Geisinger Registered Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Registered Nurse

Geisinger Registered Nurse Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
Geisinger CEO Jaewon Ryu, M.D., J.D.
Jaewon Ryu, M.D., J.D.
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Everything. I love my job and would not work anywhere else! I have worked for Geisinger for almost 9 years and cannot even express all the pros. I work with the best nurses, NA's, and physicians that truly care about every patient. Geisinger offers so many opportunities for career advancement and education! I am currently in school for my Masters and could not have done it without Geisinger's tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Everyone has bad moments, but we don't allow them to turn into bad days!

    Advice to Management

    None

    Geisinger2018-08-25
  2. "Overall good experience but lacks diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Danville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geisinger full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -people are friendly -hires new grads

    Cons

    -lacks diversity -not many attractions in the area

    Advice to Management

    Stop with the micromanaging

    Geisinger2019-01-31
  3. "You are just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Scranton, PA

      I worked at Geisinger full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Company has bonus for extra shifts.

      Cons

      No teamwork. People have their people and don’t really care about the rest. Almost hostile atmosphere.

      Geisinger2019-01-10

      Geisinger Response

      January 15, 2019Human Resources

      Teamwork is an essential part of providing excellent care at Geisinger. We’re sorry to hear it was lacking during your time at Geisinger. With kindness as one of Geisinger’s core values, we expect all of our employees to treat one another with respect and dignity.

    • "Manager RN"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager RN in Danville, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Great career opportunity. Great team work and being able to be included and have a voice in change

      Cons

      As the organization continues to grow consistency is hard to maintain.

      Advice to Management

      Remember to include team in the decisions. Take the time to listen to understand, not to reply

      Geisinger2018-09-10
    • "Staff Nurse"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Scranton, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great coworkers, flexible scheduling, parking

      Cons

      concerned about press ganey scores above all else

      Geisinger2018-04-25
    • "RN"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff RN in Danville, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Great teaching hospital, patient first orientation, median pay

      Cons

      Always looking for something new forgetting about what they have. Just look at the ER.

      Advice to Management

      Focus on improving inward happy staff equals happy customers

      Geisinger2018-03-29
    • "RN BSN"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - RN, Bsn in Scranton, PA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Geisinger part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Coworkers Teir Bonus Available time to pick up Knowing schedule a month at a time

      Cons

      Pay; NA staffing; shift options

      Advice to Management

      Compromise

      Geisinger2018-03-01
    • Helpful (3)

      "RN Emergency Department"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Emergency Room RN in Camp Hill, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Geisinger full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      It was a clean , new facility that has cameras in the ceiling and many supervisors who audit charts and keep an eye on the employees. Disrespect is a right there they treat staff like prisoners

      Cons

      Toxic work environment. Everyone tries to report their coworkers and get them fired. They fire people for any reason. Most facilities would give a warning first. Management is completely detached and unsupportive you can’t trust anyone in there. They have fired so many and they have no problem ruining careers and reputations Evil place. Don’t expose yourself to it

      Advice to Management

      There is no fix for cruel. Some people are born that way

      Geisinger2018-03-05

      Geisinger Response

      July 6, 2018Account Executive

      We appreciate your honesty concerning your work experience with us and we are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction. We strive for excellence and believe a strong support system for our employees is essential to their success at Geisinger. We also strive to maintain a work environment ...

      Show More
    • "Nurse Anesthetist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist in Danville, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Geisinger part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Supportive peers. Good schedule with real efforts made to accommodate individual needs

      Cons

      "Star" shifts... you have to stay late to finish cases (but you know the day is coming because it's on the schedule). Better cases go to the anesthesia residents, in fact entire department of anesthesia bends to residency requirements.

      Advice to Management

      Make a concrete commitment to education and satisfaction of all employees of the department of anesthesia.

      Geisinger2018-01-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Ehhh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Registered Nurse, Emergency Room in Wilkes-Barre, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      There are good benefits, the people that work there are generally friendly, and there's a good nurse to patient ratio

      Cons

      Management, the departments are always short-staffed, there are not enough beds to support the volume of people that are seen on a daily basis

      Advice to Management

      Support your staff

      Geisinger2017-09-29
    Found 31 reviews