General Dynamics Information Technology Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

General Dynamics Information Technology Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
38%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics Information Technology President  Amy Gilliland (no image)
Amy Gilliland
8 Ratings
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Information Technology for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, free coffee, helpful team members

    Cons

    Projects can be a little disorganized.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you guys are doing because I have loved it here.

    General Dynamics Information Technology2018-07-03
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible management, benefits and stock is crap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1 pro: If you don't have a DoD Clearance, get in and get it with GD, after dump them fast.

    Cons

    It's difficult to compile 1000 reasons in to a few paragraphs, so I will try to do it in a few sentences. Management are all the same. "Do you accept this really low offer in compensation? OK your hired!" - #1 moto of GD Another thing they say, "We are like a battery. If we lose power from one contract we can place you on another thus you will never be out of a job. Only GD does this for you.", "You will be back because you will find that ever other contractor out there is horrible and treats you poorly.", "If you don't accept our offer, feel free to attempt to sell your home and move from the area!"

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I hope your stock price takes a hit.

    General Dynamics Information Technology2019-10-30
  3. "Don't care about the key employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Nice manager - Smart people - Exciting projects - Flexible hours

    Cons

    - Lack of acknowledgment - Managers hands are tight as they can not help employees to grow

    Advice to Management

    Care for people who work dedicatedly for you

    General Dynamics Information Technology2019-10-09
  4. "A good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chantilly, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable, employee focused company with good benefits

    Cons

    Projects have become a little too short term lately. In the last 3 years I've worked on 4 projects

    Advice to Management

    Keep employees informed. It's nice to know where you are and where you are going. I mean keep doing it, thank you.

    General Dynamics Information Technology2019-09-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Just waiting for the next acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Interesting work if you are on the right program.

    Cons

    CSC --> CSGOV --> CSRA --> GDIT With every acquisition, the employee sees fewer benefits. When CSGOV bought SRA, there was no raises that year for anyone, not even a cost of living raise. The "reason" was that there was no review process in place. They literally had 2 review processes, but claimed they had none to not have to give any raise. As with any company like this, the only way to see advancement is to find another job. Companies should value their employees and give them real raises and job title advancements rather than losing the employee just so that the employee wasn't stagnant with 0 to 3% raises. Many programs have little to no telework, even when there is no reason to not have telework.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees.

    General Dynamics Information Technology2019-08-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Steady work and decent benefits

    Cons

    -Typical government contracting work -Management has no interest in your career advancement -Lack of diversity in upper management -Middle managers will throw you under the bus in a heartbeat to save their skin

    General Dynamics Information Technology2019-06-26
  7. "Very good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer - Remedy in Windsor Mill, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, the pay was good, I really enjoyed my customer. The work was great. I was to do additional training with was very nice.

    Cons

    The Direct manager I had was not a good Manager at all, he was rude and inappropriate with the team. It did not make for a comfortable environment.

    Advice to Management

    My Advice to the upper management is when concerns are presented don't brush them off, for any reason.

    General Dynamics Information Technology2019-05-16
  8. "Not long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay for the amount of work

    Cons

    Short term contracts limit advancement

    Advice to Management

    No many opportunities

    General Dynamics Information Technology2019-05-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away unless you have no choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good health care; medical, dental, etc.

    Cons

    Salary below average for job, raises are pitiful, no opportunity for advancement because that would mean giving a person a raise. Everyone gets the same pitiful raise; the best performer and the worst, so no incentive to be the best. No concern for employee morale.

    Advice to Management

    Pay for performance or the top performers will go elsewhere and you will be left with the people that just want to coast.

    General Dynamics Information Technology2019-02-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty Dynamic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Information Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work Pretty office Good Benefits

    Cons

    Little attention paid to skillsets

    General Dynamics Information Technology2018-12-12
Found 54 reviews