General Dynamics Mission Systems Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

General Dynamics Mission Systems Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics Mission Systems CEO Chris Brady
Chris Brady
1 Ratings
  1. "Contract Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contracts Manager 

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Interesting projects and a stable company

    Cons

    Hard to advance to management

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2017-04-25
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Contracts Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contracts Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company with incredibly competent leadership at the highest levels. The Contracts team based out of Scottsdale, AZ is also ran incredibly well. They had my back and valued my input. Overall the company is a good place to be, particularly if you support our military and want to work on programs that protect our country.

    Cons

    The satellite office I worked at was under constant transition. Though we had direction from "up-top", it seemed like office management did their best to turn non-issues into big customer problems because of lack of trust between departments. Upper management was aware of bickering and did not keep score (major plus).

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2017-03-16
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Out after 9 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good people to work with. Benefits are good. PTO is good as well.

    Cons

    No possibility for promotion unless you smooch the right rears. Upper management is a joke. This location is inconvenient. It is everyone for themselves mentality. This place is the worse.

    Advice to Management

    Retire. Let the next gens have a shot. Quit ousting good employees so that you can save your self. This place should be shut down.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2017-03-15
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems

    Pros

    GD has good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Bureaucratic and no longer loyal to employees

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2016-09-23
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Eh.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great supplemental benefits - short term disability, long term disability and life insurance. Good 401k vendor and returns.

    Cons

    Lack of career development. Very low annual reviews. When the federal government closes if you work at a customer site, you have to take paid time off.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2016-08-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Challenging Projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Engaged Program managers and upper level management. Still run like an independent company. Employee focused.

    Cons

    Need better communication throughout the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Share challenges and successes across the company with more team meetings. Not just when someone retires!

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2016-07-26
  7. "Excellent Opportunities, Poor Management Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent training and opportunities for diverse employment.

    Cons

    Very poor upper management support for employees. Profit driven company in a race for the bottom of employee benefits and support.

    Advice to Management

    Trust and reward your people

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2016-03-30
  8. "Okay company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Needham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    pays well and benefits on par with other competitors

    Cons

    lack of structured training and structured promotional track

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2015-08-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Process is king"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very solid process and procedure documentation. Web based tools are updated in a timely manner. Company takes it very seriously.

    Cons

    Company sometimes loses big picture perspective when mired in process. This is partly due to government requirements but a lot of it we bring on ourselves.

    Advice to Management

    Employees are always being asked to do more with less, and the over emphasis on process can be time consuming and frustrating.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2015-08-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Project Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay was better than many other companies, and many very capable people to work with. Benefits were good while I was there, but were tightening like every where else. Technical knowledge of domains was very high among the engineers and most had a practical approach to problem solving. This company is very strong in process definition and adherence.

    Cons

    This company gets too involved in enforcing process adherence. There are times when the level of process overwhelms the task at hand. Management can seem aloof from engineers and does not engage with them often enough. The location where I worked was too disconnected from the corporate culture when project decisions where made.

    Advice to Management

    Be more interaction between business and technical roles.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2015-06-25
Found 71 reviews