Genentech "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Genentech Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Genentech CEO Alexander Hardy
Alexander Hardy
69 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance varies greatly depending on your function or manager(in 110 reviews)

  • "Hard to find opportunities for full time(in 100 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review

    "Best Organization to be apart of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive Pay Great benefits Awards Great Work life balance that promotes working from home team engagement events able to travel visibility a lot of development opportunities Be able to help others Our give back to the community events

    Cons

    I have none at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Genentech2019-10-02
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animal Care Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule, good work-life balance, supportive manager

    Cons

    no cons. it’s a great company.

    Genentech2019-11-02
  3. "Recent review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    Hard to advance in current structure

    Advice to Management

    Focus on people mangers that support and coach will make the company stronger

    Genentech2019-12-04
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Project Manager in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great perks and a very good work-life balance

    Cons

    Some departments lack leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Lots of opportunities for cost savings. Redundant departments and roles.

    Genentech2019-11-15
  5. "Good until they tell you to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Clinical Research 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech for more than a year

    Pros

    Food, transportation, good work-life balance, people are generally nice and respectful

    Cons

    Some departments might not act like it, but as a contractor you really are disposable. You get used to the lack of job security because the company is pretty great and offers great work-life balance and a relaxed environment, but the day will come where you'll find you don't have a job next week. It happened to me and it was really sudden. Got a call from my agency that my last day would be the next Friday. This was... after putting in all sorts of effort getting acclimated with the team, getting to know people, integrating with the processes, etc. A really abrupt way to end things that left a very bad taste, and my entire future at the company came down to two people who did not really know me. Not good for a supposed matrix organization. Also in terms of the people, yes most are nice but there is a real lack of personality and any sort of masculinity is looked down upon. Way too much beating around the bush and niceties and not enough getting to the point. Look at the PR guy they hired to respond to messages on here. A bunch of exclamation points and empty statements. It gets old after awhile - just give some honest feedback and empower people to do the same. Getting stuff done took too long at times because you're not allowed to be direct.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lots of people want to work here so you can keep doing whatever you want but eventually, word will get out about how frequent these layoffs/reorgs are and how little job security anyone has here. Also, reassess the "Genentech way" before you build a mono-culture. It's a really tough place for young men with no kids.

    Genentech2019-11-13
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager 

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    Leadership is confused and too much politics

    Advice to Management

    Focus on solid work over playing games

    Genentech2019-10-13
  7. "Deep Learning in Medical Imaging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Internship in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genentech for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work-life balance. Big campus with subsidized food, gym and basketball court. Seaside office. Great Commuting options. Open workspace.

    Cons

    A lot of hierarchy and few people working in the advanced analytics side. But that number is growing rapidly.

    Genentech2019-10-08
  8. "One of the dream companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Data Scientist Intern in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genentech

    Pros

    Work-life balance and company culture

    Cons

    Entering a big firm like this, sometimes it's hard to actually see your impact.

    Genentech2019-10-08
  9. "Great company, great benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Planning Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, culture, mission, community, job opportunities

    Cons

    Commute, work-life balance, competition for open jobs,

    Genentech2019-09-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance is good

    Cons

    MA&S is a horrible place. Your career development does not matter. Your manager only cares about things he/she wants you to do. Communication is not transparent

    Genentech2019-10-26
Found 309 reviews