Geek Squad CIA Reviews | Glassdoor

Geek Squad CIA Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Geek Squad CEO Hubert Joly
Hubert Joly
25 Ratings
  1. "Geek Squad CIA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Riverhead, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, room to grow, good resume builder, fun (if you have a good team), and usually stress free. Good networking position.

    Cons

    Typical retail issues, high management turnover. I worked for Geek Squad/BBY during a time they were restructuring the store management and supervisor system.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with respect and show them you value their knowledge. Be sure to have department fully equipped with tools.

    Geek Squad2018-04-13
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Really good position for an entry-level it job

    Cons

    The work is simplified so no technical skills is necessary unfortunately

    Advice to Management

    Compensate those of us who have IT background adequately

    Geek Squad2019-04-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Grand Island, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great experience -Opens a lot of doors in tech -Fun place to work

    Cons

    -Lots of slow times -Lots of restrictions on scope of work -Too much expected for sales

    Advice to Management

    Separate your teams. Keep the consultants in their own department and the actual computer techs in theirs. Mixing just brings too much expectation on underpaid employees.

    Geek Squad2018-06-13
  4. "Great teams make the work environment fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Cia in Orland Park, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    You can have fun while you help clients and the job gives you fulfillment when those clients are satisfied with your hard work.

    Cons

    Some people just hate the world and they go out of their way to make everyone hate life so not every client experience will be a good one. You must be prepared to handle everyone that needs help.

    Advice to Management

    Having strong leadership is important to encourage and empower the young agents. Those teams who lack a strong Geek Squad leader struggle as a team and as a store.

    Geek Squad2018-01-02
  5. "Just Another Day in the Precinct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Gulfport, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Personalized input Incentive to sell Recognition and reward Ability to advance Time and a half on 4 holidays throughout the year if worked, otherwise regular PTO (Thanksgiving, 4th of July, and a couple others, maybe NYE and something else if I remember right)

    Cons

    Micro-management Office politics Retail culture Insane hours on Black Friday

    Advice to Management

    Look at the up and comers and give them credit even though they are young, or maybe especially so.

    Geek Squad2017-09-26
  6. "Lots of upselling and little computer maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Victoria, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere and I think the uniform is really cool.

    Cons

    Unfortunately there is a lot of upselling expected from the geek squad members. There is a emphasis on selling the Best Buy recommended Anti-virus and anti-spyware programs. Even if they are sort of bloatware, I never felt right telling the customer that was what they needed.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on computers instead of dollars

    Geek Squad2017-06-28
  7. "Ok place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Waynesville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Decent pay. Opportunity for lots of learning.

    Cons

    Random scheduling. Customers can be rude.

    Geek Squad2017-03-02
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Was a good entry level PC repair job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad CIA in San Angelo, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Got to do what everyone in the computers section applies at Best Buy to do. Work on computers. Management was great. Trusted employees to do their job right, with little micromanagement. Managers of Best Buy were the ones that pushed sales so hard.

    Cons

    Sales were pushed heavily-services specifically. We were fairly limited in what we could repair on site. Limited amount of full time hours. Was easy to go to full time at Best Buy, hard to at geek squad with the hours so limited. Hard to move up while in a store.

    Geek Squad2016-08-27
  9. "Great place to work, with awesome benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad CIA in Prattville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management. They work with your schedule and the company offers amazing benefits.

    Cons

    There are not enough hours to go around until holiday and tax season.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Geek Squad2016-08-19
  10. "Counter Intelligence Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CIA in Shepherdsville, KY

    I have been working at Geek Squad for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy money, fun to work

    Cons

    Slackers make it terrible for everyone else

    Geek Squad2016-08-07
Found 77 reviews