35 reviews