Geisinger Reviews | Glassdoor

Geisinger Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 388 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Geisinger CEO Jaewon Ryu, M.D., J.D.
Jaewon Ryu, M.D., J.D.
16 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Family Physician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Director in Pottsville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Switched to pro-quality objectives: longer appointments (40 min for 65+), pharmacists do diabetic and pain mgmt, no RVU based pay, aggressively pursue team based care. Good salary, easy to maximize work life balance.

    Cons

    Lots of data and number crunching. Hard to see how the metrics are compounded. Rural area.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the focus on primary care driven quality. Continue to simplify data when possible.

    Geisinger2018-11-24

    Geisinger Response

    November 30, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your constructive insights. We’re always looking to improve and your feedback will help us do that.

  2. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Pottsville, PA

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay. Staff is friendly. No mandation.

    Cons

    The hours can be later some weeks which is hard when you have a family.

    Geisinger2019-06-15
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA 

    I worked at Geisinger part-time

    Pros

    Teamwork, friendly, good benefits, great training

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    Geisinger2019-06-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Political as it gets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Not a lot to put here.. . Some of the benefits are ok

    Cons

    Very top-heavy organization Upper management is very fond of itself. Organization is quick to listen to outside consultants but not to it's own staff.

    Advice to Management

    You arent the greatest. Just a large fish in a small pond.

    Geisinger2019-05-22

    Geisinger Response

    June 3, 2019Human Resources

    We’re sorry to hear about your experience at Geisinger. We take pride in creating an inclusive and caring employee experience for all. We encourage you to share your concerns during CARE conversations with your manager and through feedback surveys.

  5. "Salary and benefits great as long as you know the right people.Unfair practices.Poor management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Revenue Cycle Specialist in Bloomsburg, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary and benefits. Great medical staff. Must be tobacco free to qualify.

    Cons

    Poor management in most departments

    Advice to Management

    Be fair to all employees. Not just favorites. After all, we are a TEAM.

    Geisinger2019-05-18

    Geisinger Response

    June 3, 2019Human Resources

    We appreciate your feedback and are disappointed to hear you feel there is favoritism at Geisinger. At Geisinger, we expect that everyone is treated fairly.

  6. "fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Geisinger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fair pay, good hours, would reccomend

    Cons

    better benefits would make people stay longer

    Geisinger2019-05-11
  7. "working at Geisinger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Experience Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Geisinger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Focused on Patient centered Care - The executives and management truly believed in the mission and the vision of the organization and lead the team by being great examples. - Very hard working and team oriented environment

    Cons

    - Salary - way below pay grade

    Geisinger2019-05-06

    Geisinger Response

    May 13, 2019Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your feedback about our leaders and their commitment to delivering on our purpose of caring. We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your pay. Geisinger routinely assesses the pay for every position to ensure that our compensation packages remain competitive. ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interim Staffing in Scranton, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours and Flexibility were great.

    Cons

    Fellow employees who lacked focus unless it was gossip related.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on professionalism at all times. Lead by example.

    Geisinger2019-04-23

    Geisinger Response

    April 29, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your insights! Geisinger is known for our compassionate care towards not only our patients but our employees as well. We encourage you to share your thoughts within daily team huddles or through CARE Conversations. You can also use our feedback tool if you’d ...

    Show More
  9. "Innovative, great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Area, innovation, teamwork, benefits, quality

    Cons

    Rapid growth, location, technology, flexibility

    Geisinger2019-04-16
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Patient Care Assistant 

      I have been working at Geisinger part-time

      Pros

      Pay, people, atmosphere, work, patients

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Geisinger2019-04-03
    Found 388 reviews