Gemmiti Model Art Reviews | Glassdoor

Gemmiti Model Art Reviews

Updated Jul 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Gemmiti Model Art CEO Lisa Gemmiti (no image)
Lisa Gemmiti
13 Ratings
  1. "For dedicated and hard working ethical workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OFFICE MANAGER/BOOKKEEPER in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gemmiti Model Art full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been on the management team at Gemmiti Model Art for over a year working closely with the owner. Gemmiti Model Art provides a top notch scale models of all types. Because of the high quality work required to be done, it takes hard working, skilled and dedicated people who take pride in their work to succeed here. If you don't come with that criteria and strong work ethic, you may find yourself very disappointed and want to not continue working here. As a previous poster stated, "If you have have glaring weaknesses they're going to be exposed." So I highly recommend to anyone considering a position with the company to be truthful and don't pretend to know and do things you have never done before. There is no faking it here so be sure you are skilled and know your stuff. Lisa is a professional and passionate business owner who works with her employees often on the trust system. She doesn't hover and micro manage her staff. She puts a lot of trust in her staff and just asks for hard work and efficiency in return. Lisa is very flexible and tries her best to accommodate her staff whenever she can. Lisa's passion is often misconstrued and for some who can be overly sensitive may feel overwhelmed. The work atmosphere can get very busy with multiple jobs and high demands from our clients so you must be able to handle multi tasking, working at fast pace and meeting demanding deadlines. Below please also see a list of pros to working at Gemmiti Model Art: * Bi-weekly pay for all the time you put into your projects and jobs * Guarantee you are working with straight shooter management, no lies, no sugar coating. * really good energetic production staff to work with. * option to start a 401K account * working in clean, state of the art tools equipped and fully stocked work shop for all your model making needs * opportunities to earn bonus on jobs completed on time and on budget *competitive pay and opportunity to climb the ranks * working with strong female management team

    Cons

    The cons of this job are quite simple, working here doesn't work out if: 1. You treat the work like a hobby and not interested in a fast pace moving environment. 2. You're afraid of deadlines and at times high stress when there is lots of work to be done. 3. You don't like to be on your feet all day. 4. If you can't be trusted to work independently without a manager constantly standing over your shoulder. 5. If you can't handle or don't like multi tasking, keeping your work space clean and communicating with your team. If you are any of the above on the list, then Gemmiti Model Art is not the place for you to work.

    Continue reading
    Gemmiti Model Art2019-07-24
  2. "Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Gemmiti Model Art

    Pros

    Clear communication on needs and wants. Has a great understating of what the job entails.

    Cons

    You better really know your business. If you have have glaring weaknesses they're going to be exposed. So be prepared to say and admit you don't know something. Don't hide it. Quality is demanded. And if you admit it you'll get help.

    Gemmiti Model Art2019-02-01
  3. "A demanding field but a very rewarding job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Executive Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have never worked harder, been as appreciated for my work, or learned as much as I did during my time here. Model making is a challenging field with very demanding clients and impossible deadlines, but Lisa has an incredible wealth of knowledge to share and the experiences are something you won't find anywhere else. I had the opportunity to work with some amazing people, incredible model makers and really high profile clients and being surrounded by so much greatness always pushed me to be better. I learned more in my time here than any other job I've had, and I'm certain any job I will have. You need to come in with the skills needed to succeed, but this environment will hone your skills and teach you more than you could imagine about design, time management, and model making techniques. The long days were actually a pro for me because I was allowed the flexibility to rearrange my hours as I needed to to find a balance but still meet my job responsibilities. Lisa is one of the most open minded and non discriminatory people that I've ever met, she doesn't care about your age/race/gender/orientation/education/experience is, she only cares about your ability to do what is asked and your attitude. If you think you're up to the challenge, Lisa will take a chance on you, and she truly cares about her employees. From driving employees home across the bay late at night to visiting them in the hospital when they're sick; from having dinner ordered in to ordering a piece of equipment for you on a moments notice, Lisa takes care of her employees and if you ask she will give you everything that you need to get the job done. I would have loved to stay, but a personal matter took me back across the country to my family. I love keeping up with the Gemmiti Team and visiting when I'm in town.

    Cons

    If you're not up to the challenge, this is not the place for you. There is no time for hand holding, you have to be incredibly competent and be a problem solver not a problem maker. There will be some long hours, but management is very understanding and gives you the flexibility to do what you need to do, that schedule worked very well for me, but if you're a 9-5 punch-in/punch-out kind of person this is not the right field for you. It is a team pursuit, so sometimes you have to keep an eye on your neighbor and communicate with them to make sure they are performing well, because their poor work could impact your work, but this is just a part of the field, communication and design is key. Communication is key. If you make design changes or fall way behind schedule or way over budget and don't communicate, you're going to have a really bad time.

    Continue reading
    Gemmiti Model Art2018-11-20
  4. "Provides Structure & Training to Succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    While I didn't spend a long time with GMA (for personal health reasons) the biggest Pro of the organization was the independence. Because the staff is small, you get to work closely with your coworkers, and find your own ways of working to get the job done. There is a lot of structure and training in place to assist you. I had a very flexible schedule, enjoyed my office coworkers, & liked that it was a pet-friendly environment.

    Cons

    While any organization has room for improvement, I must say any job is also what you decide to make of it.

    Continue reading
    Gemmiti Model Art2018-11-15
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Gemmiti Model Art is a great company for Professional Model Makers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Professional Model Maker in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lisa Gemmiti gives people an opportunity to make models at a professional level. The negative reviews on this website really bother me because to me, the truth is, Lisa Gemmiti and those loyal to Gemmiti Model Art, are very talented and dedicated to being the best in the business of model making. Don’t believe the hater(s). If you are a professional architectural model maker, this is really a dream job. Lisa does encourage regular checks to make sure you didn’t miss anything, but you have a lot of freedom to design and build the models the way you want to. Lisa is very cool about that and about letting you know when you have a winning design solution, too. She also is very supportive of obtaining any tool or material that you need to build your model efficiently, and will totally have your back in asking clients to pay for change orders. She also pretty focused on keeping the studio organized and well-maintained. I have never worked in a more beautiful shop, really, and the projects are really cool, too. Lisa is probably the hardest working person I have ever met, and is a really good person. If I were still living in the Bay Area, I would try to work again at Gemmiti Model Art.

    Cons

    If working to high standards sounds scary to you, then maybe this would not be a fit for you. It's true that if you fall behind, you end up working late hours in the end to meet the deadline, but you control your time, it is not a factory shop at all, so time management is on you. The fact is, the demands are very doable in the given schedules, if you know what you are doing and do it right the first time. It is unfair to blame your failure on the person who gave you a fair shot at it. Working for a small business is very different from a big corporation where things get shoved under the rug. There is nowhere to hide, so you are simply accountable to get the work done. I guess that is only a con if you are not good at your job and cannot work at a professional level. If you are already an experienced professional model maker who also is committed to being the best, none of this is new to you or scares you. Paying for rent in San Francisco might, but not working at Gemmiti Model Art.

    Continue reading
    Gemmiti Model Art2016-06-10
  6. "wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Model Designer/CAD 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    excellent professional and technical assets

    Cons

    none that I known in any other organizations

    Continue reading
    Gemmiti Model Art2014-01-30
  7. "Unique and Creative Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administration 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many opportunities for growth and learning at Gemmiti. It is a unique and special company to work for. Excellence is encouraged. A creative and lovely space to work in with great employees and dedicated management. This is a professional shop where high ethics and responsibility are required. Management does have high expectations for each employee and when I worked there I felt that the lines of communication were very open, employees just need to be honest about their skill level and communicate. This can be a high pressure job, but very rewarding when all members are working together as a team.

    Cons

    Parking is difficult, but hey, this is SF.

    Gemmiti Model Art2013-10-03
  8. "GREAT COMPANT BUT NOT A PLACE TO WORK FOR THE LAZY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the best shops, if not the best, to work in for professional model makers. Amazing projects and awesome clients to work for. Every tool you can imagine.

    Cons

    If you say you are a professional model maker and you know how to use all the tools, it is expected that you can follow through. There have been a number of times where a model maker has come in and claimed to be really good but in actual fact that are a novice. They spend all day working to figure something out, push the project back and expect that someone else will just cover for them. This has led to upsets in the shop. Working with a team is fantastic when you have people that know what they are doing. There have been people hired that didn't know what they were doing and just "pretended". if you are a novice just say so from the start and you will learn a lot. This isn't really a con for the company, just a heads up to anyone looking to work for GMA.

    Gemmiti Model Art2013-09-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Very happy to have had the opportunity to work in such a unique business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Model Maker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great space, equipment and materials available to do your work. Being able to work on interesting projects and feeling a since of pride in what you have helped to produce. Being able to work for someone who has so much knowledge about the model making business.

    Cons

    Due to the nature of the business sometimes deadlines are difficult to achieve which can make for a cranky work environment.

    Continue reading
    Gemmiti Model Art2013-08-30
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Model Maker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Model Maker, Prototype Tech in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Gemmiti Model Art full-time

    Pros

    I just wanted to place Gemmiti Model Art here on glassdoor, so that people who have worked at this establishment can provide some crucial information about their experiences therein. This is a positive for future prospects of the business and model makers alike.

    Cons

    I gave up quite a bit to take on a position at this establishment. The job turned out to be very much different then i had thought. if i had had something like this as part of my research...the out come may not have changed, but at least i would have had a better prepared expectation of what i was in for.

    Continue reading
    Gemmiti Model Art2013-04-03
Found 18 reviews