General Dynamics Mission Systems Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Manager

General Dynamics Mission Systems Manager Reviews

Updated 19 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics Mission Systems CEO Chris Brady
Chris Brady
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Only value bottom-line. Corporate America at its worst."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diversified opportunities to work supporting federal government projects.

    Cons

    Can't determine how to expand their long-term vision beyond supporting current business. Management scared stiff, lack of people skills, lack of honesty and integrity within certain business units.

    Advice to Management

    Satisified employees will make it happen. So - satisfy your employees. Train your managers.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2014-05-09
  2. Helpful (3)

    "GDAIS Hampton, VA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Manager in Hampton, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great schedule - Decent pay - Good benefits

    Cons

    - Little to no bonuses - No compensation for self-improvement

    Advice to Management

    Compensate individuals for obtaining educational milestones that benefit the company as a whole.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2014-04-03
  3. "Overall, C4S is a great place to work! The Soldier Network Video - a proud moment for GDC4S"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Taunton, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great leadership. Prasies to Chris Marzilli for moving women into leadership positions. Changes in management are creating a new environment as we change with our customer. Great addition with Phebe at the top!

    Cons

    It has been a tough few years with the budget cuts and having to nagivate the morale issues

    Advice to Management

    Have some fun while we are working hard at our job.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2014-04-09
  4. Helpful (6)

    "General Dynamics C4 Systems lacks strategic vision and manages via the "good old boy network"."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    GD pays well for the area, they support flexible work options including telecommuting, and their products help keep soldiers safe.

    Cons

    Opportunities for women and minorities are limited, the company is struggling to capitalize on its portfolio, and it has been laying off staff for 3 years with no end in sight.

    Advice to Management

    Employees need to know there is some plan for the future that involves more than just layoffs.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2014-03-08

    General Dynamics Mission Systems Response

    April 28, 2014HR Operations

    Thank you for your review. We will be sure to send your advice to our senior staff and internal communications so that they may better communicate with employees about the company’s outlook. If you have any concerns regarding opportunities for minorities, please contact your human ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Wandering in the desert….will they find themselves before it is too late???"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good compensation and benefits, although the benefits have been reduced somewhat significantly in the past 3 years. Most employees are competent and dedicated.

    Cons

    The company has gone too far in workforce reduction, to the point that their ability to execute on existing contracts is jeopardized. A few absolutely critical people have been "released" by managers who were put into their positions recently and really didn't know their people or who the strongest performers were; hence they laid off resources critical to on-going work. The "survivors" are now truly over-worked. ... Acquisitions over the past several years have almost all turned out to have been major mistakes. But, there has been almost no accountability for these mistakes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Right-size the senior management. While the company has reduced its workforce dramatically over the past 3 years, the VPs have only played musical chairs; there has been no corresponding reduction in the number of VPs. Some VPs are now in charge of functional areas in which they have no experience or expertise.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2014-03-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work until the layoffs started. This facility was originally a Motorola defense plant that was bought."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pay was very good. Probably due to my long tenure there, but from day 1 the company paid very well, first as Motorola then as GDC4S.

    Cons

    Management not very creative. Not very good at marketing and business development. Was overloaded with work most of the time. The culture was good until GD purchased the plant in 2001. Then things slowly changed and deteriorated..

    Advice to Management

    Do something to stop the lay offs.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2014-01-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Morale is low and they are laying off very valued key employees. There is no rationale to the firing line."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked there for many years with very talented and brilliant people including: engineers and technicians from all specialties. I started when it was still Motorola and the job opportunities were endless. General Dynamics changed everything and not for the better.

    Cons

    I have felt for the last three years that General Dynamics has been working to shutter the plant, and they have not been aggressively trying to go after after new business and contracts. They no longer care about the people. They have diminished pensions drastically. They do not care about their employees, all they care about is their bottom line. I have always said, never get between GD and a dollar, you will... never win. General Dynamics has been a profitable business and to see the lack of compassion is disgusting. Keep the people who work and lose the ones that sit in their offices all day doing nothing. It has become a paper mill and not a working environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read what I wrote above. Be honest with everyone at the plant about the long term goals of the Scottsdale plant. Put your self in our shoes.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2014-01-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sr. Management non existent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Manager in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working condictions on specific program were excellent, 9/80 schedule was fantastic

    Cons

    Management levels above PM were none existent, and unaware of actual program performance.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on customer satisfaction

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2013-12-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company I worked for GD-AIS before"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for - I worked their before

    Cons

    Nothing at this time - Thanks

    Advice to Management

    Please hire me

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2013-11-05
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great long career until the last few years..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They pay very well and the employees are hard workers

    Cons

    They are in a death spiral. The current management has shown no backbone to make the tough decision to reduce the level of principals, directors and VPs while reducing the workforce. The result is that these senior managers just get re-assigned elsewhere to keep making the same dumb decisions

    Advice to Management

    Stop worrying about your bonuses and making short term decisions only. Remember that this is an organization made up of people and by treating the people fairly they will work hard for the company. Finally, if the best qualification for a job is that they are your friend, you need to reconsider that job assignment - cronyism only works in the short term.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2013-11-13
Found 71 reviews