Gemmiti Model Art Reviews | Glassdoor

Gemmiti Model Art Reviews

Updated 24 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Gemmiti Model Art CEO Lisa Gemmiti (no image)
Lisa Gemmiti
13 Ratings
  1. "For dedicated and hard working ethical workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OFFICE MANAGER/BOOKKEEPER in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gemmiti Model Art full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been on the management team at Gemmiti Model Art for over a year working closely with the owner. Gemmiti Model Art provides a top notch scale models of all types. Because of the high quality work required to be done, it takes hard working, skilled and dedicated people who take pride in their work to succeed here. If you don't come with that criteria and strong work ethic, you may find yourself very... disappointed and want to not continue working here. As a previous poster stated, "If you have have glaring weaknesses they're going to be exposed." So I highly recommend to anyone considering a position with the company to be truthful and don't pretend to know and do things you have never done before. There is no faking it here so be sure you are skilled and know your stuff. Lisa is a professional and passionate business owner who works with her employees often on the trust system. She doesn't hover and micro manage her staff. She puts a lot of trust in her staff and just asks for hard work and efficiency in return. Lisa is very flexible and tries her best to accommodate her staff whenever she can. Lisa's passion is often misconstrued and for some who can be overly sensitive may feel overwhelmed. The work atmosphere can get very busy with multiple jobs and high demands from our clients so you must be able to handle multi tasking, working at fast pace and meeting demanding deadlines. Below please also see a list of pros to working at Gemmiti Model Art: * Bi-weekly pay for all the time you put into your projects and jobs * Guarantee you are working with straight shooter management, no lies, no sugar coating. * really good energetic production staff to work with. * option to start a 401K account * working in clean, state of the art tools equipped and fully stocked work shop for all your model making needs * opportunities to earn bonus on jobs completed on time and on budget *competitive pay and opportunity to climb the ranks * working with strong female management team

    Show More

    Cons

    The cons of this job are quite simple, working here doesn't work out if: 1. You treat the work like a hobby and not interested in a fast pace moving environment. 2. You're afraid of deadlines and at times high stress when there is lots of work to be done. 3. You don't like to be on your feet all day. 4. If you can't be trusted to work independently without a manager constantly standing over your shoulder. 5.... If you can't handle or don't like multi tasking, keeping your work space clean and communicating with your team. If you are any of the above on the list, then Gemmiti Model Art is not the place for you to work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Never settle for mediocre. Only the best will do.

    Gemmiti Model Art2019-07-24
  2. "Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Gemmiti Model Art

    Pros

    Clear communication on needs and wants. Has a great understating of what the job entails.

    Cons

    You better really know your business. If you have have glaring weaknesses they're going to be exposed. So be prepared to say and admit you don't know something. Don't hide it. Quality is demanded. And if you admit it you'll get help.

    Gemmiti Model Art2019-02-01
  3. "A demanding field but a very rewarding job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Executive Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have never worked harder, been as appreciated for my work, or learned as much as I did during my time here. Model making is a challenging field with very demanding clients and impossible deadlines, but Lisa has an incredible wealth of knowledge to share and the experiences are something you won't find anywhere else. I had the opportunity to work with some amazing people, incredible model makers and really high... profile clients and being surrounded by so much greatness always pushed me to be better. I learned more in my time here than any other job I've had, and I'm certain any job I will have. You need to come in with the skills needed to succeed, but this environment will hone your skills and teach you more than you could imagine about design, time management, and model making techniques. The long days were actually a pro for me because I was allowed the flexibility to rearrange my hours as I needed to to find a balance but still meet my job responsibilities. Lisa is one of the most open minded and non discriminatory people that I've ever met, she doesn't care about your age/race/gender/orientation/education/experience is, she only cares about your ability to do what is asked and your attitude. If you think you're up to the challenge, Lisa will take a chance on you, and she truly cares about her employees. From driving employees home across the bay late at night to visiting them in the hospital when they're sick; from having dinner ordered in to ordering a piece of equipment for you on a moments notice, Lisa takes care of her employees and if you ask she will give you everything that you need to get the job done. I would have loved to stay, but a personal matter took me back across the country to my family. I love keeping up with the Gemmiti Team and visiting when I'm in town.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you're not up to the challenge, this is not the place for you. There is no time for hand holding, you have to be incredibly competent and be a problem solver not a problem maker. There will be some long hours, but management is very understanding and gives you the flexibility to do what you need to do, that schedule worked very well for me, but if you're a 9-5 punch-in/punch-out kind of person this is not the... right field for you. It is a team pursuit, so sometimes you have to keep an eye on your neighbor and communicate with them to make sure they are performing well, because their poor work could impact your work, but this is just a part of the field, communication and design is key. Communication is key. If you make design changes or fall way behind schedule or way over budget and don't communicate, you're going to have a really bad time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep putting out phenomenal work and keep up the hunt to find the perfect team, I know you'll get there!

    Gemmiti Model Art2018-11-20
  4. "Provides Structure & Training to Succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    While I didn't spend a long time with GMA (for personal health reasons) the biggest Pro of the organization was the independence. Because the staff is small, you get to work closely with your coworkers, and find your own ways of working to get the job done. There is a lot of structure and training in place to assist you. I had a very flexible schedule, enjoyed my office coworkers, & liked that it was a... pet-friendly environment.

    Show More

    Cons

    While any organization has room for improvement, I must say any job is also what you decide to make of it.

    Advice to Management

    While I don't have personal experience with the critical reviews here, I can say that was not my experience, so I encourage you to continue taking chances on new model makers and trusting that your hard work will benefit the team.

    Gemmiti Model Art2018-11-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Model maker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art full-time

    Pros

    None that I can mention.

    Cons

    If you want to work for this company, be very aware that you will be exploited. Go on with your eyes open and have legal advice available.

    Advice to Management

    This appears to be inflexible.

    Gemmiti Model Art2018-11-17
  6. Helpful (4)

    "I'd rather be homeless, than to work here again. :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing. It may even seem like a cool workshop space at first, but even the workshop itself turns into a depressing place. (There's been so much bad energy in it...)

    Cons

    Where do I start? Ok, first, that last "positive" review (and probably all of the positive reviews...) is most certainly written by Lisa (the boss of the company). I can tell, because of the language used (like the emphasis on "professional model maker" and "experienced model maker"). She will drive you nuts, as a reflection, repeating the stuff over and over ('cause quite frankly, she cannot think of anything... else; eternal loop). Lisa has been running this company under a very hostile, stressful, unfair, unclear and scary environment for years. Basically, nobody stays for more than a couple of months or even weeks. (And I feel terrible for who have...) You will be lied to, and manipulated into working a crazy schedule, extra hours and even get you to sign a contract (with an underestimated time frame, always...) just so she can keep up with her crazy budget, to be able to save the company. (She will try to make you feel guilty, to convince you to not bill her for these extra hours). In conclusion; do not work here, ever.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop being a terrible employer. Stop trying to save your company at the expense of your employee's sanity.

    Gemmiti Model Art2018-10-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Gemmiti Model Art is a great company for Professional Model Makers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Professional Model Maker in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lisa Gemmiti gives people an opportunity to make models at a professional level. The negative reviews on this website really bother me because to me, the truth is, Lisa Gemmiti and those loyal to Gemmiti Model Art, are very talented and dedicated to being the best in the business of model making. Don’t believe the hater(s). If you are a professional architectural model maker, this is really a dream job. Lisa does... encourage regular checks to make sure you didn’t miss anything, but you have a lot of freedom to design and build the models the way you want to. Lisa is very cool about that and about letting you know when you have a winning design solution, too. She also is very supportive of obtaining any tool or material that you need to build your model efficiently, and will totally have your back in asking clients to pay for change orders. She also pretty focused on keeping the studio organized and well-maintained. I have never worked in a more beautiful shop, really, and the projects are really cool, too. Lisa is probably the hardest working person I have ever met, and is a really good person. If I were still living in the Bay Area, I would try to work again at Gemmiti Model Art.

    Show More

    Cons

    If working to high standards sounds scary to you, then maybe this would not be a fit for you. It's true that if you fall behind, you end up working late hours in the end to meet the deadline, but you control your time, it is not a factory shop at all, so time management is on you. The fact is, the demands are very doable in the given schedules, if you know what you are doing and do it right the first time. It is... unfair to blame your failure on the person who gave you a fair shot at it. Working for a small business is very different from a big corporation where things get shoved under the rug. There is nowhere to hide, so you are simply accountable to get the work done. I guess that is only a con if you are not good at your job and cannot work at a professional level. If you are already an experienced professional model maker who also is committed to being the best, none of this is new to you or scares you. Paying for rent in San Francisco might, but not working at Gemmiti Model Art.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The project managers and experienced model makers do the estimates, agree to the schedules, and chart their own course to completion. These are not things that management controls, although maybe they should.

    Gemmiti Model Art2016-06-10
  8. Helpful (4)

    "NEVER work here - even if you are desperate."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art

    Pros

    None unless. You like to be verbally, mentally, physically harassed, lied to and insulated this is the place for you. The owner will lie and cheat both you and the client at any opportunity. Even the profile on glassdoor is a lie, the turnover of staff maybe 50 people per year but not the staffing level.

    Cons

    Toxic working environment, from every point of view. Health and safety of machines, air quality and even dog excrement in the shop.

    Advice to Management

    You use people, destroy their lives. Stop trading before you kill someone.

    Gemmiti Model Art2016-03-22
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great learning in hostile environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art part-time

    Pros

    Model makers have the opportunity to work in a well equipped shop and build models for impressive local and international projects.

    Cons

    Very hostile and abusive work environment. One of the biggest issues is that the company director, Lisa Gemmiti, agrees to an unmanageable amount of projects with several clients in a very limited time frame. Consequently, her model makers have to work lots of overtime and even all-nighters, while being threatened to receive a pay cut if the project will not be finished in time. While the latter is often not the... model makers fault, but poor management on the director's end. However, she will only blame all of her employees and never take any responsibility for anything herself. Her employees are talked down to, yelled at, treated in disrespectful and condescending ways. The staff turn around is impressive, barely anyone stays for more than one year. The administrative assistants who work more closely with her stay about 2-3 months until resigning. No one is comfortable with the work ethics, employees are stressed and unhappy, this is certainly not a good place to be. Aside from that, there is no paid vacation or sick leave and no health insurance plan. Unfortunately, it is most likely that any advise to management will be disregarded and frowned upon as insult, without allowing any glimpse of reflection or contemplation regarding their own behavior and attitude.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please, treat your employees with more respect and gratitude for their hard work, while taking responsibility for your own mistakes. This could be a fabulous place to work, there is so much potential, but an improvement in management is absolutely necessary.

    Gemmiti Model Art2016-02-02
  10. "wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Model Designer/CAD 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    excellent professional and technical assets

    Cons

    none that I known in any other organizations

    Advice to Management

    keep on doing that greatest job

    Gemmiti Model Art2014-01-30
Found 18 reviews