Geek Squad Geek Squad CIA Agent Reviews | Glassdoor

Geek Squad Geek Squad, Agent (CIA) Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
Geek Squad CEO Hubert Joly
Hubert Joly
6 Ratings
  1. "Geek Squad CIA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Riverhead, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, room to grow, good resume builder, fun (if you have a good team), and usually stress free. Good networking position.

    Cons

    Typical retail issues, high management turnover. I worked for Geek Squad/BBY during a time they were restructuring the store management and supervisor system.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with respect and show them you value their knowledge. Be sure to have department fully equipped with tools.

    Geek Squad2018-04-13
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Really good position for an entry-level it job

    Cons

    The work is simplified so no technical skills is necessary unfortunately

    Advice to Management

    Compensate those of us who have IT background adequately

    Geek Squad2019-04-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Grand Island, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great experience -Opens a lot of doors in tech -Fun place to work

    Cons

    -Lots of slow times -Lots of restrictions on scope of work -Too much expected for sales

    Advice to Management

    Separate your teams. Keep the consultants in their own department and the actual computer techs in theirs. Mixing just brings too much expectation on underpaid employees.

    Geek Squad2018-06-13
  4. "Just Another Day in the Precinct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Gulfport, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Personalized input Incentive to sell Recognition and reward Ability to advance Time and a half on 4 holidays throughout the year if worked, otherwise regular PTO (Thanksgiving, 4th of July, and a couple others, maybe NYE and something else if I remember right)

    Cons

    Micro-management Office politics Retail culture Insane hours on Black Friday

    Advice to Management

    Look at the up and comers and give them credit even though they are young, or maybe especially so.

    Geek Squad2017-09-26
  5. "Lots of upselling and little computer maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Victoria, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere and I think the uniform is really cool.

    Cons

    Unfortunately there is a lot of upselling expected from the geek squad members. There is a emphasis on selling the Best Buy recommended Anti-virus and anti-spyware programs. Even if they are sort of bloatware, I never felt right telling the customer that was what they needed.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on computers instead of dollars

    Geek Squad2017-06-28
  6. "Ok place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Waynesville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Decent pay. Opportunity for lots of learning.

    Cons

    Random scheduling. Customers can be rude.

    Geek Squad2017-03-02
  7. "Loved the job part, but not management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad City, CIA Agent in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Was a fun environment lots of fun. people you work with are incredibly smart and courteous and your coworkers usually will care

    Cons

    Managers don't care about you, demands are outrageous on most days and you better not have a family, also there's no job advancement available to you, unless you are a favorite

    Advice to Management

    Learn to listen to your employees, he is horrible and policy's are vague and are misinterpreted by every manager

    Geek Squad2016-06-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Geek Squad Employee CIA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Georgetown, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Gain better knowledge of PC repair and improve time-management skill. Improve troubleshooting skills that can apply to everyday PC use.

    Cons

    Constant Policy changes can prove to be tiresome to our clients especially when "grandfathering" is involved. In addition, not allowing in-store agents to do more in-store hardware repair.

    Advice to Management

    Do not have any advice at this time.

    Geek Squad2016-02-22
  9. "Good Benefits and People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Brooks, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits competitive starting pay (12.50 for agents in the repair center) Many oppurtunities for advancement and career changes A fun and diverse pool of coworkers

    Cons

    Management tends to make decisions without consulting the agents who could give them insight Micromanagment Expect a ton of changes, without warning or reason, and very little time to adjust. HR employees are not very people friendly

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees as equals. We are all there to improve the company and make money for the business. We all want to see happy clients. Bottom line is, we know you make more money than us and have more to oversee, but don't treat us like we don't care about or know how to do our jobs. Trust your employees to do what they get paid to do.

    Geek Squad2015-08-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good but the environment is more strict by the day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad, CIA Agent in Brooks, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good chance to work with tech minded people and learn

    Cons

    The culture is becoming more corporate and less fun. It's advertised as a really fun place, and it was but day by day it's getting less fun.

    Geek Squad2015-07-29
Found 21 reviews