Geek Squad "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Geek Squad Employee Reviews about "full time"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1320 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Geek Squad CEO Hubert Joly
Hubert Joly
641 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not enough hours even for full time(in 38 reviews)

  • "Customers can be a bit demanding but that is no surprise as this job is very customer service based so be prepared(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good place to work part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Geek Squad for more than a year

      Pros

      Good work team Support from management

      Cons

      hard to get full time hours

      Geek Squad2019-02-03
    • "Good foot in the door for IT positions"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Advanced Repair Agent in Duluth, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Geek Squad part-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Pay is OK, just not great. Full time benefits are pretty decent (30 days off a year, 401k, Bonuses). Great people to work with and a lot of extremely helpful resources at your disposal to get your job done.

      Cons

      Varies, can be extremely stressful at times depending on who you work with and your location (employees not showing up for work, working in a location where some of the population doesn't even speak English, etc). Retail technical support can be a real drag especially with working with the general population.

      Advice to Management

      Not much I can say except to stick with a support model that works. In the years I've been a part of this company they've switched support models at least 4 times and having to relearn a new model every year or so get's cumbersome.

      Geek Squad2019-01-08
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Geek Squad part-time

        Pros

        Love it cant say nothing bad.

        Cons

        Not enough hours even for full time.

        Geek Squad2018-12-18
      • "Management needs an overhaul"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Geek Squad part-time

        Pros

        The pay isn't the worst for a retail-based establishment, but is definitely on the low end of things based on the work that the team ends up doing.

        Cons

        The company loves to suddenly work part-time employees for full-time hours for a few weeks before dropping them down to near ten-hour weeks again. This is paired with a complete reluctance to actually invest in full-time help, even if it is obviously needed. Management does not want to take any accountability for issues, preferring to...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        We are not a sales team, first and foremost. Don't manage us as if we are. Also, you need to be adaptable and not blame shortcomings on your team not "buying into" your ideals or "not working hard enough". Sometimes, even managers can be wrong, and good managers are ones who can openly admit that.

        Geek Squad2018-12-12
      • "Advanced Repair Agent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Geek Squad Advanced Repair Agent in Staten Island, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Geek Squad part-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Seeing a smile on customers faces as they leave with either new or fixed items.

        Cons

        Working full time would be better.

        Geek Squad2018-05-14
      • "Skilled work lumped in with retail hourly"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Adavanced Repair Agent 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Get to work with technology, health insurance, discount

        Cons

        Pretty low pay for an advanced repair agent in some stores based on location. No help, lots of work and can make the same as those with lesser job responsibilities . Denied vacation due to being under staffed and expected to carry the entire back precinct. Not much growth after a full time ARA inside a store. Any growth will have to transfer outside of store due to work politics...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        skilled full time repair agents, that have been with the store for years should get a living wage over 12.25hr. It's fine for entry level, but should be reevaluated based on consistency, performance, years and workload per store. If you hit your goals for 4 years and are the only full timer you should at least make 15-18 hourly or offered during yearly reviews. Passing up raises, based on other team members performance...

        Show More
        Geek Squad2018-05-05
      • "Consultation Agent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Geek Squad part-time

        Pros

        Flexible scheduling , great discounts , fun environment

        Cons

        Hard to get full time , no benefits

        Geek Squad2018-05-03
      • "Nice first job, weird hours"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Roseville, MN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Fun place to work, cool colleagues

        Cons

        Hard to get full time, they prefer not to hire full time to not give benefits. They give you weird hours, can be 4 hours on Saturday evening. It'll take up your weekend day but you won't make any money. Constant focus on sales. Not everyone gets the same pay with equal experience. People in favour have a higher hourly wages, seems unfair.

        Advice to Management

        They do what they need to do to stay in business, I guess.

        Geek Squad2018-02-21
      • "Overall A Great Place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Geek Squad part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Decent hours, good pay, exposure to a lot of industry knowledge, experience, productive fast-paced environment,

        Cons

        Near impossible to get a full-time job, the uniform kinda sucks. I would like to wear normal clothes to work, lack of communication from the management team, not the job if you're impatient.

        Advice to Management

        Better communication throughout the precinct. Ensuring that promoting from within is the most important thing.

        Geek Squad2018-02-20
      • "Quarter Decade Strong!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Secaucus, NJ
        Recommends

        I have been working at Geek Squad full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        I am currently going to school full-time and the best thing I can say about this company, at least from my experience, is that they will always work with you on your availability. I have seen them work with people around family events, school schedules, and even internships or interviews to further an employee's career even if that means they may leave the company!

        Cons

        As a retail job you have to understand that not everybody is going to be on the same page. There have been many of times where fellow coworkers, old and new, mentally check out and do not try as hard as they could. This may take a toll on your experience at work, however there is always a way to rally the troop.

        Geek Squad2018-01-14
      Found 1320 reviews