Gene B. Glick Company Reviews

Updated Mar 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
89%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Gene B. Glick Company President and  CEO David O. Barrett
David O. Barrett
87 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of Corporate Support, Great Benefits, Extensive New Hire Training(in 16 reviews)

  • "The benefits are good, there are lots of perks, and the company is involved in the community, providing employees with opportunities to give back(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "some disconnect between sites and corporate office(in 7 reviews)

  • "I have no cons about the company(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Glick cares for their employees, residents and communities. Genuinely want to help."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gene B. Glick Company

    Pros

    Employee retention, Philanthropy, quality living. Want to know you.

    Cons

    Nothing to state as a con at this time.

    Continue reading
    Gene B. Glick Company2019-11-25
  2. "Their Business is Family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gene B. Glick Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1. The people who work for Glick are top notch and good at their jobs and have usually been around a while, so working with high caliber people makes work more enjoyable and efficient. 2. Many companies preach the idea of social responsibility, but I have never seen a company live it mission more in line than Glick. Proof of this is paid days to serve the community (both with the company and on your own), matching donations to non-profit organizations, and structured events to allow family an opportunity to give back together. 3. The total benefits and compensation are very strong from the 401(k) match to the amount paid/coverage on health insurance. 4. The company has dedicated a lot of resources to training employees and giving them the tools to be successful. This ranges from the training department, to in person training/career development, to online modules for required courses. The also put on a Leadership Conference ever year to year and a half that is a great resource and time to collectively gather as a company. 5. There are lots of opportunities to experience different property types within multifamily housing. The company's portfolio has everything from market rate , to Section 8, and even Tax Credit. There are many places to find a niche within the company. 6. The Leadership. I know this goes along with #1 and people, but the people in charge are very much looking out for the health of the company and well-being of its employees. I very much trusted those in leadership that I came across.

    Cons

    One of the best things about Glick is also one that could be seen as a down side. Many employees have been at the company a very long time. This creates two struggles. 1. Change and processes can be slow. The company has been around for over 70 years and has done things the right way, but the right way isn't always the quickest way. 2. "Title Promotions" aren't always as readily available as at other companies. The company will continue to invest in, grow, and reward anyone within the organization doing well, but that doesn't always come in the form of a promotion within a set period of time. I don't like to call these cons because I don't think they are bad, but it can be seen as a downside in some people's eyes.

    Continue reading
    Gene B. Glick Company2020-03-26
  3. "Awesome Company to Work For!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gene B. Glick Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of Corporate Support, Great Benefits, Extensive New Hire Training!

    Cons

    None that I can think of at this time.

    Gene B. Glick Company2020-02-20
  4. "It's a great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Gene B. Glick Company full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are much better than my previous employers

    Cons

    I thought the pay would be better

    Gene B. Glick Company2020-03-05

    Gene B. Glick Company Response

    March 6, 2020Receptionist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Glassdoor. Glick values its team members and offers a competitive benefits package, including a robust 401k program, opportunities for discounted insurance premiums and wellness programs. The Glick HR Team participates in multiple compensation surveys annually to ensure that we are offering the best benefits and pay available in our industry. Thank you again for your comments. The Glick HR Team

  5. "2020 Best Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Greenwood, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gene B. Glick Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Solid Leadership by Example, great training and opportunity for advancement, pay is excellent and commensurate with experience.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any at this time.

    Continue reading
    Gene B. Glick Company2020-02-04
  6. "Awesome company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Service Coordinator in Decatur, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Gene B. Glick Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company appreciates their employees and residents

    Cons

    None as of now

    Gene B. Glick Company2020-01-30
  7. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gene B. Glick Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great, Feel valued, Good communication on any changes in the company, Promotion from within, Fair pay, Great management.

    Cons

    Will have to interact with residents that are going through difficult times and not be able to assist them. Having the eviction conversation or move out damages conversation can be unpleasant but the pros far outweigh the cons.

    Continue reading
    Gene B. Glick Company2019-10-29
  8. "Regional Property Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gene B. Glick Company

    Pros

    This organization has created a fabulous culture. It’s a place to be proud of.

    Cons

    I can’t think of any cons

    Gene B. Glick Company2019-10-29
  9. "thank you G.B.G"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Technician in Zionsville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gene B. Glick Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    this company goes out of there way for there employees

    Cons

    nothing to and nothing at all.

    Continue reading
    Gene B. Glick Company2019-10-10
  10. "Best Place to Work! Glick Cares!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Coordinator in Beech Grove, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gene B. Glick Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am proud to work at Gene B Glick! Excellent Customer Service! Even employees are considered customers. Management cares about it's employees. Good work/life balance is encouraged. Superior staff and management. You won't find a better apartment community in which to live. The apartment homes and grounds are well-maintained. Drive into any Glick property and check it out. You'll see what I mean. Excellent staff that care about you as an individual. If there's a will, there's a way. Just ask us! Great philanthropist who give back to the community! Forward thinking upper management that flows down through immediate supervisors and staff. Constant improvements.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of anything.

    Continue reading
    Gene B. Glick Company2019-10-07
Found 135 reviews