GenMark Diagnostics Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
60%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
GenMark Diagnostics President and CEO Scott Mendel
Scott Mendel
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Bagel Wednesday/Free soda/Free food at quarterly meeting(in 9 reviews)

  • "Free Soda, Lot of nice friendly people(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "High turnover rate as well so it's hard to get long-term goals accomplished when the people you coordinate with leave every 6-18 months(in 9 reviews)

  • "Small company and has its growing pains(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      -

      Apr 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great culture, loving team, creative respectful people!

      Cons

      I don't see any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Work Life Balance

      Apr 29, 2021 - Process Engineer in Carlsbad, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are amazing and there are some really excellent managers and directors. Scott, the CEO, can't be beat. This company is very lucky to have him, he is the epitome of lead by example and definitely one of the sharpest tools in the shed. He inspires everyone who works with him to work as a team to solve problems and drives people to be highly effective.

      Cons

      Work.Life.Balance. If you like working more than 40 hours a week then this is the place for you. Rarely does anyone work 40 hours or less. Many people even work when they are on vacation (although it's not expected of anyone) but with so many workaholics in the office it sets the standard. Knowing all the overtime is going towards producing life saving diagnostic tests makes it a bit easier though. Working to make a positive impact in patient lives and patient outcomes is very rewarding.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great team

      Apr 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Carlsbad, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaboration, Ingenuity, technology, sense of ownership

      Cons

      Low salary, difficult to move up

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      kickstart your career here

      Apr 9, 2021 - Research Assistant in Carlsbad, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A good place to work, with lovely colleagues and nice working environment.

      Cons

      Location, and accommodation nearby might be a problem

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work and investing in the future

      Jan 5, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      GenMark builds solid products that solve the most critical diagnostic needs in the market today and is continually investing in the future. The company was one of the first in the world that delivered a diagnostic test for COVID-19 during the pandemic, proving that even as a small company, they can pivot quickly and meet the changing needs of the market. There’s a strong start-up feel and very collaborative working environment and culture at GenMark.

      Cons

      Still around 500 employees so does not have some of the benefits of a larger company

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      GenMark Diagnostics Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for your feedback and positive words. It is our mission to become the market leader in providing high value, simple to perform, clinically relevant multiplexed molecular tests to aid in the diagnosis of disease and the selection of dosing therapies. We strive everyday to enhance patient care and reduce the total cost of care while focusing on a culture that allows our employees to deliver such amazing results.

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good people, not good management

      Feb 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Technology that can save lives. Most of the people are great to work with

      Cons

      No regular covid testing for employees, little concern for workers from the SLT. They are only interested in profits. Favortism, it doesn't matter if you are good at your job if you are not liked by people making decisions. people are micromanaged, and supervisors and managers are undermined by higher ups. No trust

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      GenMark Diagnostics Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for your feedback. The health and safety of our employees is our top priority during these unique and difficult times. We have made vaccinations readily available for all employees and are one of the few in San Diego who have had on-site clinics for everyone in the community. Our Leadership values every member of GenMark and remains focused on providing products that enhance patient care above all else. We encourage you to review your specific situation with your Manager or HR Business Partner. Thank you for all you are doing!!

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Easy to learn

      Jan 9, 2021 - Manufacturing Technician in Carlsbad, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The machines Are easy to run

      Cons

      Unnecessary drama, favoritism. If you're part of the circle you advance further

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      GenMark Diagnostics Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for all that you do and for your insights. As we continue to grow we will remain focused our our core values and beliefs fostering an environment of collaboration, innovation and maturation. We appreciate all that you do and your continued feedback to help become the employer of choice here in San Diego.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Poor management - micromanaging and not trusting employees

      Mar 17, 2021 - Graduate Research Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good technology for diagnostics, good benefits

      Cons

      Poor management - micromanaging and not trusting employees

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      good place to work

      Feb 25, 2021 - Technician in Vista, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free soda , good pay

      Cons

      bad administration and non comunication with employees

      1 person found this review helpful

      GenMark Diagnostics Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      We appreciate the time you dedicated to GenMark and your thoughts. As we continue to navigate the unprecedented growth in our company's history, we remain focused on providing training and increased communication to all our employees. GenMark is committed to living our core beliefs each and everyday and enhancing the employee experience.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Review

      Oct 29, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with

      Cons

      Have to travel long distance

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      GenMark Diagnostics Response

      Talent Acquisition Partner

      Thank you for feedback and more importantly your commitment to GenMark. "Great people" are who drive our culture and continuously pushes up forward. We are so grateful for you and everyone who contributes to our continued success.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 97 Reviews

    Popular Careers with GenMark Diagnostics Job Seekers

    Research Associate II
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at GenMark Diagnostics? Share Your Experiences

    GenMark Diagnostics logo
    or