Geek Squad "room for advancement" Reviews | Glassdoor

Geek Squad Employee Reviews about "room for advancement"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1317 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Geek Squad CEO Hubert Joly
Hubert Joly
639 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not enough hours even for full time(in 38 reviews)

  • "Customers can be a bit demanding but that is no surprise as this job is very customer service based so be prepared(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "room for advancement"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Worked There For Almost 10 yrs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Parts Support Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Geek Squad full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits Package. Pleasant Atmosphere. Good work hours. Most jobs don't work weekends

    Cons

    Upper management are fast talkers like car salesmen and will tell you what you want to hear. Constant changes that make no sense. Management is a clique. Laid off 60+ employees only to still have temps working there and were still posting job openings. No room for advancement.

    Geek Squad2019-02-22
  2. "It's alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saratoga Springs, NY
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geek Squad part-time

    Pros

    Good learning opportunities, interesting work, can work in different geek squad roles

    Cons

    Management, Rude customers, not much room for advancement, poor pay

    Advice to Management

    Get more friendly management.. Dan L drives employees away

    Geek Squad2018-04-03
  3. "Geek Squad Dispatcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Geek Squad full-time

      Pros

      Work from home and fun team members

      Cons

      No room for advancement besides to management.

      Geek Squad2018-01-22
    • "Great place to Start"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Geek Squad

      Pros

      Great people to work for, good environment

      Cons

      Little room for advancement, low pay for geek squad positions

      Advice to Management

      Promote within

      Geek Squad2017-05-22
    • "Good People, Bad Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Consultation Agent in Sanford, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good amount of hours if you are open Trained in basic computer operation and diagnostics Perks for hard work Good customers and fair amount of decision flexibility

      Cons

      Limited scope of decisions Best Buy management interfered with Geek Squad efficiency Employee retention was terrible Raises far and few between Very little room for advancement Continued training forgone in favor of sales

      Advice to Management

      Let me start by saying that management from Geek Squad itself was decent, even acceptably good. Geek Squad management was slighly strict, but with good reason. Handling personal information and property has rules. They were sometimes disingenuous, but fair most of the time. However, Best Buy management would allocate Geek Squad employees and managers for sales related tasks rather than let us do our jobs. There were many...

      Show More
      Geek Squad2017-05-01
    • "Repair TA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Geek Squad full-time

        Pros

        Working here gave me a lot of experience in warehouse, inventory, and SOP. I really liked the on the job training and other resources available to me.

        Cons

        Almost weekly conversations about uniform guidelines and other SOP issues became dreadful and tiresome. There seemed to be little room for advancement despite having qualifications due to higher ups already picking employees for positions posted.

        Geek Squad2017-03-20
      • "Very Helpful But..."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Lead Repair Agent in Shakopee, MN
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Geek Squad full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        A very fast paced environment, with a lot of learning potential. Geek Squad is a great place to start a career in IT so long as you don't plan to stay with the company.

        Cons

        Very little room for advancement. Little to no formal training. Inconsistent company priorities and expectations. The company will provide education assistance but will not pay for technical certifications (at least at the time of writing this review 7-2016).

        Advice to Management

        If you want to keep good repair techs, increase wages, provide incentives to expanding their technical knowledge, and hire competent department managers.

        Geek Squad2016-08-03
      • "Advanced Repair Agent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Advanced Repair Agent in Joliet, IL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Geek Squad

        Pros

        Excellent co-workers, Discounts/Accommodations, learning experience, and good stepping stone for an IT career.

        Cons

        No room for advancement within company, Poor compensation.

        Geek Squad2016-03-04
      • "Great Culture, Bad Management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Geek Squad Covert Agent in Minneapolis, MN
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Geek Squad for more than 2 years

        Pros

        I worked in the store and as a remote tech, the GeekSquad culture is great, the collaboration is awesome, some great deals and discounts as well. Good place to gain experience but not to stay.

        Cons

        No room for advancement, you have to live in MN and work at corporate to get a chance to advance, but as a remote agent, you compete with thousands of applicants over a few positions that do not come often, scheduling is horrible, one day you work 6AM and other day you start at 6PM, work life balance is non-existent, employee is always at fault if any issues arise and the company...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        create a working system, do not have the employees waste their time entering redundant info 3 different systems, do not be evil and give employees the benefit of the doubt, and when you create an action plan please stick to it.

        Geek Squad2015-08-21
      • "Musings of a Former Consultation Agent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Geek Squad, Consultation Agent in Sanford, FL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Geek Squad part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        -Employee Discount (cannot disclose how much) -Relatively Flexible hours -Great peers -Fun Environment -SOME Management can be quite good

        Cons

        -MOST Management is clueless -Very limited in regards to tools and options -Customers are clueless and extremely rude. -No recourse or defense against unfounded accusations -Very little training / problem resolution training -No freedom of decision -Fear-based motivation (do it or be replaced) -NO ROOM FOR ADVANCEMENT TRAIN US BETTER. Although I was knowledgeable about...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        TRAIN US BETTER. Although I was knowledgeable about computers coming into the position, two of the ARA's had less knowledge than I did about basic computer troubleshooting. Also, the who hours allocation based on productivity system is flawed. There would be one week where we were dead, no clients. Due to the system, we had bare bones staff (less than actually) and no hours the following week, when we had lines to the...

        Show More
        Geek Squad2015-07-17
      Found 1317 reviews