Geisinger Research Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Geisinger Research Assistant Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Geisinger CEO Jaewon Ryu, M.D., J.D.
Jaewon Ryu, M.D., J.D.
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Danville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geisinger

    Pros

    Extremely supportive co-workers and management. Very organized orientation and training program. Great benefits. OK pay. Lots of freedom to prioritize tasks and increasing workload as you got more skilled at your job. Always made the lower members of the team feel like their contributions were invaluable.

    Cons

    Workload and independence depends on your project manager. Luckily mine was amazing and really allowed me to contribute to the study but I saw many coworkers being micromanaged by other PMs.

    Advice to Management

    Pay could be better to retain workforce. High turnover due to better pay elsewhere.

    Geisinger2015-10-12
  2. "Good place to start after college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, great co-workers, place to grow

    Cons

    Poor communication between departments, can be difficult to advance

    Geisinger2019-03-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Experience at Geisinger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Research Assistant in Danville, PA

      I have been working at Geisinger for more than 2 years

      Pros

      forward thinking able to morph with technology some high end research

      Cons

      location, weather, and management attitude

      Geisinger2016-01-16
    • "RA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Research Assistant in Danville, PA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Geisinger

      Pros

      Great benefits, normally good management

      Cons

      Low salary, very difficult to move up through the system.

      Geisinger2015-06-23
    • "It was a pleasant experience working with them."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Research Assistant in Danville, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Geisinger for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The work environment is encouraging and pleasant.

      Cons

      I don't have any to mention

      Advice to Management

      Could do better with compensation plans.

      Geisinger2015-03-15
    • "Great career starter at the Center for Health Research"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Research Assistant 

        I worked at Geisinger part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        It seemed to me that Geisinger really does want its employees to be content. I learned so much about the system during orientation. They made me feel part of a whole.

        Cons

        It is the largest employer in the area, so one may feel faceless. It has nothing to do with Geisinger itself, but it can be lonely to live in the country if you're not used to it.

        Geisinger2014-09-26
      • Helpful (4)

        "I didn't enjoy my time at Geisinger"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Research Assistant in Danville, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Geisinger part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Most of your coworkers are friendly and easy to get along with

        Cons

        Management isn't great. There is little training on how to do your job, and it was often difficult to figure out what I was supposed to do. Just not a proper amount of communication about what was expected of me. Since the work isn't lab-oriented, it isn't really valuable as a stepping stone to a better job either.

        Geisinger2014-06-08
      • Helpful (3)

        "Excellent first job, yet little opportunity for career advancement"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Research Assistant in Danville, PA
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        The Geisinger Center for Health Research (CHR) is a state-of-the-art research building that provides a great atmosphere and confortable workspace. The coworkers are friendly and highly team-oriented with high morale. The benefit package is generous and employees have access to plenty of healthcare resources. Employees also have a fair amount of say in the job functions that they perform.

        Cons

        the education requirements and job description do not accurately line up with the actual job functions and pay. Therefore, all too often do overqualified employees take positions in the CHR only to leave shortly afterwards for better career opportunities (and pay). Upward mobility is severely hindered as seasoned employees are often overlooked for promotions in favor of overqualified new-hires. This has caused an environment...

        Show More
        Geisinger2012-07-16
      Found 8 reviews