Geek Squad "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor

Geek Squad Employee Reviews about "customer service"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1320 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Geek Squad CEO Hubert Joly
Hubert Joly
641 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not enough hours even for full time(in 38 reviews)

  • "Customers can be a bit demanding but that is no surprise as this job is very customer service based so be prepared(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "customer service"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Customer service focused tech support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advanced Repair Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very team oriented - Learned more about repairing computer issues - BEST BUY DISCOUNT

    Cons

    - Customers can be a bit demanding but that is no surprise as this job is very customer service based so be prepared

    Geek Squad2019-02-19
  2. "Good for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent 

    I have been working at Geek Squad part-time

    Pros

    Experience with tech and customer service

    Cons

    Very much numbers driven. Dealing with angry people

    Geek Squad2019-01-19
  3. "Mediocre first job, but not good for anything else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good opportunity to learn and develop tech and customer service skills

    Cons

    Little/no room to grow Bad management that doesn't understand anything Very inconsistent hours that ranged from 4hrs one week to 36 the next (yes, I understand that it is due to the demands of the business and it is retail) Lack of good training for advancement Pay scale

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees for feedback Help your employees grow Educate yourself of the roles and responsibilities of your team

    Geek Squad2019-01-25
  4. "Fun Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Sq in Brentwood, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Learn the Highest Level of customer service

    Cons

    Customer issues vary and are difficult to handle

    Geek Squad2018-11-15
  5. "Geek Squad Consultation Agent - Full-Time - Milwaukee Area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Fox Point, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely welcoming environment. Good and active management. Ethical business. Bonuses based on monthly, quarterly, and annual performance. Company focuses on hiring from within, and there's tons of growth opportunity available in-store, in-home, and at a corporate level.

    Cons

    Lots of work for the pay. Customer service and support are essential, but there's a growing demand for IT support specialists since tech is such a booming industry and I feel IT support specialists should be compensated better.

    Geek Squad2018-09-22
  6. "Consultation Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad part-time

    Pros

    Coworkers are fantastic to work with and they are very flexible with giving you an ideal schedule. Traffic does not typically get unbearable allowing for a relatively low stress working environment.

    Cons

    Managers can frequently bent out of shape over sales when they themselves do not provide the best customer service causing frustration for clients.

    Geek Squad2018-05-11
  7. "Geek Squad Advanced Repair Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advanced Repair Agent in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Best position to develop a strong foundation for complex troubleshooting, customer service, becoming familiar with corporate environment & procedures Competitive pay depending on market, solid benefits

    Cons

    The complex troubleshooting isn't really applicable to many real-world IT solutions in and of itself, so actual career development requires a lot of thought on the process of troubleshooting versus the solutions. Availability and hours can be demanding (holidays, depending on management: expectation of long hours, working over 7 days in a row) Career path for technicians is limited - expectation is to grow into management...

    Show More
    Geek Squad2018-04-26
  8. "Going Downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Technician in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Got some great customer service experience and you get to learn about the front line IT position.

    Cons

    Store management and the overall process of how things are run can be very taxing on someone who is trying their best to make clients happy. Certain squads are run very shoddily so if you're looking for a one size fits all review you won't be able to find that.

    Advice to Management

    Get off your employees backs and on the managers who skate by on knowing nothing.

    Geek Squad2018-03-07
  9. "Geek Squad - Fun Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed the team environment and felt that my hard work and years with the company paid off - I was moved up within the company. I was lucky to have some amazing women as my managers and supervisors.

    Cons

    Working in customer service with the general public; pay was decent for when I was younger and single, probably more difficult to live on now.

    Geek Squad2017-11-08
  10. "CA - Good starting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad full-time

    Pros

    --Experience with customer service in the IT environment. You learn quite a bit on the job, many of which are soft skills. You can't learn them in school. Invaluable when going on to other positions, either within the company or elsewhere. --Great camaraderie with team (if you're fortunate to get a good one) --Not too bad of an employee discount, and nice Geek Squad perks/Accomodations --The badge is fun to show...

    Show More

    Cons

    --This is definitely a job for kids to start out in IT. During my tenure at Geek Squad, I was often treated like a child - even though I was in my 30's. Constantly micromanaged: Did you make the phone calls? Did you do the certified open boxes? Did you do the shipping? Very frustrating to be lumped in with the 17 year olds. (Some of this griping may vary, according to Geek Squad Manager) --The pay is not very good,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    --Geek Squad should not equal sales numbers. It is: "Computer Repair Task Force", not: "Buy your Geek Squad Plans here". If the customers are not purchasing the plans at the time of purchase, hold the sales team accountable. That's THEIR job. Yes, Geek Squad will sell tech support (or whatever it's called now) along the way, but it shouldn't be enforced so passionately. If we wanted to be sales people, we'd be on...

    Show More
    Geek Squad2017-10-24
Found 1320 reviews