Geek Squad Reviews | Glassdoor

Geek Squad Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1318 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Geek Squad CEO Hubert Joly
Hubert Joly
641 Ratings
  1. "Good place to start for IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Learning how to troubleshoot different types of technology, learning how to communicate with clients, and learning how to work as a team.

    Cons

    Some times a lot of devices are checked in, can get stressful.

    Geek Squad2019-05-16
  2. "Loved Geek Squad, Disliked BBY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Lewisville, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Benefits (Employee Discount, Medical, Vision, 401K, etc.) - Culture was positive

    Cons

    - Working on major Holidays (Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, New Years, etc.) - Best Buy ultimately decides everything for Geek Squad - Geek Squad saved Best Buy, but it feels like our culture is being dissolved.

    Advice to Management

    Geek Squad itself it is fine. I believe Best Buy management needs better training and understanding on the standards that Geek Squad obtains, and wants to keep. Many times while working there I would have the Assistant or General Manager walk back there and act like he knew what needs to be done and cause a chaotic mess to occur, stressing everyone out. Educate yourself before acting on it, with limit knowledge. Thanks!

    Geek Squad2019-05-09
  3. "Geek Squad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Downey, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Awesome place to work at to get started

    Cons

    Nothing really was bad there

    Advice to Management

    None

    Geek Squad2019-04-26
  4. "Great place to learn skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ARA 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    You can learn a great deal about computer repair and other devices

    Cons

    It's really hard to get a consistent schedule

    Geek Squad2019-04-22
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Theater Installer in Temple, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, hours, people, environment.

    Cons

    Push sales onto team members as "requirement" for good stats.

    Advice to Management

    Stop pushing sales onto installers. It's the in store team members responsibility to make sure the client has all their bases covered.

    Geek Squad2019-04-16
  6. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Home Theater Professional in Rockford, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Team members are always willing to assist when needed Competitive Pay Great Benefits Management is always there to support you Lots of opportunity to learn and develop growth

    Cons

    Work only when jobs are scheduled Expected to lift and install TVs of up to 55" by yourself (very awkward to carry) Management is not on-site

    Advice to Management

    Static cadets for every agent is a must. Floating cadets do not suffice.

    Geek Squad2019-04-07
  7. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geek Squad Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    employee discount, benefits and 401k match

    Cons

    the retail work life schedule

    Geek Squad2019-03-27
  8. "Best boss ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - flexible scheduling - friendly work environment

    Cons

    - labor can sometimes be low

    Geek Squad2019-03-06
  9. "I love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Geek Squad Autotech Lead 

      I have been working at Geek Squad full-time

      Pros

      The culture, co workers and being around anything car audio related!

      Cons

      Everyone wants more money . . . It will come

      Advice to Management

      ^$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

      Geek Squad2019-03-02
    • "Truly Epic"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Omaha, NE
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Geek Squad part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great people to work with! The people I've worked with have an energy that is missing from most corporate environments.

      Cons

      No cons at the moment.

      Geek Squad2019-02-25
    Found 1318 reviews