General Dynamics Information Technology Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics Information Technology President  Amy Gilliland (no image)
Amy Gilliland
255 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of support from upper management(in 55 reviews)

  • "No Cons really, but more paid Holidays would be nice(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Best place I've worked in years"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Well run, engaged with new techologies; good opportunities, diverse. Has been handling coronavirus impacts to employees pretty humanely and flexibly.

    Cons

    Their idea of company-wide collaborative software appears to be SharePoint, alas.

    Continue reading
    General Dynamics Information Technology2020-04-07
  2. "Love this company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ISSO in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Everything about this company from the actual work, the 401K, health insurance is outstanding. I have been blessed with great workers, managers and friends here.

    Cons

    It is a contracting company and the stress of not knowing when your contract will actually end is rough.

    General Dynamics Information Technology2020-01-07
  3. "Good Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Quality Analyst in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible, good benefits, great coworkers

    Cons

    Contract can end suddenly, Time keeping software is inflexable

    Continue reading
    General Dynamics Information Technology2020-05-21
  4. Helpful (2)

    "It all depends on your contract & program management"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Security Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fairly standard benefits. Good PTO, OK health, OK 401k match, OK salaries. Good work-life balance. There are ample opportunities for advancement since half of your co-workers will be lazy dullards while the good ones leave for better pay.

    Cons

    Half of your co-workers will be lazy dullards and the good ones leave for better pay. No bonus for non-management employees, annual merit increase is poor (negotiate a good salary on the way in), they slowly slash a benefit here and there annually then try to sell it as a NEW EXCITING DIRECTION. Your experience at the company will depend entirely on what contract you are working under and how competent program management is on that contract. I work on a good contract now, but came over from a completely awful contract where we struggled just to get office supplies.

    Continue reading
    General Dynamics Information Technology2020-05-15
  5. "Great Teamwork and Atmosphere"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Bi-weekly pay, good benefits, flexibility, dynamic teams, resourceful, great learning venues, numerous paths to success.

    Cons

    Can get very busy and overworked, will test time management skills

    General Dynamics Information Technology2020-05-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Laid off after 34 years"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer Senior Advisor in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They have competitive benefits and above median salaries.

    Cons

    Your job is in jeopardy if project funding drys up.

    Continue reading
    General Dynamics Information Technology2020-05-20
  7. "Great Place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Assurance Manager in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They take care of their employees

    Cons

    They can be very demanding of time

    Continue reading
    General Dynamics Information Technology2020-05-07
  8. "Good work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology 

    I worked at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time

    Pros

    Pay was equal across platforms

    Cons

    Time off very strictly controlled

    General Dynamics Information Technology2020-05-06
  9. "#GDIT #OpportunityOwned"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Manager in Westwood, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth is always available if you work hard. GDIT provides networking opportunities to meet others within the organization. My current position allows me to work from home which is perfect for Work/Life Balance.

    Cons

    I can't say I have many cons. As with any large Fortune 500 company changes are always happening so you need to be flexible if you want to work at GDIT.

    Continue reading
    General Dynamics Information Technology2020-05-04
  10. "Job Stability... Salary Stability"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructional Systems Designer in Suffolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Once you are employed, you will rarely be let go unless there is a loss of contract. Even then, they will attempt to place you on another contract assuming you are at least a mediocre employee.

    Cons

    GD appears to cater more to shareholders then they do to long-standing employees. You could be the best employee, or the worst employee, and you will be treated and compensated the same.

    Continue reading
    General Dynamics Information Technology2020-05-14
Found 2105 reviews