Geek Squad Reviews | Glassdoor

Geek Squad Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1340 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Geek Squad CEO Hubert Joly
Hubert Joly
652 Ratings
  1. "Fun can learn a lot but no growth in company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You will learn a lot about technology, benefits are really good, build your cliental, they will get you Apple certified. Discount is amazing

    Cons

    Advancement in the company is rare, the pay doesn’t equal the amount of Apple work that needs to be done. Mainly only Advance repair agents can only work on computers

    Advice to Management

    Rare it’s basically politics...in my opinion geek squad should be ran by someone with a geek squad background not someone who never worked in geek squad a day in their life...my biggest issue with the company is the advancement process...it’s already only a few geek squad management positions so let geek squad agents move up instead of some random employee on the sales floor who randomly applies and gets a geek squad...

    Show More
    Geek Squad2019-06-18
  2. "Do it for the culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Home Theater Cadet in Montgomery, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Set work days, paid holidays, 401k, benefits

    Cons

    Working later than planned, client attitudes

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what Geek Squad was built upon and remembering that we provide a service where others do not and in a way like no other!

    Geek Squad2019-06-13
  3. "Working at the Geek Squad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great people and learned a lot

      Cons

      The pay wasnt great and clients can be fustration

      Geek Squad2019-06-13
    • "Not as tech focused as you would think"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The interview itself was pretty easy however I was familiar with the other agents since I already worked in the store. Not really tech focused as you would think, more so customer service based

      Cons

      None really but again I already had a position on the store and was somewhat familiar with the GSM. This will make make the interview seem a lot less stressful than if I hadn't

      Geek Squad2019-06-10
    • "A very good place to start if you're with the right people."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Advanced Repair Agent in Miami, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Geek Squad part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Good salary for a starting job -Very fun enviroment -Relatibily easy job if you know what your doing -Flexible schedule

      Cons

      -Can be frustrating if you don't know how to work on pressure -Low amount of hours -Carrying lot of TVs could hurt your back

      Advice to Management

      Implement another system which gives atleast a good amount of hours for part timers. Make Geek Squad only check open boxes like Laptops and TVs.

      Geek Squad2019-06-10
    • "Good place with some caveats"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Geek Squad full-time

        Pros

        The work is fairly easy and with the addition of apple repairs, you will be learning new things. Scheduling is flexible-ish. Employee discount.

        Cons

        Low pay for the work performed, managers are high turnover.

        Geek Squad2019-06-07
      • "Great Place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Help Desk Technician in Greensboro, NC
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Geek Squad full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        great learning experience with all forms of technology

        Cons

        Some issues with irate customers

        Geek Squad2019-06-06
      • "Was a good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Geek Squad part-time

        Pros

        Wonderful Team, Amazing Management, Meet new people every day. Simple Expectations

        Cons

        New Management, New Staff and Leadership, New HR.

        Advice to Management

        Don't waste peoples time. I was well qualified for the position yet for some reason unknown to me. You decided to hire someone else. I am pretty sure I know why and you do too. Hire someone because of their skills.. Not because of their looks or gender.

        Geek Squad2019-06-05
      • "Good Place for some Side Cash"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Amherst, NY
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Geek Squad part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Discount, Retail Environment, Flexible Schedule

        Cons

        Toxic Customers, Toxic Employees, Lack of Raises

        Geek Squad2019-06-05
      • "Geek Squad Agent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Geek Squad CIA Agent in Abbotsford, BC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Good knowledge and Good Enviroment

        Cons

        under wage job, Sales pressure

        Geek Squad2019-06-04
      Found 1340 reviews