Geisinger "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Geisinger Employee Reviews about "upper management"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 386 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Geisinger CEO Jaewon Ryu, M.D., J.D.
Jaewon Ryu, M.D., J.D.
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "They have great benefits that include tuition reimbursement(in 25 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, great co-workers, place to grow(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management seems to tunnel vision given certain projects(in 11 reviews)

  • "Low pay, couldn't find room to grow(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great benefits, low pay, Good intentions, good care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geisinger full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Patients receive excellent care and policy of patient focus makes a good place to work. Doing the "right" thing for a patient is always supported. Overall, excellent people who are well qualified. Excellent benefits (arguably make up for low to midranger salaries) Excellent equipment Excellent speciality providers (despite "churn") Excellent IT

    Cons

    Staff pushed to limit with patient load/expectations Floor, department and facility managers pushed to/past limits by upper management expectations that are not based on resources. Upper echelons seem to create hoops to jump through, often due to misinterpretations of law Salaries are, at best, midrange and they cannot easily retain high end talent. Many of best providers...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cut "training" in regulatory issues in half (i.e." GOALS") Suck it up and increase providers by about 25%; your people are being beat to death If you can't recruit first rate physicians at current salaries, then raise salaries Stop expansion until base is shored up Invest in bricks and mortar where needed (Wilkes Barre)

    Geisinger2018-05-05

    Geisinger Response

    June 15, 2018Account Executive

    We're disappointed to hear you had a negative experience working with Geisinger. We appreciate your honest feedback as we are always striving for excellence. We wish you the best in your future endeavors.

  2. "IT is Professional and Management works to address concerns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Analyst in Danville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Professional Environment, Immediate management focused on addressing ideas and issues. Opportunity for growth professionally in different technology stacks. Allows for opportunities to grow knowledge.

    Cons

    Poor Communication across Department due to compartmentalization. Tendency to push projects to Production that are incomplete. Upper management seems to tunnel vision given certain projects.

    Advice to Management

    Emphasize and Utilize mass communication methods

    Geisinger2018-02-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Frustrating IT Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger

    Pros

    The company has great visions just can't carry out.

    Cons

    Lack of communication with upper management. They say they listen with employee surveys they are just waste of time. No one know what they should be doing because management changes it all the time

    Advice to Management

    listen to your employees, Don't bring outside companies in to tell them how to do their own job.

    Geisinger2016-10-17
  4. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger

    Pros

    Benefits including 401k, medical, dental, tuition reimbursement, pto

    Cons

    Short staffed, night shift, upper management ignores real problems

    Geisinger2016-04-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great career experience and challenging work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Program Director in Northumberland, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Innovative and interesting work. They truly care about the patients and are always looking for new ways to deliver care.

    Cons

    Middle and upper management does not always execute vision well and support staff. Culture is one where longevity is rewarded versus merit and knowledge.

    Advice to Management

    Empower managers to manage and teach more rather than do the work...it will help the teams and reduce frustration.

    Geisinger2016-03-19
  6. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and insurance Good coworkers

    Cons

    Overworked Underpaid Upper management focused on mostly profits

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on employee satisfaction and less on profits

    Geisinger2016-02-10
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Pharmacist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist in Wilkes Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, vacation time, pharmacy hours are great. Direct management is understanding. Opportunity for extra shifts available. Extra help available on most occasions.

    Cons

    It's hard to get rid of bad employees. Hiring someone new takes forever. Upper management imposes new procedures without ever visiting sites and understanding our business

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time with employees doing your work

    Geisinger2015-09-10
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Used to be the best and can be again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Geisinger full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Most co-workers were intelligent, friendly, hard workers. Lots of good, experienced people on both the healthcare provider side and on the administrative and support side. Most middle management is dedicated and decent to their workers.

    Cons

    The company had been focusing more and more on profits and the bottom line, like all companies. Unfortunately, they are very quick to react to decreases in income but very slow to share the wealth when times are good. A lot of upper management decisions seem very short-sighted. The phrase "Penny wise and pound foolish" comes to mind at times.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the chains of "Yes-men", running some departments.

    Geisinger2014-06-10
  9. "Things are looking bad at the moment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Geisinger

      Pros

      Great atmosphere with people always willing to help out in times of need. Culture of willingness to adapt in an ever changing industry.

      Cons

      Upper management not communicating well to the staff amidst a hiring freeze. Meetings that discuss poor performance as a health plan but no clear vision for the future.

      Advice to Management

      Eliminate fear of big changes or layoffs by laying out a strategy to deal with changes in healthcare as well as with the company.

      Geisinger2014-05-15
    • Helpful (5)

      "There's a reason I left, and a reason I came back"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Workstation Analyst in Danville, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Geisinger full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      For the Company: - Large medical facility, providing excellent patient care in a rural setting - Excellent time off plan, if you're full-time - Excellent benefits from day one, if you're full-time - Excellent health insurancem if you're full-time - Room to grow professionally - Collaborative atmosphere - Interested in providing excellent patient care - Gives back to the community - Selectively taking on other...

      Show More

      Cons

      For the company: - Hard to get hired. I started through the in house temp, and when a position was specifically created for me to go full-time, HR's applicant tracking system said I was unqualified. - If you're not full-time, you're not going to get much of anything - Doctor's often have god complexes and ridiculous egos - Nursing staff feels overworked and under-appreciated - A general sense of being too large ...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      For starters - fix the hiring practices! Ditch the applicant tracking system that HR uses. A position opened for the exact job I had been doing for over a year as an internal temp for, and the ATS deemed me unqualified. The department leader had to track down a member of HR, get them to fish through the system to find my resume, and then put me in the running for the position - and I was most qualified. It's not...

      Show More
      Geisinger2013-06-11
    Found 386 reviews