Cover image for Genentech
Logo
See All Photos

Genentech

Part of Roche
Engaged Employer

Genentech

Add a Review

Genentech Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 2,929 of over 4K reviews
4.3
85% Recommend to a Friend
Genentech Chief Executive Officer Alexander Hardy
89% Approve of CEO

Found 2,926 of over 4K reviews

4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Genentech Chief Executive Officer Alexander Hardy
Alexander Hardy
456 Ratings

What people are saying about Genentech

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The benefits are great and the perk are second to none such as the GenenBus.(in 524 reviews)
  • "The people I work with are great and very inspiring.(in 361 reviews)
  • "Great culture and networking opportunities(in 220 reviews)
  • "Good work life balance in general(in 136 reviews)
  • "good pay which is great considering the headhunters cut of the pay and the fact that I did not recieve benefits.(in 129 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Genentech and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee
    Featured Review

    The future is very bright for Genentech

    May 20, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Active investment in frontier-level science, substantive academic collaborations aimed at making breakthrough discoveries that transform what is possible for patients and at-risk people before they become patients. Potential for global scale and impact via 125 year-old Roche.

    Cons

    Not every day exemplifies the best of what is possible here

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great until

    Nov 29, 2022 - Sr Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great, strong people Functional differences in career trajectory

    Cons

    Onerous processes and transformation implementation

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Genentech team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best entry level job

    Nov 28, 2022 - Senior Logistics Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, culture, and campus

    Cons

    Constant changes within the company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Company

    Nov 22, 2022 - QC Senior Supervisor in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful colleagues & leaders Generous Compensation & Benefits Continuous learning & opportunities

    Cons

    I don't have any concerns

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Stability and good culture

    Nov 17, 2022 - Senior Project Manager in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to explore, good benefits, very stable.

    Cons

    Being stuck in the same role, or too specified/specialist

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Depends upon your manager

    Nov 26, 2022 - Principal Program Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you have a good manager who practices servant leadership, which is relatively common here, your employee experience can be quite good.

    Cons

    Restructuring resulting in job cuts and role changes is a regular occurrence. Promotions can be difficult to attain. It isn’t uncommon for people leave the company to get new experience elsewhere and later return to a higher role.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great

    Nov 9, 2022 - Scientist 2 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great science. pay is good.

    Cons

    work life balance could be improved

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Nice company

    Nov 7, 2022 - Research Associate in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits for all

    Cons

    Hard for promotion for most of ppl

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    .

    Nov 16, 2022 - Financial Foundations Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits , great opportunity, great people

    Cons

    You are sometimes over worked

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Workplace

    Nov 1, 2022 - Researcher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good environment and campus community

    Cons

    Large company means that paperwork takes a long time to get processed

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,926 Reviews
</>Embed

Genentech Reviews FAQs

Genentech has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 3,919 reviews left anonymously by employees. 85% of employees would recommend working at Genentech to a friend and 73% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Genentech employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Genentech. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

85% of Genentech employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Genentech 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Genentech to be career development, culture, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Genentech Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Genentech? Share Your Experiences

Genentech logo
or

Genentech Careers

Cover image for Genentech

Genentech is a biotechnology company dedicated to pursuing groundbreaking science to discover and develop medicines for people with serious...More

  • Careers
  • New Grad/Intern
  • Community
  • Benefits
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Genentech

287 days ago

Company News
Forbes has recognized us as one of the top companies on their annual list of America’s Best Large Employers! With more than half of our employees working remotely during the pandemic, we found new ways to stay connected and maintain our unique culture. Along the way, we realized that culture is more than what happens on our campuses. Learn more.
Shared image - What 'Corporate Culture' Means When The Office Isn't Center Stage
What 'Corporate Culture' Means When The Office Isn't Center Stage
www.forbes.com
See all

Genentech Photos

+ Add Photo
Genentech photo of: Employees dress up for our annual Bay to Beakers Children's Walk, which benefits important children's causes.
Genentech photo of: We offer sustainable commute options to our employees including buses to nearby communities, shuttles to and from public transportation, and incentives for carpooling, biking and walking.
Genentech photo of: Our Pharma Technical Operations (PT) team ensures we meet our commitment to manufacturing breakthrough medicines for our patients and we cannot thank them enough for their hard work!
Genentech photo of: "The Edge" is one of our cafeterias at our SSF campus. This zero waste to landfill facility was designed with sustainability at the forefront.
Genentech photo of: From 5th grade mentorships to college scholarships, we're working to inspire the passion that changes patients' lives.
Genentech photo of: B34 was built on four pillars: sustainability, wellbeing, community, and innovation.
Genentech photo of: Giving back is in our DNA.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Genentech Job Seekers Also Viewed

Amgen Logo
Amgen

4.0

3,811 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 3,919 Genentech reviews submitted anonymously by Genentech employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Genentech is right for you.