Geek Squad Reviews | Glassdoor

Geek Squad Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1344 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Geek Squad CEO Hubert Joly
Hubert Joly
654 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not enough hours even for full time(in 38 reviews)

  • "Customers can be a bit demanding but that is no surprise as this job is very customer service based so be prepared(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great way to Start your IT career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    working with great coworkers who share your passion in working and making technology easier for the end user to understand and solve what could be complicated issues

    Cons

    no negatives working for geek squad

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the Great work

    Geek Squad2019-05-30
  2. "Great place to work, Lots of good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Cedar Park, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great PTO, Good work life balance, Great management

    Cons

    Recently added work load with Apple and no pay bump

    Advice to Management

    Geek squad needed more training before adding apple certified repairs. The company should have offer a pay increase after having us complete the certifications and adding a ton of extra work.

    Geek Squad2019-06-22
  3. "Good place to work if you give it your all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Double Agent in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Upward mobility , Good managment , decent benefits , pay is pretty competitive.

    Cons

    work all the holidays, often have to put out fires you don't start

    Advice to Management

    None Management's good. Those up the corporate chain though could benefit from adding some way for the people closer to the bottom to communicate to them. Outside of a yearly survey.I may be somewhere that they could put feedback for stuff that's pressing like current changes.

    Geek Squad2019-06-22
  4. "Great environment, low hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a really fun environment especially on the busy days

    Cons

    Not too many hours being handed out during the slow seasons

    Advice to Management

    Don’t hire so many people

    Geek Squad2019-06-20
  5. "Do it for the culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Home Theater Cadet in Montgomery, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Set work days, paid holidays, 401k, benefits

    Cons

    Working later than planned, client attitudes

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what Geek Squad was built upon and remembering that we provide a service where others do not and in a way like no other!

    Geek Squad2019-06-13
  6. "Working at the Geek Squad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great people and learned a lot

      Cons

      The pay wasnt great and clients can be fustration

      Geek Squad2019-06-13
    • "A very good place to start if you're with the right people."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Advanced Repair Agent in Miami, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Geek Squad part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Good salary for a starting job -Very fun enviroment -Relatibily easy job if you know what your doing -Flexible schedule

      Cons

      -Can be frustrating if you don't know how to work on pressure -Low amount of hours -Carrying lot of TVs could hurt your back

      Advice to Management

      Implement another system which gives atleast a good amount of hours for part timers. Make Geek Squad only check open boxes like Laptops and TVs.

      Geek Squad2019-06-10
    • "Good place with some caveats"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Geek Squad full-time

        Pros

        The work is fairly easy and with the addition of apple repairs, you will be learning new things. Scheduling is flexible-ish. Employee discount.

        Cons

        Low pay for the work performed, managers are high turnover.

        Geek Squad2019-06-07
      • "Great Place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Help Desk Technician in Greensboro, NC
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Geek Squad full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        great learning experience with all forms of technology

        Cons

        Some issues with irate customers

        Geek Squad2019-06-06
      • "Was a good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Geek Squad part-time

        Pros

        Wonderful Team, Amazing Management, Meet new people every day. Simple Expectations

        Cons

        New Management, New Staff and Leadership, New HR.

        Advice to Management

        Don't waste peoples time. I was well qualified for the position yet for some reason unknown to me. You decided to hire someone else. I am pretty sure I know why and you do too. Hire someone because of their skills.. Not because of their looks or gender.

        Geek Squad2019-06-05
      Found 1344 reviews