Gemini Reviews | Glassdoor

Gemini Reviews

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
47%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Gemini President and CEO Doug Lautermilch (no image)
Doug Lautermilch
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Labourer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Gemini

    Pros

    The pay was great for the amount of work I did. My co-workers were very helpful as it was my first full time real job

    Cons

    Im not a fan of labour positions, I was only a summer position though. The site we were on required full FR clothing and thats just me nit-picking

    Continue reading
    Gemini2017-01-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Lacks the human element"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gemini full-time

    Pros

    Small teams and intimate environment allow for a predominantly collaborative atmosphere.

    Cons

    Lacks process creating immense inefficiency and rework. C suite communication is disengenuous and infrequent. Total disregard for the 'people' that work for the firm in the manner in which they performed layoffs; forgot the human element.

    Continue reading
    Gemini2017-01-09
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Gemini full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits program, EDO program is great.

    Cons

    Leadership team is highly dysfunctional and narcissistic. A few of them simply do not have the experience to be in the role that they are in. They are unable to execute on project work effectively, and there seems to be little accountability for their team members. It's no wonder that clients have abandoned them, and they have had such a massive turnover of great staff.

    Continue reading
    Gemini2016-04-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Upper management is not organized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gemini

    Pros

    Nice people, good pay, good place to learn technical knowledge

    Cons

    Truth are always kept hidden from the rest of the organization

    Gemini2016-04-21
  5. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB

    I have been working at Gemini part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good group of people.

    Cons

    Corporate direction is not clear

    Gemini2015-12-22
  6. "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Gemini full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly working environment, good benefits for a EPCM

    Cons

    Not the most technically advanced experts to learn from

    Continue reading
    Gemini2015-10-27
  7. "Little company that wants to do everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AB - Alberta in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Gemini full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relatively small EPC/EPCM company that has opportunities in engineering, fabrication, construction and procurement. So theoretically, lots of mobility and opportunities to work on a wide range of projects.

    Cons

    Communication from the senior management is weak. The company has chosen to be a "jack of all trades", and as such, seems to often be spread too thin to be hugely successful at any one thing.

    Continue reading
    Gemini2015-08-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Poorly Managed; Overly-Ambitious Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gemini

    Pros

    - Been in business for over 30 years, well-established - Fabrication and construction capacity - The employees responsible for execution of the work and deliverable completion are knowledgeable and dedicated

    Cons

    - Management has gone down-hill; poor communication of Company Vision/Goals/Objectives - Hiring of upper management has created A LOT of unecessary overhead costs which must be avoided

    Continue reading
    Gemini2015-08-26
  9. "Projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gemini full-time

    Pros

    Challenging work and wide range of projects.

    Cons

    Industry slow down caused decrease in manpower

    Continue reading
    Gemini2015-08-10
  10. "Administrative Assitant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Administrator in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Gemini for more than a year

    Pros

    Apply to this company if you plan to stay in a junior position for a really long time.

    Cons

    you must know someone in the company to succeed.

    Gemini2015-05-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 32 reviews