Geisinger Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Geisinger Analyst Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Geisinger CEO Jaewon Ryu, M.D., J.D.
Jaewon Ryu, M.D., J.D.
1 Ratings
  1. "Good employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Danville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great health coverage and average workplace.

    Cons

    Leadership/management sometimes likes to walk in circles.

    Advice to Management

    Lean and streamline upper management.

    Geisinger2019-01-17

    Geisinger Response

    January 22, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your constructive insights. We believe our leaders are deeply committed to caring, and we’re always looking to improve. Your feedback will help us do that.

  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Danville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Geisinger full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I worked in the IT department and enjoyed my time here. I think GHS takes care of their IT folks for the most part. I also enjoyed the beneifits, matching 401k, time off, etc!

    Cons

    The doctors get their way in regards to everything IT still does a lot of stuff manually instead of automation...it's kind of silo based and every department just does what a Doctor asks them to do.

    Geisinger2018-04-10

    Geisinger Response

    July 6, 2018Account Executive

    We’re happy to hear that you had a positive overall experience! We’re always looking for ways to improve our processes and maintain our commitment to innovation. We’ll take your advice to heart moving forward.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "12+ year former employee driven away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Geisinger full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Friendly employees, decent benefits. Compassionate staff who truly care for the work they are doing. Not much else to say

    Cons

    This organization does not value internal employees, nor do they promote growth. Mediocre holiday offering at best. Additionally, can greatly improve PTO policy to ensure proper work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    You should work to retain employees who work for you while they are students. You lose valuable, highly educated resources due to a lack of interest or investment in development.

    Geisinger2018-04-30

    Geisinger Response

    June 15, 2018Account Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We’re sorry to hear that you left Geisinger. Every employee is important to us and instrumental in all that we accomplish at Geisinger. We wish you the best in your future endeavors.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Epic EHR Systems Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EHR Systems Analyst in Danville, PA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Geisinger full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    1. Pay is okay for the area (though lower than most hospital systems) 2. Benefits are good, so long as you just go to Geisinger owned facilities

    Cons

    1. Employees are treated as no more than a means to make the company money 2. Job security within IT is a joke 3. Management/Higher-Ups are very unaware of what is going on 4. What's 'Work/Life Balance'?

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees better and pay them what they're worth.

    Geisinger2018-03-17

    Geisinger Response

    July 6, 2018Account Executive

    We think of our team as family, so giving them support and showing our appreciation is of the utmost importance to us. At Geisinger, we take pride in providing an acceptable work-life balance for our employees, and while work at Geisinger can require a lot of hard work and dedication, ...

    Show More
  5. "IT is Professional and Management works to address concerns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Analyst in Danville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Professional Environment, Immediate management focused on addressing ideas and issues. Opportunity for growth professionally in different technology stacks. Allows for opportunities to grow knowledge.

    Cons

    Poor Communication across Department due to compartmentalization. Tendency to push projects to Production that are incomplete. Upper management seems to tunnel vision given certain projects.

    Advice to Management

    Emphasize and Utilize mass communication methods

    Geisinger2018-02-08
  6. "IT Service Desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Service Desk Analyst in Danville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, Great work environment overall.

    Cons

    Certain areas underpaid comparatively. IT Service Desk team does more support, with more technical knowledge, and earns less than other departments.

    Advice to Management

    Pay based on merit, and don't treat IT generalists as phone call operators.

    Geisinger2017-12-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Health Care Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Technical Analyst in Danville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Geisinger full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits for the area it serves. Growing company.

    Cons

    Typical big business, only seems to care about their bottom line. The more they grow the less they seem to care about the employees.

    Geisinger2017-10-24
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good Pay and Benefits, Bad Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geisinger full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits for Central PA. The company is excellent when it comes to the clinical enterprise

    Cons

    Toxic culture in some departments. To many chiefs and not enough Indians in many cases.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your business leaders, don't let the physicians make all of the decisions

    Geisinger2017-06-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "IT Not Welcome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Minimal; please see cons; any IT professional coming here is wasting their time and worse, putting your family at risk.

    Cons

    -low pay rate compared to similar jobs elsewhere -No respect for IT from executive level -No career growth -No job security

    Advice to Management

    Your system will implodeas you continue to remove IT and acquire more failing hospitals. Stop slashing a large contributor to your success. Without half the systems we add on, maintain, etc, you wouldn't be half the system you claim to be. You are just too blind to see it.

    Geisinger2017-06-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Computer Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in Wilkes Barre, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Geisinger full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Great location, good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Disjointed management and overall direction. Need to create a positive team environment. Wear your Kevlar

    Geisinger2017-03-03
Found 26 reviews