Cover image for General Dynamics Information Technology
Logo
See All Photos

General Dynamics Information Technology

Engaged Employer

General Dynamics Information Technology

Add a Review

General Dynamics Information Technology Employee Reviews about "pay"

Updated Jun 2, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 3,784 of over 4K reviews
3.9
81% Recommend to a Friend
89% Approve of CEO

Found 877 of over 4K reviews

3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics Information Technology President  Amy Gilliland (no image)
Amy Gilliland
1,083 Ratings

What people are saying about General Dynamics Information Technology

Join the conversation on

ServiceNow Consultants

9m

works at 

General Dynamics Information Technology

In the past I would use Brightscope to search companies 401k ratings. They have since been acquired by ISS and they no longer offer this information publicly. I am interested in seeing details about your company. (1) 401k plan provider (2) company match (3) option to purchase additional PTO For example, at my company GDIT (1) Fidelity (2) 100% match up to 3% of your salary, then 50% match for the next 3%, making a total of 4.5% of your salary (3) yes, up to 40 additional hrs Guidehouse Booz Allen Hamilton Accenture EY Accenture General Dynamics Information Technology

21

6 Comments

Tech

1011.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=General Dynamics Information Technology~18661
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about General Dynamics Information Technology? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with General Dynamics Information Technology employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

What are your colleagues talking about?

Find your private company bowl on Fishbowl, join the hottest conversation with your colleagues anonymously.
Join the Conversation

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good benefits and very helpful with HR and any admin issues.(in 451 reviews)
  • "The pay I think is good for you just sitting at a desk all day taking calls.(in 239 reviews)
  • "Great people and easy to work with.(in 182 reviews)
  • "Good salary and they encourage and pay for elevating your personal skill level.(in 82 reviews)
  • "work life balance is good they are quite understanding of real life(in 61 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of General Dynamics Information Technology and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "pay"

Return to all Reviews
877
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I've found my home!

    Dec 28, 2021 - Data Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GDIT is a phenomenal company! I have found my home. They take D&I seriously and their Employee Resource Groups (ERGs) are top notch. As an advocate and member of the LGBTQ+ community, this is incredibly important to me. The benefits are better than my last company, but still about average. The pay is outstanding and I still have room to grow in my pay scale. I'm proud to be a part of this company.

    Cons

    I really have not found any thus far. I just hope we continue on the road we are currently on.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    General Dynamics Information Technology Response

    Marketing Specialist

    We are so glad that you have enjoyed working for GDIT. We appreciate the people who make the work we do possible across the nation.

  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    This job is only good for experience on your résumé. I wouldn't make it a lifetime career.

    Mar 18, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You move up quickly I went from general information to claims in my first 6 months there. The pay I think is good for you just sitting at a desk all day taking calls.

    Cons

    First thing they say before even going in to interview is you cannot have a phone in the building. Once you are hired if they catch you with a phone it's automatic termination. The rules are ridiculous like not being able to have your keys at your desk no pictures unless they are laminated, you can only have a small bottle of lotion, ect. They stress you over your calls. Everything is monitored and almost anything can make you fail a call 5 failed calls within a 13 week period causes termination. You don't get a raise unless you become a supervisor trainer quality specialist or train in all the trainings they have.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the General Dynamics Information Technology team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Growing too fast

    Jun 7, 2021 - Project Procurement Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Telework policies were strong before the pandemic, so the infrastructure was strong enough to handle the added burden of the pandemic. Internal training resources and opportunities are increasingly beneficial. I can see that they’re listening to their employees to try and make the work/life balance better.

    Cons

    While not a bad company to work for, they are a very large corporation, and that allows for them to forget about their biggest resource - the people who do the work on their contracts that make them money. A lot of money and effort is being put into personnel programs, but I’m unsure how beneficial they truly are to the employees. The pay can be mediocre and less competitive depending upon if the program was bid properly. It seems like they’ve inherited a lot of underbid programs, which makes their employees overworked and underpaid.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Not a great place to work

    Mar 21, 2022 - Information Technology in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay was great and that was all that I can think of … oh and yes can WFH.

    Cons

    .The management was unorganized and unsupportive. They would post jobs before letting you go ? Who does this ? Be upfront … there were 4 people in my position and had been 4 more since I left …. Do you think there is a problem with management ?

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Analyst Review

    Aug 18, 2022 - Senior Analyst in Falls Church, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great project and decent benefits

    Cons

    Annual pay increase was 1% each year with exceptional ratings and very hard to climb the ladder

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Meh

    Feb 19, 2023 - Field Technician in Norfolk, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can take off when you need too and there is overtime almost every day.

    Cons

    The overtime can really sap your spirit if you have other priorities as it is basically mandatory. Pay is low for me but probably ok for the position and the OT makes it bearable.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    They don't pay you enough to deal with their incompetency

    Aug 19, 2014 - Master Beneficiary Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relatively decent pay (considering you're just reading from a script 90% of the time). Call center is open 24/7 Base pay is $12.50 + 10% pay differential after 7pm. Ability to advance quickly so long as you do your job.

    Cons

    Increase in pay is negligible compared to the drastic difference in workload you're given. The company will literally hire ANYONE. Which is fine, for those looking to gain experience, but they hire people that can't even hold a job at a McDonald's, because they have ZERO interpersonal skills, are incredibly rude, and dumber than a bag of rocks. So it's no surprise the company has a large turnover rate. More people are getting fired and quit more often than they're getting hired. Most of the supervisors,managers, and whatnot have NO idea what they're doing. Quality monitors on calls are also inconsistent. So you can fail a call for the dumbest reason (Like providing 100% accurate information to the customer, in the most satisfactory and professional manner [according to the customer], but neglecting to read the script verbatim), whereas it would be a pass according to other QA monitors. Did I mention that there is never a supervisor around when you need one? There have been occasions where someone would receive a crisis call, and people are running around the building for about ten minutes before they find anyone. Overall, the company (or at least the Phoenix location) is painfully disorganized. And while there is some room for advancement, you can only go so far, which only a slight increase in pay. By the way, the ONLY time employees get a raise is if they move up. The last time this company bumped their base pay was several years ago. I know people who have been working there for 5 months that are making more than the hardworking (equally competent) individuals that have been there for 5 years.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    GD

    Apr 27, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GD pays well, and they have several good perks. I would say they fit what you would expect from a standard contracting organization.

    Cons

    GD doesn't put a lot of focus in internet network building and culture. Minor perks and rewards outside of general pay and vacation generally come out of the managers pocket. They do a really poor job of maintaining a bench, if you don't find an internal posting shortly after your contract ends you will be laid off.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Horrible to employees..

    Apr 10, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Starting pay was decent at $12.06/hr; full work week and some potential for OT. PTO when calls were slow.

    Cons

    The rules they implement are not only demeaning and ridiculous, but they are ever-changing and NO WAY any one can keep up with them all. They treat the employees horribly. It is one of the most ridiculous places I have ever worked!!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Upper Management is Disconnected

    May 22, 2015 - Call Center Operations Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Providing the consumer support for the Affordable Care Act and Medicare is a very rewarding and important job. If you can remain focused on the people you are helping and the positive way you are impacting their lives then you will enjoy the workplace.

    Cons

    Very few incentives for employees. The pay is not competitive. The decisions made by upper management indicate that they are not really sure what the 'situation on the ground' is at any given moment. The hours expected from the supervisory and managerial staff are pretty extreme for the level of pay.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 877 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with General Dynamics Information Technology Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at General Dynamics Information Technology? Share Your Experiences

General Dynamics Information Technology logo

General Dynamics Information Technology

or

Get Community Insights About General Dynamics Information Technology

Candid workplace conversations with real professionals.

Job Referrals!
167.8K

Job Referrals!

Best way to get your foot in the door with your favorite company! Plus employees won’t mind getting that referral money!

Interview Tips
163.9K

Interview Tips

Feel free to post any interview questions you might be asked and I’ll help you compose an effective response :)

Salary Negotiations
172.1K

Salary Negotiations

A community to ask questions and seek advice on negotiating your salary, compensation, etc.

Affiliated Companies

General Dynamics Information Technology Careers

Cover image for General Dynamics Information Technology

Opportunity Owned. We are GDIT. The people supporting and securing some of the most complex government, defense, and intelligence projects...More

  • Our Culture
  • Our Values
  • Diversity & Inclusion
  • GDIT Cares
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

General Dynamics Information Technology

20 days ago

Company News
When multiple contractors work together to support an agency, what are the best practices to facilitate collaboration? 🤝 Read more about GDIT's comprehensive approach to IT Service Management and its implementation within a federal government context: https://lnkd.in/g2tpAsaf
Shared image - Achieving Mission Success: Best Practices to Foster Effective Collaboration Among Contractors | GDIT
Achieving Mission Success: Best Practices to Foster Effective Collaboration Among Contractors | GDIT
www.gdit.com
See all

General Dynamics Information Technology Photos

+ Add Photo
General Dynamics Information Technology photo of: Four GDIT employees stand and talk in front of GDIT sign
General Dynamics Information Technology photo of: Four GDIT employees stand in a group to chat
General Dynamics Information Technology photo of: Four GDIT employees stand around a table
General Dynamics Information Technology photo of: Four GDIT employees talk amongst themselves outside
General Dynamics Information Technology photo of: Three GDIT employees talking and laughing
General Dynamics Information Technology photo of: GDIT employees gather at table
General Dynamics Information Technology photo of: GDIT employees work together in the office.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

General Dynamics Information Technology Job Seekers Also Viewed

General Dynamics

3.7

775 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 4,189 General Dynamics Information Technology reviews submitted anonymously by General Dynamics Information Technology employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if General Dynamics Information Technology is right for you.