KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Genentech

Part of Roche
Engaged Employer

Genentech

Add a Review

Genentech Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 15, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 3,775 of over 4K reviews
4.2
86% Recommend to a Friend
Genentech Chief Executive Officer Alexander Hardy
91% Approve of CEO

Found 312 of over 4K reviews

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Genentech Chief Executive Officer Alexander Hardy
Alexander Hardy
561 Ratings

What people are saying about Genentech

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The benefits are great and the perk are second to none such as the GenenBus.(in 506 reviews)
  • "The people I work with are great and very inspiring.(in 347 reviews)
  • "Great culture and networking opportunities(in 205 reviews)
  • "Good work life balance in general(in 138 reviews)
  • "good pay which is great considering the headhunters cut of the pay and the fact that I did not recieve benefits.(in 126 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Genentech and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great people

    Oct 24, 2021 - Project Engineer II in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, good benefits and development opportunities

    Cons

    In the recent years, it became harder to maintain healthy work-life balance.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great company culture, supportive team, great work life balance

    Nov 15, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of impact on the work that you are doing since the work goes into developing a product that could save someone's life. Teams are very open and you have a lot of say on the architecture and design of the codebase, product, UI, etc. Work life balance is amazing and everyone is generally very nice and supportive.

    Cons

    Not all engineering teams are built out so not all the resources are provided, but this could be an opportunity to take on other parts of a software development team such as UI/UX design, product management, project management, etc.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good Company

    Nov 8, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great benefits and intelligent people

    Cons

    hard work life balance and long hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    One of the best companies for growth

    Nov 8, 2021 - Senior Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Training, learning the industry, finding mentors were my highlights at Genentech. Plus, benefits, work life balance, and culture.

    Cons

    I left the company and came back. Twice. So the only con for me is GNE is simply too big and I find more satisfaction from building something from the ground, an early stage startup. People say the company is political. I agree, but it is also more egalitarian and fair compared to peer set.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Intense work environment

    Oct 27, 2021 - Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Compensation, meaningful work, smart colleagues, great benefits

    Cons

    Long hours, little work life balance, a lot of process, slow work pace in some areas of the business

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Intern

    Amazing

    Oct 12, 2021 - Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work-life balance and people

    Cons

    Very low salary for the bay area

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Intern

    Good place to work

    Oct 6, 2021 - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Quality company culture that emphasizes good work-life balance and a strong focus on innovative science

    Cons

    Big company so it is hard to feel personal impact

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Oct 2, 2021 - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, great work-life balance

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love my job

    Sep 21, 2021 - Clinical Operations Manager in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Compensation Great leadership team Flexible Great work life balance

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Sep 13, 2021 - Associate Scientist in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good benefits, innovative and friendly environment

    Cons

    Big company so decisions can be sluggish

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 312 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Genentech Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Genentech? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Genentech

177 days ago

Company News
Forbes has recognized us as one of the top companies on their annual list of America’s Best Large Employers! With more than half of our employees working remotely during the pandemic, we found new ways to stay connected and maintain our unique culture. Along the way, we realized that culture is more than what happens on our campuses. Learn more.
Shared image - What 'Corporate Culture' Means When The Office Isn't Center Stage
What 'Corporate Culture' Means When The Office Isn't Center Stage
www.forbes.com
See all

Genentech Photos

+ Add Photo
Genentech photo of: Employees dress up for our annual Bay to Beakers Children's Walk, which benefits important children's causes.
Genentech photo of: We offer sustainable commute options to our employees including buses to nearby communities, shuttles to and from public transportation, and incentives for carpooling, biking and walking.
Genentech photo of: Our Pharma Technical Operations (PT) team ensures we meet our commitment to manufacturing breakthrough medicines for our patients and we cannot thank them enough for their hard work!
Genentech photo of: "The Edge" is one of our cafeterias at our SSF campus. This zero waste to landfill facility was designed with sustainability at the forefront.
Genentech photo of: From 5th grade mentorships to college scholarships, we're working to inspire the passion that changes patients' lives.
Genentech photo of: B34 was built on four pillars: sustainability, wellbeing, community, and innovation.
Genentech photo of: Giving back is in our DNA.
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 3,780 Genentech reviews submitted anonymously by Genentech employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Genentech is right for you.